Introduce yourself. (Hellooo)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Some friends told me about Steemit, a place where you post things of your preference, and the benefits of this site. At first I was a bit indecisive, because I'm not used to post/share things made by me, less if I have to write it from cero. But I said "what the hell, let's give it a shot".

Now, since this is my first post, the most cordial thing to do is introduce myself...

Hello, my name is Virginia Ortiz, nice to meet you. Laters!

me.jpg

Kidding.

I think the best way to get to know someone is learning a bit from their past, so here we go:

Let's see, I'm from Venezuela, born in 1995. I grew up with my parents, my big brother, little brother and little sister (which are both way taller than me, but I keep saying little, idc).

108_3814.JPG

<3<3 Old pic in a Zoo in Barranquilla.

I've lived most of my life in my hometown, but I spent four years in Canada (yeah, it was awesome). In the year 2000 we moved to Fredericton, New Brunswick, my dad had the opportunity to do a PhD, and he obviously took it. Mom, my brother and me went with him, my little brothers appeared in these years.

We lived in a cozy apartment on the last floor of a building (I think it had three floors, mom says four). I remember the view; there was a street, then a parking lot and behind that parking lot there was a forest, which I hope is still there. This forest had three trails, each one leading to a park; my favourite, the furthest one, was Odell Park; it was huge, covered in grass, I'm quite sure there was a lake (or maybe I'm thinking of another park), nice place to run, ride bike, there were horses, -sigh-. Even though I think I have few memories, there are a bunch, I should leave them for another post, let's keep going.

ocanada.jpg

Got back to Venezuela, 2004, had some difficulties with Spanish, even though my mom never stopped speaking Spanish to us. You had to see me when I didn't know how to say Jellyfish in Spanish, "pez de gelatina".

In ninth grade, I entered my school's "estudiantina", small instrumental group, where I played the recorder. We usually played Venezuelan music, but we managed to convince the director to play Disney songs (hihihihi).

I love music, listening to it and playing it, are some of the few things that I can spend a whole day on without getting bored. I bought my guitar in 2010, her name is Flor. Years later I bought my transverse flute, I think I named her Olivia, but I haven't dedicated her the love she should receive. I plan to continue my music studies post-university, then I might give her another name... yes, I name my stuff, my laptop's name is Melody, she says hi.

IMG-20180208-WA0017.jpg

Me with Flor.~
(Guess the cosplay)

So, last year of school, I had no idea what I was gonna study. I presented the vocational test, got Biology, Computer Engineering and Music. Pretty accurate that test. But since I've loved nature since I was kid, I didn't want to study music for several reasons, and I "didn't want math in my life" (haha, that was a good joke) I chose Biology.

I have absolutely no regrets.

For me there's no better career than Biology (fight me). Yeah, you have animals and plants (a friend always said that that was all), but there are so many things people can't even imagine that happens or exists. I think I fell completely in love in Botanic II, when you come out of that class you can't look at trees, flowers or leaves the same way.

SAM_1787 - copia.JPG

Botanic Garden. Maracaibo.

I entered Biology thinking I was going to be the next Steve Irwin. But now, I went a completely different direction and I'm almost finishing my career and again I have no idea what I'm gonna specialize(?) in. Is there a post vocational test?

2016 was a very interesting year, and last year was the first year I actually dedicated to myself. I learned a lot about me and I grew as a person (mentally, physically I'm still a hobbit), I'm still shy at some points, but not like before...

Let's rap it up with random facts:
I've watch too many series and movies
Read a bunch of books
Played plenty of games
It's easier for me to count in English than in Spanish
Love costume parties
Can't stand homophobic people
I love to travel
It took me like 4 hours to write this thing
... 2 more to choose the pictures
(And 3 months to actually post it hihi)
Oh, I adore taking pictures, if you give me a camera, I'm a kid in Disneyland...
I WENT TO DISNEYLAND AND I HAVE NO MEMORIES OF IT! T.T

ehem

I hope you enjoyed this random, short (it was short, I'm 22, c'mon) post. Sorry for any sintactic error. I still don't know how I'm going to direct my next posts, maybe amplifying some of those random facts... I'll surprise you. See ya.

  • V
Sort:  

Hello ginia! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

Hello Virginia, nice introduction, welcome to steemit! I’m @ichie1 and I’ll love to see your progress and success here.


Each day holds a surprise. But only if we expect it can we see, hear, or feel it when it comes to us. Let's not be afraid to receive each day's surprise, whether it comes to us as sorrow or as joy It will open a new place in our hearts, a place where we can welcome new friends and celebrate more fully our shared humanity.

Henri Nouwen


Make new friends, but keep the old; Those are silver, these are gold.

Joseph Parry


This page may help answer some of your questions as young member to steemit; https://steemit.com/faq.html

@ginia, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

You're welcome.

Welcome to steemit. First things first, keep your password secure, never lost it. Be motivated and keep going on. Never never never give up. Thanks
https://steemit.com/trending/techtm

Welcome to Steem, @ginia!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2981 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.6 : Tips on Busy and bug fixes.

Hello and welcome to Steemit! :)

If you are also into cryptocurrencies then you are more than welcome to visit my channel, as I have made the commitment to share everything with others.

Let me know if need any help.

Best of luck to you!

Hey @ginia welcome to steemit. Hope you have a great time on the platform. I'm currently running a competition for new steemains to share their posts and you could win some SBD - https://steemit.com/giveaway/@chekohler/best-minnow-post-of-the-week-24-june-2018-sbd-giveaway

Feel free to enter

Greeting @ginia! You are welcome to steemit family!!

Te doy la bienvenida a Steemit, @ginia

Para ayudarte en la plataforma, he votado en este post y te estoy siguiendo 🙂

Te recomiendo la siguiente lista de iniciativas y comunidades de la comunidad hispana que puedes ver presionando aquí las cuales pueden ser de tu interés y están a la mayor disposición de ayudar a gente nueva como tú.

¡Te deseamos mucho éxito y que disfrutes estar por aquí!


Este bot fue creado por @moisesmcardona. Si este comentario te ha parecido útil, vótalo como Witness presionando aquí

welcome to Steemit @ginia !! :D
We hope you enjoy your stay on this wonderful platform.
As you maybe already noticed there is a lot to learn about Steemit.
Things can become a little complicated and hard to understand as the
BlockChain has many features to it. Here is were Smart Media Group
comes in to play. SMG is a community specially designed to help new and old
members of the STEEM BlockChain.

Our team stands ready 24/7 to learn and guide you through all aspects of
Steemit and everything that comes with it. What ever question you have
we will have an answer to it.

SMG will also support those that are active on our community.
We will help you to reach a wider range of viewers as well as giving
you a platform to promote yourself.

Communication and interacting with others is the key to
success and together we will achieve this.

Join Smart Media Group on Discord
and discover a vast amount of opperinities.

http://discord.gg/B6CxGGS

Congratulations @ginia! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello! Welcome, I followed you and will support your blog and your articles, but I want you too to follow me. Let's develop the power of Steemit together!

You are lovely and love your photos hehe.

Congratulations @ginia! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ginia! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!