Hi, I'm Alex: one of my main passions is to write.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

As a new Steemit user, I can't wait to get immersed in this community!

12108114_509654585870438_482304850792547378_n.jpg

This picture is in Aegina, one of the Aegean islands that is the closest to Athens, in Greece. However, I'm from Spain.

To be honest I have too many interests, which makes it difficult for me to establish priorities. I see this site as a vehicle for expression; as a canvas where I might depict the drawn-out buzzing of my consciouness. I believe the joy of living lies essentially in understanding the world that surrounds us and wondering at the beauty of the intricate laws that account for all of its natural phenomena. It also lies in loving and being loved and creating art which might amaze the forthcoming generations. This is, at least, what gives meaning to my life.

I'm currently about to finish a degree in Classics: I'm fond of Latin and Ancient Greek literature, but I enjoy literature in general terms too. Just to mention some of my favourite authors, I love Shakespeare, Emily Dickinson, and Jorge Luis Borges. Philosophy, too, is among my main interests, namely aesthetics and logic. Some of my favourite philosophers include Plato, Arthur Schopenhauer, Ludwig Wittgenstein, and Bertrand Russell. As a self-taught pianist, another thing I could not live without is music, especially classical music. My favourite composers are Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, Chopin, Mahler, Debussy and many, many others... This is one of my favourite pieces played by one of my favourite musicians:

And last, but not least, there is my passion for mathematics. Though I love literature and languages, I find mathematics to be at the pinnacle of all of human intellectual pursuits. Not only is it ubiquitous, but it is also utterly elegant and beautiful, as it encompasses nature into rigourous equations. That's why I'd love to pursue a degree in Math next year.

That's all so far. Soon I'll be posting about literature, philosophy, psychology, music, and mathematics.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @hyperion I have sent you a tip

Hello @hyperion Welcome to Steemit community, Upvote!)

Thank you!

Welcome to Steemit @hyperion :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Welcome to steemit!

That was an amazing introduction, can't wait for some amazing post related to mathematics.

Upvoted your post!
You Can follow me @utfull
Will follow you back! See you Around !

Thanks for the feedback! Now you have another follower :)

welcome! looking forward to see your posts on literature! :)

Thank you Laura! I hope you like them!

Welcome to steemit community. You will love it. Following links may help you to get started.
New Users Guide: https://steemit.com/welcome
Dos and don’ts on Steemit:https://steemit.com/steemit/@najoh/dos-and-don-ts-on-steemit
Top Earners List:https://steemwhales.com/
ChainBB Steem Forum: https://steemit.com/chainbb/@jesta/chainbbcom-a-blockchain-forum-platform-for-steem
If you find this post useful, Feel Free to up vote, follow me.

Thanks for your help! :)

Very welcome to Steemit and thy for your great introduction :-)
upvoted with pleasure

Thank you Chris!

Congratulations @hyperion! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello there @hyperion and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Welcome Alex! You certainly seem like an Asset to our community!

Glad to read that, mate. Thank you very much!

You are welcome to steemit! You will definitely enjoy it here!
Please feel free to check out and follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK for yummy recipes.
Cheers

Thank you! I will surely check your recipes out :)

writing is a great passion @hyperion.
I’m @andreolf . Would be great to follow me and upvote me some of my blogs :) looking forward to upvote your too! Cheers Francesco

Thanks for your words, Francesco. Done, you have a new follower!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you like it as much as I do. Feel free to connect with me @lulita 😀

Thank you very much!

Welcome to steemit community.
I’m @jyoungking2 Start by following people and they will do the same.
Good Luck

Thank you! I'll follow your advice!

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Thank you! Those are some nice words to read!

Welcome to Steemit! Good to have another math person here.

Great! My favourite kind of math is pure math :)

My background is in applied mathematics (differential equations), probability and statistics. I know a few pure math topics from real analysis and measure theory but it is somewhat rusty.

Hi Alex!
Welcome to this community that really appreciates our posted content. I hope you can follow me. I have the custom of posting photos taken of my iphone and texts of interesting curiosities.
You can become more popular by following people and giving upvote in posts! I believe Steemit has a great future!

Thank you Mateus. Sure, I've just followed you!

Welcome to steemit,personally i congratulate you for making this decision to join this wonderful platform.
@follow

Thank you very much!

Make sure when you write in spanish you put the tag spanish :) Un saludazo y bienvenido a Steemit!

Great shot, @hyperion. Welcome to Steemit!!

Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it!

Hello, welcome to Steemit I invite you to see my blog. "We follow each other"

Muchas gracias Richi!

Congratulations @hyperion! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @hyperion! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!