Hi Steemit, I'm an 18 year old Vegetable Gardening YouTuber!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

With huge thanks to @pennsif, I am now a part of this exciting community. My name is Huw Richards and I am from Wales in the UK (not England). I love sport, outdoor activities and technology and I am very keen to participate in such a positive network of people. In all honesty I am a bit skeptical about cryptocurrencies but I am always open to new things.

I like to think of myself as an entrepreneur. School frustrated me because I couldn’t spend time on what my stubborn mind thought was important, and the freedom I have now to follow my dreams is incredible. 

When I was 12 (2011) a friend of mine was making gaming videos on YouTube and had around 200 views, so I decided to make videos about gardening as I had grown up with that and outdoor homesteading life thanks to my parents. About 8 years on and my channel has over 11 million views, 70,000 subscribers and is nearing 400 videos! I am so passionate about inspiring people to grow their own produce.

I live on an 11 acre smallholding with my parents and younger sister in a 300 year old farmhouse with walls 60cm thick in stone. We have an orchard next to a wildflower haymeadow and keep chickens, ducks, sheep, pigs and honeybees. I am very grateful to have had the chance to grow up in the countryside and I wouldn’t ever want to change that.

Permaculture is an ever growing interest of mine, having completed my Permaculture Design Course in November 2017 I have just been given my first consulting work which is particularly exciting! What I love about permaculture is how you look at systems in nature and create designs to help us work better and be kinder to our world (be that human or environmental).

My next steps are to continue creating weekly content to help people grow their own food, finish a book I am writing which will be accompanied by an online course and start looking at creating affordable and sustainable tiny home projects because in the UK house prices are ridiculous!

[My first ever GIF...]

Apparently it is good practice to verify that you are the actual legitimate human being on Steemit you say you are, I guess aliens are also excited about social networks. Unfortunately this meant I had to take a selfie...one of my less preferred hobbies in life. Fortunately I found out that you can add GIFs, so I took the opportunity to make my first ever GIF from 2 of the 30 attempted selfies. Also to my friends in the US, we do DD/MM/YY in the UK so this photo is not from the 1st of December ;) 

I really look forward to my Steemit journey and I would like to thank everyone who follows my channel and supports me with kindness. 

With best wishes for 2018 to you all,

Huw


You can also follow me on YouTube and Facebook 



 

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Awesome man ;) Will you be publishing some videos on @dtube as well? Or have you even heard of it?
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my page for showcasing promising newcomers!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thank you so much it is very kind of you! Yes I think I will be releasing videos on @dtube a week before YouTube. Best wishes :)

Please do post videos. I will follow you in anticipation.

Fantastic post, I am following you now .
blue-thumbs-up-smiley

Thank you so much!

Congratulations on joining this platfrom steemit is my new friend, what you are looking for and want available in paltfrom steemit . to work through your intelligence in terms of writing and taking pictures that can attract crowded people and good luck

Thank you very much! :)

Welcome @huwsnursery! Been a long time fan on youtube and I think at one point I even asked you about buying some blackberry plants or something similar.
Really glad to see that things are still going well for you!

Wow yay I remember your username @stormriderstudio I have blackcurrants ;) I hope you are well

he follow and upvote I follow and upvote back

So great to see you here! I sure wish that I'd started at your age. You've got a bright future my friend!

Hey @papa-pepper thank you so much for stopping by :) Thank you so much!

Welcome! I've been following you on youtube for some time now. Thank you for all your work, you've been an inspiration and really helpful on my permaculture journey. So glad to have you hear on Steemit!

Awh thank you so much! I am glad it has :)

Welcome to Steemit! It looks like you are going to hit the ground running. You have accomplished a lot so far and I look forward to seeing more!

Thank you very much, this platform very much excites me! Best wishes

Woohoo! So glad to have you join us here - I've been a big fan of your YT videos since I discovered them last year, they're full of such wonderful down-to-earth advice. :)

And yes, those alien interlopers really can be quite a problem ....

Oh yay thank you so much!!! :)

Hey! Welcome! I think you'll really love it here...and the cryptocurrencies will make more sense...cents (haha sorry just had to 😂) But with such a huge youtube following, you'll probably do really well! I know homesteaders locally that had a large following on youtube and gained so much attention right away! I can't wait to see all of your posts...and learn something new!

Thank you so much! They are beginning too, awh thank you very much @freedomtowrite it is just a question about bringing them over here :) Best wishes

NICE VEGTABLES !

Welcome to Steemit @huwsnursery!♥

Thank you @aggroed for resteeming! ♥

Welcome to steemit Huw - I hope you enjoy your time here.

You have just helped push the list of Homesteaders and Preppers on steemit through the 300 mark. Post on this coming out imminently!

