A legacy

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

image

Hello Steamians!!!! New to the Steemit Community and wanted to introduce myself. I am your average couponing and social worker mom. I've got two kiddos (one in college and the youngest in high school).

I am not a day trader and believe wholeheartedly that blockchain technology and those platforms that are stemming from it are the future. For me, Steemit is a tangible app that I can show any interested parties the ideas around blockchain technologies are much bigger than Bitcoin and they can have a purpose much like FB, Insta, Pinterest, VSCO, etc... but also generating currency for doing those things that I and my cohorts do daily. Reading articles, liking things, reposting, etc..

How did I find myself on Steemit?

Five yrs ago I was traveling and tried to use my debit card on a Saturday and my transaction was declined. Of course there was no one at my bank to call... It was obviously very embarrassing but confusing and frustrating bc I knew there was money in my acct. Upon calling the bank first thing Monday, I was told the city I visited was considered "high risk" and because my card hadn't been used there before they blocked all transactions upon close of business that Friday. WTH???? REALLY???

Long story short.... it was for my safety, there wasn't a "high risk" list they could send me, they were so sorry I was inconvenienced, and they didn't have an alert mechanism in place. No text, no email, nothing and it could very possibly happen again and if it did I would just be shit outta luck again. REALLY????? Also, anytime I need to withdraw more than the allowable amount from the ATM I have to physically go to the bank and write a check for Cash. These things really made me realize that the banking system has entirely TOO MUCH CONTROL over MY MONEY and I absolutely didn't like it! 😠

Most importantly, I want to take this chance to be on the front end of a revolutionary technology and hopefully build a legacy with my children. Building this legacy with my son in March when I will give him several alt coins for his birthday: LTC, NEO, XRP, and XLM, and of course SBD. Can't wait for him to ask questions and I have several videos lined up to send to him with the best video posted by a fellow Steamian. Of course he'll have to download the app to view it. 😉

In the short term, maybe I'll eventually earn enough SBD to buy a Steemit shirt which I'll wear proudly!

In the meantime, I am but a minnow in this ocean so if I revote, reblog, or comment then I can't really help you earn anything but know that I am sincerely showing my appreciation for your post.

image

Sort:  

Hello welcome to steem 👍🏻

Nice to welcome you here @isukanda001, wish you all the best and good luck! =)


Welcome to Steemit @isukanda001!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Looks like you love Crpto too! Lots of detailed analysis on my blog along with some predictions

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Let me know if I can help.
Many blessings! @bycoleman

Welcome to Steemit. I hope it is good for you. Invite some friends and build the community

Hey there, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and mothers are great. I play some guitar and piano. And yea, Steemit has maybe more potential than Bitcoin since Steemit is a blockchain version of Facebook.

I view Steemit as more than just a currency. It is an app I can show people that incorporates already familiar platforms like FB, Insta, VSCO, etc... which allows me to explain blockchain. BTC is digital and intangible and scary. Steemit isn't. Lol