Happy to be a part of this great community!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hey everyone! My name is Forrest.

So, about me... I live in Titusville, Florida, where I just recently graduated from UCF with a BS in Food and Beverage Management. I quit my part time job at a produce market to pursue an entrepreneurial lifestyle making my hobbies into my "career". I am very open minded to travelling.

I started homebrewing in college and have loved it ever since.

I love making new recipes and going where no beer has gone before!


Along with the process of making beer, I am involved in permaculture, water conservation and aquaponics, and other methods of sustainable living. My girlfriend and I have turned our back yard into a long term permaculture garden. With just a quarter of an acre, we can eventually produce all the food and water we need. We have only just gotten to our third year since starting so there is a lot of growth to be seen.



It’s hard to grow the ingredients for beer in zone 9a but Florida is, however, a very good place to grow mushrooms!

I am fascinated by mushrooms. Personal hero of mine would be Paul Staments, the main mushroom man. I got a chance to see him speak in person and it has inspired me to study, forage, and identify all the mushrooms growing right in my backyard.

All through school I have been an active musician in my community; playing with school orchestras, playing with friends at bars, community theater, and drum circles. I started with viola and moved primarily to percussion and drums, and have recently picked up a number of odd things like ukulele, guitar, didgeridoo…

Having just quit my job I wanted to get myself back in the swing of gigging.Working full time prevented me from practicing and performing so I hope to change that.

My objectives

live a more sustainable lifestyle. Kick my "consumerism" habits and alter my source of necessities to create zero waste and eliminate dependence for damaging practices that are outdated and in need of change on a global scale.

Connecting with nature. Remember what is important. Taking the time to stop and smell the flowers is vital to us.

Practice mindfulness and meditate.

~~~

Just observing and reading what this community is doing with their time and energy is motivating me so much to take advantage of my time now and do what I love. I hope to inspire more just as I have been.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Welcome! Due the post, you are interesting man. Write more about your hobbys :)

Such a beautiful couple 😊Welcome to Steemit

Glad you are apart of this great community and help us grow.

Couldn't see the photos posted, perhaps a small uploading error took place? None the less, thanks for taking the time to share!!! It's a joy to see such inspirational individuals being a part of this great community!

Go get lost in the Forrest that is steemit. Lots to see and explore😬