Introduction to Steemit: The Narrative

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

B1E17D8A-B773-4C50-8EDF-20D0BD3FDEDC.jpeg

So it’s been a while since I’ve written something. When I say a while I mean, 2 weeks…
I have suffered some things in my life and was unable to find answers in anyone except myself. That has resulted in a lot of issues including it taking a lot longer than a quick fix therapy session and some medication. It means I deal with my issues from the very root, it is raw, sometimes painful, but it works. I’ve adapted to using narrative therapy to understand myself and it has helped so far. It includes writing stories of my adventures and travels around Australia, around the world, relationships, work, study and stories used as tools to communicate to those around me my feelings.

I have prepared myself to share some of my stories on this account. They may come out as journal entries, children’s books, letters to loved ones, study notes, poems, photographs or recipes.

A4D0B49E-3450-4047-88C6-33017A513B29.jpeg

My writing will be mostly in English but I also speak and write in Chinese and am currently studying Malayalam and Hindi.

If you have any questions about how I’ve used narrative therapy to deal with mental illness feel free to ask, I am a social work student and have practiced social work and more specifically youth work in Australia and internationally for over 4 years now.

I’d also like to receive feedback if anyone else has tried these methods in their healing from issues, especially those that are not comfortable to simply speak about like that involving any illegal, cultural or professionally unacceptable issues.

2968CAB9-86D9-4858-BFA8-C0126EF6BE5A.jpeg

Believe me when I say I know it’s not easy, I’ve started and failed this journey no less than a thousand times over, but here I go again.

If there is anything you would like to hear about including my recipes, travels (most time spent in India and China), social work, youth work, religion, or dealing with mental illness alone please reach out to me.

D5A07C58-6BD9-4CC6-8A46-076B8B6811A5.jpeg

Follow my journey, connect with me, question me, judge me, laugh at me, hate me, love me, be human.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! Kate

Hey there welcome to steemit. I am sure you are going to have a good time around people here. There are lot of folks from australia here and if you find steemit discord group named minnowsupportproject you'd find even more girls from australia who are contributing on steemit :)

That's really interesting - and brave to be so honest. I've found writing to be a great help - kind of get your thoughts in order. Is that similar to narrative therapy?

Yes of course. I think it allows us to get another perspective, but without having to open up outside our comfort zone.

Welcome, you are very cute) I will follow on you. I hope you will create post about china for western people

I lived there for a few years so there’s a lot to it that I could tell... is there any specific subjects of interest you’d like me to share?

I think simple stories from live in another country, its very interesting)

haha i have a bunch of relatives in Australia, i have booked tickets to Beijing for 2018 ( if you got any tips i will gladly listen) and i wanna visit India too! so anyway welcome to steemit, i am pretty sure you gonna notice really fast that this community is very different than the other famous ones ( fb,insta,etc etc) and the key here is that people is polite,helpful and cares for the others. If you are confused about something dont afraid to ask everyone will answer you i can pretty much say it with 100% confidence.

finally if you have any issues with your life as you said you must first search deeply inside you to find the answers but if you feel the need to talk to someone else don't be afraid
Just do it

Welcome to Steemit @elmo88!