Brief Introduction

Breaking Down The Steemit User Known As edd.pastafarian


If everything goes well and I can post as much quality content on steemit as I hope, it is conceivable that some of you may wish to know a little about me. Like most people on the internet, I have opinions. Many of my opinions concern prejudices and inequality but they should be taken with a grain of salt. Unlike many of the victims of these injustices, I am a white (for all intents and purposes) middle-age straight male living in one of the largest cities in North America with an income that puts me somewhere in the middle of middle-class. I am married with one child, one grandchild, two step-kids, and five step-grandkids. I was raised Catholic but have considered myself an atheist for the last twenty or so years. My wife and I both come from large families but I am not close to mine. I was a small business owner for ten years but have worked for someone else since 2007.

I have started and participated in several Bitcoin related projects since early 2011, so I consider myself an early adopter, but I never held on to the bitcoins that passed through my hands. I was always more focused on the benefits that could be reaped from actually using bitcoins as opposed to hodling them, so I have not benefited as much financially as many other early adopters have. I've spoken at several cryptocurrency related conventions and conferences and I've met tons of interesting people in the space. I've introduced many people to cryptography and the blockchain in all types of settings, from classroom type atmospheres to informal meetups and even complete strangers who happened to overhear me mention bitcoins.

I tend to go through varying periods of activity in different types of social media so some people who become familiar with my contributions on some sites will notice that I occasionally drop off the map, but I do usually pop up somewhere else. Here are a few of the places I have spent time at and my usernames:

There may be a few others so feel free to ask if you think you recognize me.