What's up Steemit!!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

  
 

Hello Steemit Community!
My name is Graham and I met @kommienezuspadt at Universe games In uptown Minneapolis.
 

Im currently going to school to become an aircraft mechanic and I work for Delta airlines but I do photography on the side as a hobby.
I would have to practice my hustling for me to really get into photography as a profession. Becoming an aircraft mechanic is really appealing to me. Learning every trade in one place all for a single purpose is thrilling.   Electrical, Plumbing/hydrolics, jet engine maintenance, welding, smithing, knowing how to use every tool in the fuckin book and more.
This is a great place to learn how to use your hands and think critically.
In an age where people would rather replace than repair it gives me a sense of pride to know that I’m not aiding consumerism.
 

The idea that work may be fulfilling rather than just painfully necessary is prevalent conundrum many of us have all throughout our lives.
There are so many trades, hobbies and occupations out there that we may become so anxious about making the right choice you won’t make a choice at all.
Psychologists call this the “paradox of choice” paralysis stemming from to many options.
 

Most of us don’t have a calling.
There is no grand purpose for you or I. We live for no reason. We live and then we die. Only through experiences and gratification do we really start to grasp happiness. The first step to understanding your self is to know thyself.
Contemplate what it means to be happy and then understand how to achieve that.
Sounds like some bullshit out of a Tony Robbins book doesn’t it.
But Over the last few years I’ve done a lot of self-reflection.
I took examples from people all around me.
From the alcoholic frycook at my first job in a 5 star restaurant, to the struggling entrepreneur creating a fashion clothing business, to the old farts throwing luggage at the airport just waiting until they can collect their Pensions. I’ve kept mental notes on everyone I’ve ever met on what actions I can take to live a fulfilling happy life.
 

From the group of people whom I have observed that have become lost and unhappy, Ive found one common similarity. Complacency.
Im not going to pretend to know what our purpose on this planet is but I sure as shit know that working a unfulfilling job and finally enjoying life when you are retired is not how any of us should live.
People are oblivious to the finite time clock just ticking away.
Happiness wont appear when you turn 65.
Even my own father doesn’t want to take a vacation with his only son. His excuse?
 “Who’s going to run the business”
What? Who am I Peter Pan? This isn’t the movie Hook. My own father works so hard he has no time for his only son. He just turned 60 !  I digress.
 

Currently I find happiness in learning new skills, languages and traveling.
When I was afraid I was never going to get outside of North America I landed a job at Delta airlines which has given me the freedom to Travel the world.
When my most recent roommate moved out and took all the furniture I sold the Xbox one and the TV for wood working tools and built a coffee table, kitchen table and butcher block all from watching youtube videos.
I plan on visiting and hopefully working in Germany one day so I picked up german children’s books and read Tim Ferris’s Four 4 hour Chef .
If you have never read any of his books check him out. Tim Ferris is most widely known for his book the 4 hour workweek. Its absolutely mind-blowing.
 

Most recently I met  @kommienezuspadt at a card shop while playing Magic the Gathering. He showed me the ways of Steemit. I thought that this platform and the power of block chain melds perfectly with travel.  
Thanks for reading.
Im excited to become apart of the Steemit community.
I love the bazaar and the badass I plan on posting travel videos, and reviews of hole in the wall business/ restaraunts.
 

Grizman
   

Sort:  

Welcome!

Hello friend and welcome to the lovelyest community ever ♡
Hope you have a wondered journey into the depths of steemlandia.
Happy to have you here! Cheers and all the best.

Thanks for the good vibes @vangelov I followed ya!
Glad to be here!

Welcome to Steemit Land! Great to see you continuing to post more often now!
Welcome to visit: REPORTS FOR NEWBIES

welcome to steemit :)

Congratulations @grizman!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 4 with 64 comments

Nice to have you here @grizman! Let the MTG posts begin!

Congratulations @grizman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @grizman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome Graham. Expecting great content from you ;)

Now its time to brainstorm! @sarasate I just got a gorpo and a gimbal to record sweet videos!

Welcome to Steemit! :)

Welcome! I'm new to Steemit also and I love it so far!

welcome. upvoted and followed. feel free to check out my posts and follow me back

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you like it as much as I do. I upvoted, and I'm following you to know you better. Feel free to follow me @lulita 😀

I diggin it so far! Everyone is so nice! @lulita Im followed ya!

Thank you. Leave me your feedback. I'm always learning from others.

Awesome intro post welcome to Steemit dude!

Thanks @mallorcaman Im following you now!

Hi Graham,nice to meet you

Hello @lofy1999 I dig your photography! That naked cab driver is gnarly! ha

Pretty good post congrats !!! from here on hope for you the best in this new & challenging environment. I like writing/posting about several topics that call my attention, from travel, life to science and technology. Here are some of my last posts, that if you can, read them and leave some comments - it will be great.

