Introducemyself- Again

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Passing on my big respects and regards to the wide and wonderful world of the Steemit community!

OMG 2011.jpg

My original introduceyouself back in July was an abysmal failure - so many typos and i didn't even spell or include the right hashtag!! Guess I was overly naïve and hyper enthusiastic at that stage. Anyways, now that I've gained a better understanding of things... let me have another go at it.

The opening I just made may invoke images of me being something of an urban gangsta to some folk. I can assure you that I'm far from being any such thing. On the contrary, I'm a very mature white Anglo Celtic male living in Perth, Western Australia. That's me behind the OMG sign at a Cottesloe Beach "Sculpture By The Sea' event ; and also me being Noddy at a fancy dress party in London a couple of years back.

I happen to have stumbled across Steemit when it was mentioned in a recent article in "The Economist" magazine about block-chains. Being somewhat "alternative" in my thinking , I was attracted by the exciting possibility of life outside the box.

I love writing and telling stories ( a number of these are already on my blog) which is the main reason behind my presence here. The truth of the matter is that getting any writing seen or heard in in the real world is a very difficult and unrewarding thing these days. I'm curious to see what happens here. At least here I can also put out some offerings from the book and other short stories I've spent so much time writing.

IMG_0057.PNG

As for me. I've luckily already managed to lead a full and happy life. I've gained wisdom and experience from the inevitable mistakes we all need to make in life. My own experiences and beliefs have led me to be comfortable with following the fairly simple and reasonable philosophy of Common Decency - that is, just being nice, fair and decent to everybody. It seems we are all innately blessed with this universal talent. It's just a shame that not everyone seems to apply the easy skills we have been blessed with.

I also enjoy a somewhat off-beat taste in wit and whimsy and have a huge appreciation for the fact that we actually have the privilege of enjoying a life on this planet - which doesn't seem to so far be the case with the trillions of other objects we share our Universe with.

I've come to learn, through life's school of hard knocks, that less is often more. I shall therefore keep my introduction brief and see if I can even manage to find it on here somewhere. I'm not an overly big user of social media products, so I will be on a big learning curve as I try to establish how things work here. Luckily, I still have an ability and desire to learn quickly ( at least several facts every day, that oughta keep the dementia away!!)

I look forward to reading the many and varied tapestries that have already been woven in here.

Ciao for niao, Amigos.

Sort:  

How are you? @Gwelton, Let me welcome you to Steemit. Hope you gonna have fun with our community. Feel free to follow me @rightuppercorner Have a great time @rightuppercorner

wow, that's a nice picture in the sand, it is really a great capture, good luck to you on your story telling , followed you so i can see more of Australia and its places.

A new Steemian ^^ hello @gwelton I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Welcome and I think you will love it here. There are a lot of friendly and helpful people here - and you will get some more eyes on your writing :)
Followed you. I like whimsical people :)

Hey! I see that you have been on steemit for some time now but I thought I'd say hi nevertheless. Have one upvote from me and don't forget to upvote others!
As a newcomer to steemit, it's not easy getting those big upvotes so you could give @MinnowPowerUp a go. This service lets you earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.