i'm hartleigh.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

hartleigh

well hello there. My name is Hartleigh. I like my name. I got it for my birthday.

So... this is new. I've blogged before but only for close friends and family. Never for an unknown audience. I was considering telling you all the things I'm interested in but there are so many I'm not sure it would give anyone a clear vision of who I am. (I'm going to do it anyway.)

It's interesting how this one tiny post feels slightly scary. I'm a performer and I've always felt it was much easier to perform in front of a full house as opposed to an intimate audience right in front of you. Not the case here. The internet is a jungle.

You perform?! What?! That's amazing! Thanks, I know. Boom. I'm incredible. Immediate validation from the internet. I am complete.

Well, here is the risk I'd like to take with everyone out there I don't know and can't see because of your invisibility cloaks. I'm a singer. I've wanted to introduce my voice to the internet for awhile but in all honesty I've been pretty scared. The plan is to start posting videos. Whether I'm liked or not liked... the goal is to do it.

Music is the most beautiful amazing thing to me and I honestly find it hard to comprehend what life would be like without it. I started dancing at the age of 3 and starting singing as soon as I heard Aretha Franklin, also probably around age 3... can you imagine... RESPECT. RESPECT THIS 3 YEAR OLD.

Speaking of kids... I have an enormous amount of hours logged with children. Babysitting, teaching dance, having conversations. They are drawn to me. It's a blessing and a curse. None the less, you will be getting quotes because children are amazing and know how to live better than adults.

As promised, I know you're interested, a list of things I find fascinating. Would love feedback on what might be an interesting post. Even though I will post about everything anyway. Deal with it.

music. funk and soul.
kids
Art
humans. interactions and observations.
interior design
Fun facts and life hacks
elephants. the most amazing animal ever.
beauty. all kinds.
comedy
minimalism

I'll leave you with a time lapse video of a watercolor I am working on. it's the milky way galaxy. no big deal.

Happy Hump Day. I hate that it's called hump day. I definitely never envision a camel hump or hump on the Wednesday of a weekly calendar. Be honest, I know you don't either.

Sort:  

Could I ask for a verification that this is actually you blogging on this account?:)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

About linkback_bot

Welcome Hartleigh, you are going to be successful here i'm sure !

thanks for the encouragement! seems like a great community so far

Welcome to Steemit, Hartleigh!! Hope to see more from you soon!

thanks for the warm welcome! much appreciated

I felt nervous about posting as well. I am glad you are going to get your music out there :)

Welcome to Steemit. Painting with watercolours looks like a lot of fun. I'm curious to see more of your work.

I agree about it being easier to perform to a full house compared to a small audience. I remember once I walked into a karaoke bar to practise singing, and there was only one other punter in the bar... also a singer. I felt like I was really going to be judged.

Welcome again and have a great day

thanks! i will share more in the future...

 8 years ago  Reveal Comment