Hello steemit. I'm Mike and I like to hike

Name: Mike
Age: 31
Sex: M
Location: Maine, US
Hobbies: cooking, hiking, strategy video games, documentaries, comedy, current events, football, cryptocurrency
Occupation: accountant/waiter

This is me on a mountain:
stee9asd.jpg

I've read that when making intro post, you should prove your identity... I made an intro video to help with legitimacy, as well to try this dtube thing out:

I found out about steemit researching different cryptos back in December when everything was taking off. I'm looking for a facebook alternative in light of the recent developments the past couple weeks, I like the layout of this site, and I dig the fact that almost everyone here is into crypto!

I'm likely using steemit to post primarily photos of things special in Maine- landmarks, events that may be unique to Maine, coasts, mountains, deserts, forests, plants, animals, all that stuff. I want to give locations and reviews of little-known hikes around my state, so there is a repository of knowledge for this info (even if it's in an obscure place). I really love our world, but I've noticed that even in my state it is slowly changing.. so I want to document the changes while enjoying as much as I possibly can. Perhaps I can motivate some of you to check out public trails or land trusts around you? Maybe someone in China is curious what the other side of the world looks like? If nothing else, steemit will help me track my adventures. I'll hopefully interact with some great people in this community along the way; I've been a member of a couple other obscure online groups (shout out to anyone on here from luelinks or ETI), and met some people who turned into wonderful, lasting lifelong friendships.. so please feel free to interact if you're looking to chat, I'm friendly =)

Here's some pics I've taken:

MVIMG_20171031_071527.jpg
Waiting for sunrise at the iconic Maine lighthouse Fort Williams, Cape Elizabeth

ktc.jpg
Maine's highest peak Mount Katahdin, Baxter State Park

MVIMG_20171125_114350.jpg
Some old relic I discovered atop an even older mountain trail in Southern Maine.. anyone know what this is!? (there was another about a half mile away...)

stee5Marsh.jpg
my buddy Riley who joins me on hikes when he's not busy

steeEdgeofEarth.jpg
"Height of land", a gorgeous vista right off Maine route 17

justsometree.jpg
just a charming little tree on a trail through a marsh. I thought it looked neat during foliage season...

snapsnow.jpg
Snow sculpture I built to RAISE AWARENESS FOR STEEMIT! =D

Thanks for watching/reading. If you are curious about the great state of Maine, or ever may be interested in any of the hobbies I listed above... a give me a follow. I look forward to becoming a part of the community!

Sort:  

Haha man that Steemit Snow sculpture is sick :D
Btw. - I would suggest you check out @czechglobalhosts daily picture contests for your pics!
Resteeming you for some publicity!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Great intro @iceflame12. Good job!

Thanks... I spent time actually reading and researching steemit and looking at some others to get an idea. I want to be thorough.
Crypto has taught me you really shouldn't be half-assing complex new technologies, so I endeavor to be an informed, competent member of this community

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you’ll enjoy being here as much as I do.

I love that snow sculpture!

You might find these YouTube videos useful. They are created specifically to help new Steemers grow and be successful on Steemit and will be posted on the @steemitvideos account as well.

All The Best!
Spencer Coffman
My Latest Article: Improve Your YouTube Channel

This is great man, I'm halfway through the vid now. I appreciate the quality advice

You're welcome! I'm happy to hear that the videos are helping you out. Feel free to leave comments directly on the YouTube videos or on the @steemitvideos posts if you have any questions!

Welcome to our community, I wish you good luck, remember that perseverance is your best option

Yeah, this post has already definitely exceeded my expectations. I'm going to try and stay consistent with at least one post a week, regardless of how they're received.

Hello and welcome! You've got some beautiful pics there. I'm just a few days old myself and trying to figure out this site still, haha. Well good luck and may you get many followers!

I think you would love to hike the trails around my house, has amazing views.
(ps-love the Steemit ice sculptures)
Screen Shot 2018-03-11 at 3.34.15 PM.png

This looks great, where from?

