A Little Less Lost in Translation

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit! I'm hellokitty, and I'm excited to introduce myself and get to know all of you lovely soon-to-be friends. I'm a Midwestern USA-born, ex-Hooters Girl turned world traveler who would love to share a few stories with you.


Floating down the Mekong in Vietnam

About 4 years ago I decided to leave it all behind and spent one year living in South Korea, culminating in a 2 month backpacking trip through Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, and the Philippines. I came back to the Midwest for almost 3 years, but decided it was time to go out again, so I'll be moving to Scotland in 6 weeks. I'm nervous and excited about it, and I'm hoping to share lots of incredible stories with you along the way!


Relaxing with some delicious ice cream in Da Lat, Vietnam


Exploring the exotic gardens of Da Lat, Vietnam

A little bit about myself... I love cats, reading, travel, yoga, tattoos, the fall (Halloween is the best), sweets, snow, and the Talking Heads. I've been working on a book for a few years now, and haven't been able to finish it yet. From what I've seen of Steemit, this looks like just the place for me to get tips and new inspiration!


Making a new bestie in Seoul. He's thrilled


Fire dancers in Sihanoukville, Cambodia

My brother is the one that actually introduced me to Steemit. He couldn't stop talking it up, so I had to check it out, and the more I explore this site and learn about how it works, the more excited I am to be here. This is such a revolutionary idea, and I can already tell it is bringing together a huge array of diverse people. I can't wait to get to know you all. :)


Outside Gyeongbukgong Palace, Seoul, South Korea in the snow


Visiting a cat cafe in Busan, South Korea (my favorite)!


Another pic in the cat cafe. Lol Korean grumpy cat!

My favorite place that I've been has been South Korea. It was so busy and crowded, but exciting and friendly. I also happened to be there at the peak of Gangnam Style fever. I remember going for a hike outside of Busan, and I literally passed an elderly couple that was out for a walk blasting Gangnam Style on a massive boombox.


Endangered monkey in the Philippines


Kissing the dragon in Don Khon, Laos


Making friends with a water buffalo in Don Det, Laos

I'm so excited to be here, Steemit! I really feel like this platform can become a great thing in the social media world, and it's amazing how many people are catching Steem Fever. I'm definitely one of them, and I hope you'll follow me on my journeys, and I hope that we can all get to know each other, and help make Steemit into the great platform that I believe it can be!


Hanging out at the Hello Kitty store in South Korea. haha, soooo Korean :)

Sort:  

This is a very well done introduction. THESE are the kind of articles I like to see on Steemit. I spent 6 years in South Korea, and love that it is your favorite place. Looking forward to reading more from you.

Hey, thank you so much! That's amazing that you lived there for 6 years. I'd love to hear more about your experiences and time there. I loved it, and miss it every day. Looking forward to reading more from you, too!

Welcome Hello Kitty! I just moved to New Zealand 2 months ago from Colorado! Such an exhilarating time in my life Thailand is definitely on my list of must visits. Looking forward to hearing more about your travels past and future. If you are planning on selling your stuff, like I did, OfferUp was extremely helpful in getting rid of stuff wish I would have known about it sonner! se

Thank you Daenerys! I LOVE the pic :) Just checked out your posts and blog and I feel such a connection with your travel experiences and feelings on gratitude. Funny- New Zealand is on MY list of must visits! Thanks for the hint about Offer Up, I'd never heard of it but looks awesome. Looking forward to getting to know you better and hearing about your travels!

Hi jay park :P

Haha! Love it!
KPOP YES PLEASE.

hi @hellokitty nice to meet you 8]

Hey there! Nice to meet you, too!

Welcome to Steemit! and great photos btw!

Thank you and thank you! I'm excited to be here!

Hello! Welcome to Steemit! Great post and pictures!

Thanks travelista! I just checked out your blog and loved seeing your awesome photos. New traveling friends :) Looking forward to reading more from you!

Great post but I don't think that's an endangered monkey, it's a real life Furby! haha

HAHA oh man I think you might just be right about that...or a gremlin!

You looked a little leery in that picture with the water buffalo. I sure the hell would have been. LOL!

You are so right...I definitely was!

Oh hi there :)