IntroduceYourself - First Post - @edwardthomson

This is my #introduceyourself post. My name is Edward and this is my very first post on Steemit. I signed up about a week ago and only now just getting around to making this post. My current schedule doesn't give me enough slack to do everything I want to do. 

I've been blogging on and off for a number of years. My main blog started in 2009 and is still in use. I don't tend to post that often and pretty much avoid 'personal life' blogging. It was never my thing. For me it is far more interesting to read and write about topics of interest rather than everyday life.

My blogs:

  • Esoteric (esoteriic.com) [2009-present] -- this blog covers any topic I find interesting which is quite a wide range: maths, physics, philosophy, investing, cryptocurrencies, general blockchain technology, language, etc.
  • Odinn Security (odinnsecurity.com) [2016-present] -- this blog is focused on Information Security. This can include: cryptography, privacy, anonymity, hacking, information security management, GDPR, ISO27001, security of blockchain technology.

About me:

I’m originally an Astrophysics PhD graduate but decided to make the switch to Information Security. Part of the reason for the switch is that job security is far better (no pun intended): the industry is growing and has a wealth of interesting problems. I did an MSc in Information Security at Royal Holloway University of London and I'm now working as an information security consultant. I’ve done penetration testing of web apps and infrastructure, as well as GRC consultancy (governance, risk, and compliance). I hold the following certificates: CPSA, CRT, ISO 27001 Lead Implementer, and ISO 27005 Risk Management.

My cryptocurrency journey:

I first heard about Bitcoin in 2010 but didn't invest. I made the "mistake" of telling me then girlfriend about it. While I saw great potential she freaked out over the stories of people selling drugs and made me promise not to get involved. Bitcoin appealed to me because of its decentralised and trustless nature. Since 2010 I've followed the community and even wrote a couple of blog pieces back in 2012 and 2013. During this time I also taught myself cryptography in order to better understand how Bitcoin worked. I'm self-taught and did some learning from online resources but I also bought a textbook: Everyday Cryptography by Professor Keith Martin. This was one of my best investments. I finished the book and wrote a review on Amazon. Little did I know that I would eventually meet Professor Martin at Royal Holloway. He taught the cryptography module and was also my project supervisor.

When Ethereum came around I had a good feeling about it and purchased a small amount in 2015. Unfortunately, I'm still poor (*weep*). Recently, I've been reading laughing at the wild ICO propositions but I'm also keenly awaiting the public announcement from the Polkadot team about the terms of a possible crowdsale.

Blockchain blog posts:


My Bitcointalk profile: Esoteric (created October 2012).

Disclaimer: None of the opinions expressed in this blog are that of a past, present, or future employer.

Validation picture:

SHA256(Steemit/@edwardthomson/14July2017) = ca013c3c4e7eaeb2c5dd1c4a5a284da746378ebb9b2b1153b12b02f91b979c1a

Larger version

Sort:  

Welcome to the community!

Welcome to steemit :D

Welcome to the community!

Welcome to steemit

WELCOME.gif

Welcome to Steem @edwardthomson I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Glad to see you @Edwardthomson I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me !

Hello !I am @minnowhelp, nice to meet you Edwardthomson,
I do track some @booster upvote runs and try to figure out, if this booster upvote really giving a value.
With this upvotes you can earn some money here, if they provide a value. That's what I am testing for new Steemians !

Im mysession#1 I tracked amongs I tracked amongst other users the upvote boost of @happymoneyman, he boosted his post value to $23.00 , which was $5.05 more than before the booster upvote !
And that with just an investment of $1.96 !

So if you want to see the results of my work, feel free to follow me @minnowhelp

Welcome to Steemit Edwardthomson !

Hi @Edwardthomson its good to see more Steemians around. Have fun in this community. I wish you many followers and new friends :-) Cheers @chrisx

Hello ! I am @digital-gypsy , nice to meet you @Edwardthomson ! Welcome to Steemit and all the best for your posting

Hello @edwardthomson. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Welcome to Steemit, @edwardthomson!

Hope you enjoy being here!

I'd like to remind you of Steemit.Chat (https://steemit.chat) where you can talk with others, promote your post in their promotion channels, and have a great time :)

Once again, enjoy your time on Steemit, and shall you have any questions, feel free to reply or ask in the #help channel of the chat!

Welcome to Steemit!!

Welcome, follow me so you enjoy the news about how many users registered on steemit day by day^^

Welcome to Steemit @edwardthomson!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome to Steemit, @edwardthomson!

welcome to steemit edward

Welcome aboard the steemit train. Just be advised that as the steemit train moves from one point in configuration space to the next point it will take the path of least action.

Welcome to Steemit. Hope you enjoy it!

Great to have you on Steemit, Edward. Given your background, what are your thoughts so far about Steem?

Thanks! I was curious to see how it worked. I didn't sit down and do a lot of research before joining though. I did some reading and caught a couple of videos. It seems interesting but it could be worth writing a longer piece with some analysis!

Hello @edwardthomson Great introduceyourself post!!

I'm @andyluy and I've been here for a couple of weeks, a can tell youThat steemit is the most amazing thing I've ever seen at the internet so far. I'm happy seeing it grows every day!

I had some hard time on the firsts week, so I spent some time searching information to improve my experience with steemit, latter I've decided to make posts about those things in order to help the new ones to have a shortcut to get deeper on steemit.

here is some of my posts, I hope It mitght be helpful to you:

The Randowhale
Getting videos from facebook
Minnowssupport!
Randowhale update 1

I intend to keep posting useful info that I may be able to gather, and in a near future some give away. Feel invited to follow me and if you have any question about steemit you can ask me in any of my last posts, I'll try my best to help.

Thanks for the links, seems useful!

you're welcome anytime ^^

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Hi

Welcome to steemit. This is an amazing place with awesome content. Look forward to seeing some of your posts. Come and have a look at @yoda1917 I am sure you will find something there interesting and I give my best to help the new people :)

Regards

Yoda

P.S, here is an example of my work.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@yoda1917/randowhale-booster-worldclassplayer-users-just-halt-for-a-moment

The intro is ok … now if you really want to kick it in you must focus and doing what you like and writing done from your heart ….. also if you like blogging and embracing the challenge of getting people interested in your most important issues. So best of good luck.
Nevertheless check my last one and let me know through comments about it …...

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/shopping-for-organic-food-you-might-be-throwing-your-money-away

Find it interesting? … UPVOTE and click on the FOLLOW so we’ll keep “talking”.

Sincerely,

@indepthstory

A new Steemian :-) hello @edwardthomson I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, Wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Thanks and welcome!

No problem :-)

welcome to the community

Welcome :) Followed. Follow me back 😘