Let Me Introduce Myself to my fellow Steemiteers @iamstan

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello fellow Steemiteers,
My name is Stanley, my close friends call me Stan.

poliglknbdeojhlc.jpeg
This is @futurefarmers and I when he was a baby.

I was born in the USA. Traveled often as a boy with my family my father was in the uS Air Force. I grew up in the Philippines, Japan, Alaska, Texas, just to name a few. I quit school when I was 16 and started my own cabinet shop. l had my GED before I should have graduated High School.

alaska sleding.jpg
Sledding in Alaska. I am the small face you can barely see.

farmerkids.jpg
My two older sisters, one younger sister and I.

tractor.jpg

Once I became a man I never stopped moving. I easily adapt to new surroundings, and enjoy being in new uncharted territory. I prefer to keep myself on the outside looking in.

Of all the places I have lived I prefer the Philippines and the Philippine people. Amongst them I feel at home. My wife is @lovenfreedom. Meeting her, making covenant with her was the best choice I have ever made in my life.
elmer fudd.jpg
There is so much to our story I will have to make an entire post on how we met and all the beautiful things that have happened in my life since we made covenant.

More about me is that I am a Carpenter, Cabinet maker, skilled craftsman. Here are few jobs I have done. I spent most of my life working very hard and doing the hard work of a construction worker. If they dig up my bones 300 years after I die they will determine that I was a slave because of the wear on my bones.
disco.jpg
I built this Dj Booth with a skill saw, router and a belt sander.

kitchen.jpg
I remodeled this kitchen in 2010, built the cabinets from rough hardwood, The counter tops were the only subcontractor I hired on this job. Yes I installed the tile electrical and appliances.

patio.jpg

This project was on a 10,000 acre Ranch @lovenfreedom and I did this patio ceiling together.

shade arbor.jpg I built this Shade Arbor from rough sawn western red cedar in 2011 Customer was very happy.

tilework.jpg
I installed this marble entryway in 1987.

Every one of these jobs I did with my own hands and tools.
Today most of the work I do is keeping up our homestead, raising/home schooling our children and being the taxi driver for my family of 6. You can follow @lovenfreedom my better half and @futurefarmers one of my sons. They are the reason I live. They are the ones that talked me into signing up for Steemit.

We have a youtube page but have decided that Google will never monetize our page "Farmer Family Homestead". It was monetized over a year ago then they changed the rules just when we started uploading. Now we will be uploading exclusively to D.tube and will be removing all of our content from Google.lunch @ giligans baguio.jpg @lovenfredom and I in Baguio City, Philippines at Gilligans

I will end here but the story has just begun.

Sort:  

looking for real people to follow, have fun, looking forward to seeing what ya got to offer. think i will follow you all. my family is also on here if you need someone to follow too, they are: (My wife) @kimlovesbaking (Daughter) @serenacrafts (Daughter) @autumnjewel and(Daughter) @lilygrace They just started, so they don't have much on here yet, but they would appreciate any followers.
MrEasyFix_bottom_thank_you.gif

Wow thanks so much for your encouragement. My better half looked at your recent post. Wow brother we will follow and upvote. All of us! God works on us when we don't even know He is doing it. We call Him Yeshua as well!

Welcome! Great story and great work, Stan! I went owner-builder on a tear-down-to-the-studs type remodel on my tract house from 2007-2010 now twice the size and fully custom ... grueling but deeply satisfying... can relate...

Hello and thanks much. We remodeled the house we are in in 2012. We had to move into the garage when we bought it. I was not able to go down to the studs because we had the evil banksters involved and I only had 6 months to remodel an entire house by myself. It turned out ok by my standards but I will redo part of it on my time if we stay here much longer. We paid it off in 3 years @lovenfreedom has a post how we did that. Actually were trying to get ourselves prepared to be more mobile as a family going forward. Who knows what tomorrow will bring us.

fascinating similarities ... at the time of the dot com era, someone asked me, "Why are you paying down your mortgage so aggressively when you can double your money on ... (some failed dot com start-up stock ... ;-) ... yeah I understood 'debt slavery' before it became as popular a term it is ... Well it figures we'd meet like-minded individuals, especially on the topic of finance here on steemit! Great meeting you! btw you can call me, 'Zig'

Hello Zig I followed you.

Oh yes, Stan ... the formality, thanks for reminding. I just followed you back, also.

btw, I, just like yourself also experienced effects from the youtube 'adpocolypse', with adsense arbitrarily changing the terms to 'no revenue' until after ten thousand views. New artists (or any youtubers who don't immediately 'go viral') would typically wait years before seeing a penny in this scheme ... Actually I'm an old (in reality 'mid-life') artist who finally prioritized music as a 'bucket list' item ...

I'm sticking it out on yt for the time being for these three reasons ... Dtube collects 'royalties' (you may say) for only the first week, whereas, providing YT doesn't capriciously change terms (which of course, it's proven a bad track record for that so far...) it pays ad revenue in perpetuity (theoretically). I'm fairly close to the new bar they set for ten thousand total views before adsense kicks-in (a new rule as of April 2017)... and lately I've been suffering with a Dtube "Error while submitting to the blockchain" ... I've asked around and no one has any suggestion that gets rid of this so far. I may need to set up IPFS which I will once I get a machine I'm willing to commit as a 'shared resource' (amongst well-deserving individuals, it seems) but my first upload to Dtube was difficult, but did finally go through without IPFS, so I'm mostly confused on the matter now ...

Anyway, best of luck to you!

Screenshot from 2018-01-25 22-29-39.png

We have been well over the new threshold for quite awhile and have never been approved yet. It just says in review for months now. I don't think they will ever approve us so we quit putting content there.
For the error your getting you need to log into d.tube diffferently
You use your steemit id then for your password, go to your steemit wallet, click on permissions you use the posting key for your password on d.tube that will fix your problem

Wow great!!! I really appreciate this tip, Stan!! OK, I'll give it a shot, next time I try an upload... But I think you've found it.... If my memory serves me correctly, I did use my steemit password for the 'successful' DTube upload, and in these latest failed attempts, I used the Private Posting Key ... I think you found 'the key' to my problem, I am indebted to you!

...and I appreciate your 'heads up' ... I presumed your YT channel was related to 'home improvement/custom woodwork' and one would think there would be lots of advertisers ready to cut you an endorsement deal as you obviously have an established fan base (Congratulations!) ... If that's so, I'm likely sunk there, my music videos, if not 'artistic/avant garde' can be Rock with social/politcal commentary, 'ad guidelines' being as such...

welcome from another newbie ;)

Thank you and welcome to you as well!

wow :) you have a beautiful family Stan! Welcome to this amazing community! I am sure you'll enjoy your stay. ^^

Thank you @honeyletsgo I am Blessed above all I ever dreamed. I have the most beautiful Fil-Am Children and a loving and faithful Pinay wife. I am rich with all the love my family gives me. Proof that even when you are not perfect, God can and will bless you if you just trust Him.

Welcome to steemit my fellow newbie. Enjoy the platform. I am still workingon it. Upvoted and followed you already. Hope you can send the love back. Lol. We can do this. Cheers my friend!

Thanks We are all trying to grow into a fish before a whale eats us!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by iamstan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.