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/nice-island-beautiful-beach-lots-of-aquatic-sports-to-do-still-the-best-part-of-the-trip-was-been-in-family-all-together

https://steemit.com/steemit/@indepthstory/i-was-almost-convinced-but-what-happened-what-on-earth-is-going-on

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/rio-de-janeiro-is-one-of-those-items-that-must-be-placed-in-the-bucket-list-and-one-day-definitively-visit-we-did

Best of good luck in the STEEMIT arena …. have given you my upvote & follow tick for the welcome, and of course hope you will follow me .!!

Txs. & Rgds.

@indepthstory

Will do @indepthstory thanks! I just followed you!

great txs and rgds.

Congratulations @grizman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome my friend. you seem like an intelligent and interesting person. Looking forward to seeing your posts in my feed.

Thanks @arqetype Just followed you!

Hey Graham Best of luck, looking forward to your next posts :)

@grizman Welcome to steemit my fellow Minnesotan!

Hope youre in Minneapolis! Apparently Caffeto is the place to be ! @andykillian
isnt that right @kommienezuspadt ?

Mpls is right @grizman I work at the Aster Cafe on the Mississippi River !

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Thanks for the good advice @goodaytraders!

Every one is so nice here! Its a paradise!
I hope there aren't any trolls.

Welcome bro

Brah Im following you now @megaman

A very warm welcome to this wonderful Steemit community @grizman - following you

Welcome to Steemit. Upvote.greets

Nice to have you here at steem!

Thanks @havok777 just followed ya!

HI :)) And Welcome :)

Hi Graham and welcome to Steemit! :)

hi and welcome bruv...

Welcome @gizman! Hope you enjoy it on here as much I do! I followed you ✨ Follow me @sunflowersgirl

Welcome to steemitt! Enjoy 🤗

Hey Graham! Welcome to Steemit! Awesome post, specially the part about finding yourself. I haven't found myself yet, my purpose in this world, and I hope to soon. I've lost a lot, mostly because of my mistakes, but I intend to make changes! Upvoted and followed you :)

Dont be afraid of changes! For example I just took an improv class for the first time and I never gave a shit about theatre in college. XD ha

I read your first post about your dream garage.
My dad grew up in the 70's in Little falls Minnesota (look it up). Its such a small town that his dad(my grandpa) was both the Mayor and the Police chief. My dad and his brother would race their muscle cars down an abandoned airstrip and basically lived their lives like the movie Dazed and Confused.
My dad had a 65 mustang fastback and always beat every one else. His burnouts where so legendary people 4 towns away would hear about them and say Little falls is out of control!

Wow, that is just awesome! I don't know when I'll be able to own a Mustang, it's already getting super expensive as it gets older! Must've been awesome to race them back in the days, no rules, just raw straightline power! :D

Well Japan is the closest place to you where muscle cars are prevalent .
In the mid 70's japan had Hondas and Datsun that looked pretty rad!

Welcome to Steemit, my only hope is you don't find this platform....let's say a little cloying sometimes :0.

I'm excited for you future posts, you're clearly a deep thinker and I've followed ya

Welcome! great post! sounds like you are heading in the right direction.

Thanks @captainobviou3 ! Im following you now!

Welcome to Steemit Graham. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do. See you around! :-)

Welcome to Steemit Graham

Welcome Grizman hope you enjoy your Steemit journey.
@kevinace

I hope this journey never ends Man!
@kevinace
Party on!

Wow, you are an interesting man. I'm sure you will have a lot to share with all of us on Steemit! Welcome! Chris :)

Thanks @dreamsonics many good things are on the way ! I just picked up a gimbal for my go pro so now i can post awesome videos!

Welcome to another Ferriss fan! I love Tim and his work, do you listen to his podcast?? Steemit.chat me sometime I'd love to talk productivity and some self reflection with ya!

@chrissymchavez
I do listen to his podcast!
I also have all of his books!
I also love Joe Rogan and Bill Burrs bodcasts!
Will do buddy!

Welcome aboard, Graham! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Glad to finally be here!
Just followed you @bitgeek

@grizman bienvenido a steemit, te dejo un voto y te sigo.

sígueme en : https://steemit.com/@jhelbich

Welcome @grizman! I look forward to your reviews of the bazaar and badass :)

Welcome to Steemit, upvoted!

You are welcome to steemit. You will enjoy it here

Welcome! Hope to see you around the incubator sometime. :)

@scorpiodragoness We all need to get together! Im free afternoons after 130pm and Im free in the morning on the weekends!

Great post... I also have some interesting post make sure to check it and drop a vote...follow for follow

Welcome to steemit, I'm new as well. Upvoted and followed you hope you follow me too