You might want to hop over to the Homesteaders Online Discord group. They are all friendly there.

I really am, thank you very much! Great, thank you for the link!

Hello Huw , Welcome to Steemit !

Thank you :)

nice to meet ya. upvoted...

Welcome to STEEMIT. @pennsif is a solid guy. Looking forward to your content. Now following

He certainly is! Thank you and vice versa, best wishes!

great work man and welcome dude!i would love to see ur upcoming post and i am sure they will be great like this post!

Thank you so much :D

pleasure is all mine!

I really liked your publication, I'm following you now. :)

Welcome to Steemit Family
I like the way that you introduce yourself and you know what !!
for the gardening , we might have some tips to share to each other because my family we eat organic and we do the garden at home (not big like you but enough for us to eat healthy :D

I am T.J. I am Thai but live in US, welcome and nice to meet you "Huw Richards:-), hope to read you more soon.
Have a great one !!

Thank you very much @giantkidishere That sounds like a great plan and I look forward to following what you are up to :)

Hi, a belated welcome to steemit.
I have seen a couple of your vids on Youtube in the past.
I love potatoes :) Especially growing them the 'lazy way' ;)

Hi @eggmeister thank you so much for the upvote and comment :) Ahh yeah definitely good fun ;)

Welcome!

Thank you :)

Welcome to Steem Community @huwsnursery As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome aboard. Nice to see more countrymen joining

Thank you so much!

Welcome to steemit, I hope you enjoy this platform !!

Thank you I am sure I will :)

Hi welcome Huw, love Wales!

Welcome to steemit!!!
:D

Thank you!!

Welcome to steemit! :)

Welcome to Steemit! @pennsif is a great one to follow and he won't steer you wrong on how to work with steemit!

He is brilliant! :)

Welcome to Steemit. I am sure you will enjoy the Steemit Platform.

I chuckled when I read the title. It's so surreal to hear that for some reason as I don't know many people who garden - but I think it so awesome that you do! haha. Have you much experience with indoor Hydroponic systems? I'm curious about your opinion on them.

Awh thank you very much :) No all of the growing I do involves soil however I am planning to look at aquaponic systems soon :) I think hydroponics are fantastic for urban environments

It'll be really cool to see large scale warehouse size hydroponic systems - if that is even possible.

And !!! aquaponics seems so cool! Wishing you the best of luck.

Did I just hear gardening?! Oh my, I'm very excited. 11 acres? That's huge!

You certainly did! I hope you enjoy!

Will be looking forward to the wonders you'll share.

In all honesty I am a bit skeptical about cryptocurrencies but I am always open to new things.
Just give it a try! 🚀😅

Welcome to steemit. Hope you like it here. We have a lot of fun learning about what to do and what not to do on a homestead. I am so glad @pennsif talked you into joining up. 🐓🐓

Welcome to steemit man! You have a great recruiter in @pennsif, follow his lead and advice and you'll do great here!

Nice stuff!! Here in Portugal communitary gardens for growing bio are becoming a thing, the state gives you the land for you to grow your stuff :)
I will follow for some tips!
Welcome btw :)

Welcome aboard! Your youtube channel is great! You'll make an excellent addition to the community!

Croeso i steemit!

My grandmother and her siblings (they were all from around Abergavenny) grew their own veg until really quite late in life.

Amazing to see people in Wales still doing it early in life. It's an awesome and rewarding skill.

Looking forward to reading lots of posts from you!

Hello @huwsnursery... Bienvenido! Your intro was awesome.

Welcome from a fellow Welsh steemian!

I'm here with you brother, just finished the MSP radio waves show with you on there! Let's connect at some point on YT!

Hi @brianturner thank you so much for stopping by! Yes that would be great! Amazing work by the way

Welcome huw from another huw. Enjoy hope you get everything you want from steemit.

Thank you and to you

Hola..te felicito por ser un buen agricultor,faltan muchos en el mundo ya que los alimentos son artículos de primera necesidad y muy pocos se preocupan por producirlos,siga adelante te seguiré leyendoy te dare mi voto espero el tuyo.exitos@pedrolavado

Great to have you here @huwsnursery. I'm just across the water from you and brought up on a small homestead also. I wish you much success here in the steemit community and I'm looking forward to following your journey. Thank you.

Hello I do not speak English but I liked your post, delighted with the idea of ​​growing your own food, I hope you get what you want here in the steemit community ... success

Hey! Welcome! Awesome man ^-^ Fantastic post

congratulations good post and excellent suggestion, so it should be, not focus on what you generate, but on what you do and share to entertain, help, inform and share in the steemit community ... regards

I always dreamed about my own garden where i have all the fruits and vegetables that i need ! Yours look amazing and very organised. Good job mate :)

There are 2 pages
Pages