It overlooks the valley in Los Angeles, California
Screen Shot 2018-03-11 at 3.32.03 PM.png
Here is the Morning Sun Rise.

Forgot to add, upvoted your post.. Have a great day...

Congratulations @iceflame12!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 7 with 47 comments

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on Steemit, feel free to vote for my witness! You can do it here or use SteemConnect

Great, good to know! thanks.

Dig the steemit snow sculptures, a nice way to introduce. Welcome @iceflame12 Upvoted :)

I quite FB over 8 years ago, went to G+ for a while, but that got, ehrm, weird (and echo chamber like). Steemit has been a great experience thus far. Get active, search around for things you are interested in and post quality content, people will come and check it out :) Nice to meet you I'm @danielshortell and I write short fiction here on steemit. take care!

Hah, yeah I want to attempt to incorporate the steem symbol in every hike I do somehow.. either wear attire, or leave a mark or create something in the environment like that. On most hikes I'll likely take the easy way out and draw on a tree with a sharpie or something =)

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.


If you could change anything about your past, what would it be?

Good question.. I like to say I have no regrets, because choice I've made, I wanted to do it at that moment.. and if things went bad, hopefully I at least learned a lesson. But if I had to pick...

I became a waiter after dropping out of college at 18. I seemed to have a knack for it, and I worked tons of doubles and saved lots of money until the restaurant I was at sadly closed abruptly. I had a decent sum in the bank because I had few expenses and all I did was work, so I proceeded to live off that and take the next 10 months or so off from life. In retrospect, it was a of fun and it was a great age to do it (21-22), but if I were to do it again I'd even get a part time job just to have minimal income, and work a couple days a week and siphon off my bank account more slowly. It was the most financially irresponsible decision I've made in my life.

(depending on whether or not bitcoin goes to zero =)

welcome to blockchain world!

Welcome Mike from Thailand. Love the Steem Ice Sculpture! Wishing you all the best as you start your Steemit journey!

Nice man, I know very little about Thailand. My roommate was in the navy and has been there, and he had a couple NSFW stories but that's more about what navy guys do at any port, heh.

Do you get snow at all in your part of Thailand? I'm not any sort of sculptor, but I love playing in the snow. I put a couple drops of blue food coloring with water in an old spray bottle to make the colors. There's a lady that lives next door who runs a daycare, and I'm sure all the kids were curious as to what I created!

I like playing outside. There's no such thing as bad weather if you're dressed correctly!

Thailand is a great country. Looks like your Navy friend sought out the worst Thailand has to offer (probably in Bangkok) but there are many options, including family-friendly activities (I'm out there with @suitcasemama and our toddler) :)

No snow in Thailand! "Winter" is a few days in December where it gets down to maybe the upper 60s for lows. That's when all the Thais unveil their bubble jackets and scarfs! It's very cute!

We're actually in DC at the moment where we were surprised with some snow last week! Great for the kid, as he's never seen snow before! Bundled him up in layers and set him lose in the field near where we're staying, you're right, no such thing as bad weather!

Hey Fire Ice Man, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and you are cool and love your photos and love dogs.

hah, I'm glad you determined I'm cool just from one post!
I just watched your I like your teeth song. I never learned how to play an instrument, but I enjoy singing as much as you seem to =) karaoke's great. I haven't been out in so long.. but tax season is almost over!

Thanks. I love singing. And I was probably in Maine a few times when I was attending Bible College for 2 years in New York. I was in West Virginia and other states around there and was in Quebec and Hawaii and Vietnam. Was a camp counselor and we went on hikes and many things. I hate taxes.

