How I Became An Actor (Part 2)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

...So I mentioned already that I was asked to go and visit Mr. M's office. I was very excited with the activities that transpired in those meetings and several times, I was made to stand in front of the bosses and I received stares and I kind of caught them whispering to each other. Long story short, I attended series of trainings and acting workshops that went on for like 6 months. Finally, it became official. I was to be launched as part of Star Circle Batch 4, not 3 as I earlier mentioned in the previous post. The bosses decided to delay my launching, which I also mentioned was probably how God really planned it to happen.
Even before I was launched on TV, I was casted and already filming for a TV series entitled "MULA SA PUSO" that became phenomenal too. More than half of the population of the Philippines was watching this show for 2 years, this was in 1997-1999.! This show gave me one of my breakthroughs in life,for I didn't know that my celebrity crush would be my on-screen partner. Our tandem became popular because of the show and also, I believe we had chemistry.
()

26857618_10214044395016310_1385619041_n.jpg

Coincidentally, this was also the time I began having a deep relationship with Jesus Christ and that I became a Christian. My career was getting there, right where I dreamt it would be when I was still a high school student wishing to be discovered one day. There were offers left and right for appearances on different shows, (MMK, Star Drama, Ipaglaban Mo, Calventoi Files, F.L.A.M.E.S., etc) and I was also about to be launched in a movie as the lead star. But as I was growing in faith, I had convictions. In layman's term, I became choosy on the roles that I would portray. I shied away from kissing scenes that made some of the production people, directors and bosses irritated and offended to a degree. They cannot accept the fact that a newbie like me will be so "hard to work with". My stand was getting in the way of my career.
Would you believe that I was persecuted and the opportunities became scarce in an instant? However, God didn't abandon me. He opened an opportunity for me to work on the rival channel and enjoyed years of abundant work. I even did several movies.
This TV show ENCANTADIA did very good at the ratings also.
26943339_10214044387256116_138058713_n.jpg
Recalling those tough times, Jan was encouraging me that they can never put a good man down. I believe will all my heart that Jesus was with us and He said "He will never leave us". His words were true after years of just working at the rival channel I was able to work again in ABSCBN for Kung Fu Kids(2007), of which I was the lead antagonist. After that, many more projects came. My most recent work was the show of Gerald Anderson and Kim Chiu (Ikaw Lang Ang Iibigin) which will be concluded this January 2018.

18671294_10212046194782553_4571890653808026630_n.jpg
18118842_10211721521705929_2312081915955872919_n.jpg
26913347_10214045331799729_679785655_n.jpg
It's been 21 years of working in show business. Jan and I have learned to live as simple as possible, protecting the privacy of our family, especially our children. We humbly acknowledge that God alone is our only Provider and opportunities are tools that He provides so that we will continue to toil and not be idle. My passion for acting never diminished, but I am no longer attracted to fame nor the applause of others. I will continue in this career for as long as God wants me to go on. However, I am also doing other income-generating activities or simply called "raket" like personal fitness training (I have two certifications, one local one international), providing training for network marketing companies, and small scale entrepreneurship.

So, that's me as an actor. You will soon get to know me better as an athlete.

Sort:  

Mula sa Puso was very much a hit! I cried and watched it over and over again back in elem. You're one humble man. Enjoy the fun in steemit! ☺

yes 56% of the Phlippines were watching it. Thank you, all glory to our Lord Jesus Christ.

Hello Gerard nice to see you here. I am more of a" Kapuso" kya I saw you in Encantadia. :) God is indeed our Provider and we only need to ask. I wish you success here. Welcome to you, my brother in Christ and enjoy writing. Looking forward to your post.

Thanks sis, all glory to our God. He is faithful to his words. God bless you.

welcome here at steemit congrats bro and enjoy writing here...

I can still remember the Movie Flames and Mula Sa Puso.. Elementary palang ako nun. 😊👍

It's a privilege to have you here. Wow I cnt believe!

Welcome to steemit!
What can i say... just wow! 😄😄

I watched it, its nice movie..Good job sir.