Hello Garden Lovers!

Sharing what I know about gardening is my goal on Steemit. I have a gardening business down here (down under), at the bottom of the world in beautiful New Zealand. We do all things gardening e.g. growing, planting, pruning, you name it we probably do it. We love gardening!

Here’s a picture of me sitting at the very tip of New Zealand looking up toward America. The colour change in the water, just up from my foot, is where the Tasman Sea and the Pacific Ocean kiss their salty lips.

caro.jpg

When I was a little girl, my parents and grandparents had large gardens that were capable of keeping the family in food throughout the year. I was allowed to help with some of the less important tasks. I raked out the ground and found sticks to mark the rows. I pulled the spent beans from the frames ready for next year. I placed the potatoes in the ground with their eyes facing up. I checked under the carrots to see if they were ready. I chased away the butterflies that left eggs on the cabbages. I would sneak in and eat the sun warmed strawberries, and take peas from pods.

I thought that was the norm. It wasn’t until I was in my 30s that I realised not everyone knew how to garden, they didn’t even know how to plant a seed, let alone how much water or sun it needed. People were always asking me to help them, and they wanted to pay me. I left my job and started a gardening business, which I’ve been running for thirteen years.

I have no formal training, except some papers I did in garden design to extend my knowledge. I have a Master’s degree in science, but that’s in psychology and another story altogether.

I have thousands of photos of plants and garden related things, and I also have over one hundred video clips of what we get up to on the job. Most of my photos are in New Zealand, but when I go overseas I also snap any neat plants I see. I love seeing what grows in different parts of the world and finding new ways of doing things.

My experience tells me there will be plenty of people in the Steemit community interested in plants, and no not just the “medicinal” kind.

It seems almost like we have some innate interest in plants based on a need to feed ourselves. I think the Steemit community will also have people, at this early stage anyway, who are interested in homesteading, or setting up gardens where they want to be largely self-sufficient, or maybe even right off the grid. I think I have information to share that will benefit these types of people. Of course, gardening isn’t just about food, and as this frangipani below shows, it can be rewarding simply because it’s beautiful.

Fran.jpg

My plan is to start with the basics and work outwards. I’ll probably have a bigger focus, to start with anyway, on the practical aspects of gardening relating to food, because I think that’s where the demand will be. However, I’m very adaptive (as all gardeners should be), and I’ll write about anything that people show a need for.

Oh and if you’re wondering what happened to the garden at my parents, well it’s still there. It got let go a bit last year when sadly Dad got very sick and died. Weeds flourished and rogue pumpkins ruled while we cared for Dad. However, Mum is back out there now and it’s slowly coming into shape. These days she even lets me help with some of the important jobs, like pruning the plums. I remind her that I actually garden for a job, but she pretends not to hear and points to the next branch.

I look forward to sharing and helping build the Steemit gardening community.

Carolyn

Sort:  

welcome

Thank you.

Welcome to steemit!
I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gardencare to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hi @ gardencare.. Welcome joining steemit community. steemit is a social media that rewards you through interesting posts and comments. I think you have the ability to give interesting writing in steemit. your good work will be appreciated. good luck. And thank you very much. :D

Thanks for the kind words @fataelrumy :)

you are Welcome.. ☺

hello @gardencare, Welcome to Steemit and hope that you will have a great experience. To be honest, I don't know much about gardening but look forward to learn from your posts. Upovted and Followed you. Have a wonderful day!

Thank you and a wonderful day to you too :)

Hello warm welcome
Im @danihwang
Upvoted your post.
Hope to see you around.
Cheers

Thankyou :)

Welcome @gardencare! looking forward to seeing you around :)

Welcome to steemit! I'm new here too! :-)

LAVENDER-MOON-UPVOTE-FOLLOW.gif

A new Steemian ^^ hello @gardencare I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Thank you, much appreciated!

Congratulations @gardencare! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steemit.com!

Lots of gardeners, farmers and homesteaders here, so you should feel right at home!

Thank you!

Hey! It came to my attention that you have a new account so welcome aboard. This deserves an upvote and I'm waiting for many more posts in the future!
As a fresh steemian it can be hard to increase your steem power so maybe you want to try @MinnowPowerUp where you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just directly powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.

Congratulations @gardencare! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @gardencare! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!