Hah, me too! I envy your travelling. I've only been to Canada, Mexico, and a handful of Caribbean islands. I really want to go around Europe for a week or so... I'm hoping in a few years or so I'll have the time to take some long trips.
Also, thanks for being a teacher

Welcome :)

Hey thanks. It seems like you're into nutrition.. About a year ago, after watching a series of food and health documentaries, I started cutting waayyyy back on meat. I'm not vegetarian, but I went from someone having bacon and eggs a few times a week to eating tofu and actually loving it. I actually eat fruit and vegetables now- and enjoy them! I've significantly modified my diet over the past year or so, but am still gaining a little because of inactivity... I still might learn a thing or two from your page. Thanks for the comment

Welcome to Steemit, Mike!

I also like to hike, particularly up large mountains.

Glad to see other like-minded outdoor enthusiasts joining this platform.

Looking forward to your future hiking pics!

Welcome to steemit, looks like i'm one of the first people here to welcome you! I like to upvote new users when they make new content so follow me if you want me to check out blogs that you post. I make funny videos on my page and look foward to view the content you will be posting. See you around! #Iupvoted

DQmaAZhyJr7Hc8c2Qy55nYJyKrDESUEbPkK6jAEhDDNEN1X_1680x8400.jpg

Nice man, I'll check them out. reddit is getting stale

Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 4k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from
https://discord.gg/WaeJXmE
Join the discord channel today and learn something in the academy of life

Thanks krystall- I use discord with friends. I'll check this out some night

Awesome,see you there then

Dude! Ice Sculptures?!?! That's the best intro ever!!!

You've been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-march-29th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

We have a new competition at the moment too. Here are the details:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-new-fresh-five-delegation-for-curation-initiative-help-find-great-new-steemians-and-be-rewarded-with-sp

Welcome to Steem!

I can't believe someone's made a post including me O_O, way to make a guy feel welcome! =D

I enjoy competitions- I'll try and check out your.. channel? blog? feed? (I don't even know the official terms for this sort of thing) maybe Sunday night after Easter stuff with the girlfriend's family. I'll have alot more time for this platform in just a couple weeks when tax season is over.
I look forward to the random competitions on steemit; browsing the other night I saw a karaoke competition.. I love to sing, but don't have a good microphone for my comp, but maybe this summer I'll try and get in on one of those 8)

Thanks for the comment!

Dude! This is a freakin' epic intro post! Totally freakin' smashed it!
I'm in Oregon and so I'm loving the forests here, but I've heard Maine is the other big state for natural beauty. Hope we see more photos from you, you're a really good photographer. Maybe check out @photofeed?

If you ever have any questions about Steem or the various platforms, please do feel free to ask, I know it can be confusing sometimes, so I'm totally happy to help!

Have fun!

Hey man, thanks for the tip I'll definitely check out photofeed when I have time! I love taking pics. Right now most of those pics you saw were taken on my google pixel.. I'm going to get some lens attachments because I read that wide-angle shots are MUCH better, and I could use a better zoom than what the phone has to offer.
I've followed you and will keep you in mind for any questions I may have. Thanks for the comment and welcoming me to the community.

I love the sculpture =) Nice job...

I'm a mountain-lover, too... But I've never been on a mountain in the US... maybe sometimes

Cool snow sculpture, welcome here!!!

Hey Mike, welcome. Great intro, maybe I'll get around to one someday...

And that relic? Looks like part of a ski lift mechanism, most likely a rope tow. Instead of sitting in a chair to get to the top, you hold on to a rope and the rope will take you there...

I sometimes find things on hikes I can't explain.. so I take pictures of them. I never thought I'd actually get an answer, but what you're saying seemse absolutely right! It makes sense now. That relic I pictured was in the woods... but the other one was atop a mountain. I'm at my accounting job right now (shh), but I'll try and post a picture of the other one later tonight or tomorrow... The other one looked a bit different, but what you're saying makes sense.
There was no line of sight because of overgrown trees, but I am sure the mountain I hiked on was an active skiing mountain decades before!!

Great comment, thank you!!

Welcome abroad man! You’ll love this, great platform!

Congratulations @iceflame12! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Love your pics o Maine. I’m fairly new, but have been quiet. Nice to meet you.

Congratulations @iceflame12! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @iceflame12! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @iceflame12! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!