Fact ... and fiction (introducing @foxfiction!)

Well, after a few months blogging here on Steemit under my original account (@holothewise) I've found the need to create an alternate used solely for fiction writing. @holothewise is the account I use to discuss my zoological work and travels, my science interests and general life updates. The thing is, there is a lot of great fiction and poetry content on this platform I'd like to participate in more fully without wishing to dilute the science content of my main blog. To do so, I'm creating @foxfiction - an account dedicated solely to exploring the crazy and creative side of things.

First passions

Writing has always been my first love. I started with stories, generally scifi and fantasy when I was still a kid. I recall writing an entire trilogy of novels when I was about 10 - a world steeped in dragons and dark lords that I basically used as a childhood escape from mundane reality. By a few years later I was writing (and publishing) a great deal of poetry as well. It's a love I've always returned to through the years, though nowadays I tend to focus on shorter pieces, micro fiction and Japanese poetry forms like haiku. I love the creative process, love getting my work out there and giving vent to the more colourful side of my personality:

image.jpeg

This is me, indulging the less scientific side of my nature with a bit of dress up at a Tank-girl themed party

And then there were bugs

The other side of things manifested itself equally early. Some of my earliest memories involve rolling rocks over in fascination and umm... eating whatever I found under them. Ok, so my keen enquiring mind required some refinement... But the seeds were there and led to me working with animals, studying entomology and zoology and ultimately traveling the world researching the self-same weird critters that fascinated me as a child. I've done everything from working in an exotic pet shop in Brighton in my early twenties to traveling Colombia and the Galápagos last year to fulfil this other side of myself. And no, it's not always as serious as it sounds...

image.jpeg

Exhibit B - yes, this monkey in Colombia was caught sticking his hand down my top. I can only assume he was breastfed by one of the ladies in the indigenous village I was visiting!

@foxfiction exists in the melding of these fantasy and starkly real spaces - with this account, I'll be challenging myself to do a lot more writing, delving into poetry and prose and posting it all up here on Steemit. So feel free to keep tabs on this account for explorations in fiction and if you fancy something more factual you'll find it @holothewise.

As always, Happy Steeming People
The Wise Fox

Sort:  

Wow looks and sounds interesting. Nasty little monkey.

Eh, he was cute up till then 😳

Welcome to Steemit. Good luck.

Welcome to Steemit!

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

You went to a TANK GIRL themed party???!! Ummm, I wanna go!

Yeah, it was a life goal moment 😂

I bet! Every year I* say im going to do Tank Girl cosplay for Halloween but I never do.

Now idk which one to follow. Holothewise has alpaca while foxfiction has cute monkey 😂

Well, hopefully they both prove entertaining ;)

Welcome to steemit.


Welcome to Steemit @foxfiction!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to steemit @foxfiction. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.