John Stauffacher, CyberSecurity (*drink*) Researcher is on Steemit!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

So, this is Steem? I guess I should introduce myself then...

How goes, all - my name is John Stauffacher, I am a CyberSecurity (drink) Researcher, Consultant, Author, Red Teamer, Blue Teamer...

I learned about this site a few days ago when browsing a random article on CryptoCurrency and figured I'd give it a shot. I've got a lot of useful stuff to share, as well as a lot of not-so-useful-but-entertaining bits as well.

Obligatory Hacker Image 1 courtesy of @viss

My professional passion is within information security. I work for a large technology company and consult with various corporations around information security, network security and most importantly defense. My goal at the end of the day is to open companies eyes to the impacts of their decisions today, tomorrow, and the future -- and how those choices resonate with their end users. Far too often security choices are made in a vacuum with little time spent thinking about the undesired outcomes customers, or other employees may face if an adverse event were to take place.

In my spare time I do quite a bit of bug bounty work. I've worked with all of the major platforms, as well as quite a few individual ones. Lately I've been focusing on things with wheels ;-). I did a fair bit of embedded design work back in the day so i feel a bit more comfortable around hardware than websites. You can't really make a website literally go boom.

I am very active in the industry and on social media. I speak at conferences regularly, consult with industry partners, academia, and governments. I am an active member on a number of industry advisory boards. I decided a few years ago to start writing a book, probably won't do that again ;-). It was a fun experience and it did go well, just required a lot of time and dedication. I'll be keynoting the GRRCon conference in October.

I call California my home but have traveled most of the US and Canada. I am an avid hockey fan so catching games on the road for work has been an awesome bonus.

What I will bring to Steemit: Sarcasm. Wit. With a side of intelligent discussion around Information Security and some insights into where the industry is heading.

So far, this place seems pretty warm and inviting. I hope to have a long tenure here.

I'd be happy to answer anyones questions if they have any...

You can follow or connect with me on a number of different sites and platforms:

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jstauffacher
Twitter: @g33kspeed

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! Cheers mate!!

Welcome... I've had a career in IA myself! Cheers!

Put a picture in the post and it will do better . Use imgsafe.com

I updated. Thanks for the tip.

Wow I beat confucius bot!

Welcome. Your Twitter link needs to be converted to a normal Markdown link (rn it's just autolinking to your steemit user page) to work right.

Welcome

Congratulations @g33kspeed! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @g33kspeed! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!