Jackothy and the adventures in analyzing the socio-political implications of blockchain technology...and sobriety

My name is Jack and this is my first ever blog post. Yay for me.

The reason that I've chosen to get involved with Steemit is based on some of my current research and political philosophies. Basically, I'm a grad student at a Canadian University where I study the political economy and sociology of blockchain technology. I'm basically looking to synthesize the more modern technological developments in the blockchain world with the most important political and theoretical traditions that place an emphasis on decentralization. Therefore, I will mainly be looking at anarchism and its offshoots.

While I will certainly be developing the concepts over a series of blog posts, I think it's important to note here that anarchism is an often misunderstood concept that has been appropriated and defined by other traditions in a terribly misleading manner. In this, I'm mostly referring here to the oxymoron that is 'anarcho-capitalism' and its association with American libertarianism. I will definitely have to develop this argument further in following pieces, but suffice it to say at this point that the 'anarchism' of anarcho-capitalism is a terrible misnomer that is detrimental to the true progression of society while basically serving as the opposite of what anarchism actually is - in my humble opinion. I would also further argue that the more modern rhetoric regarding 'leftists and SJW's' is a ridiculous and naive characterization that ignores and degrades the incredibly rich and valuable tradition that is anarchism and its offshoots - again, in my humble opinion. The reader should therefore know that the concepts that I will be using and developing are more in line with collectivist anarchism, common ownership of the 'means of production', and participatory democracy through non-hierarchical governing structures - but please stay tuned as I will be developing all of this over time.

In addition to the this more academic sort of pursuit, I'm also hoping to use Steemit as a medium for my many other interests, including art, music, writing, humour, and who knows what else. As of January 1, 2018, I have been completely sober after some 13 years of alcohol and drug abuse. I basically drank and sniffed away my twenties (though I somehow managed to get a university degree). In that time, I feel like I also drank away many passions and goals that I used to deeply care about. Over the past 5 years especially I was spiraling down into a dark and dangerous place that I likely wouldn't have made it back from. However, by some sort of magic I was able to realize it and even though it's cliche, I took the new year as the time to plant my god damn feet and start the process of recovery. It's been about a month now and I can plainly see that it's going to be a long climb out of the hole I've dug. Nevertheless, for the first time in a long time I'm excited for the days to come and I know that I'll get back onto level ground someday soon where I can help to create the world I want to see (cliche and sappy, I know). I'm hoping that Steemit is a place where I can sort of start the process and rekindle some of the passions that I had prior to the drinking years.

If I haven't bored you then I hope that you stick around and engage. I know that especially in the digital worlds there are many enamored with a romanticized vision of anarcho-capitalism, so here's hoping that this space can serve as a medium for lively and interesting exchange. I also know that there are many, many people who struggle with addiction, so here's hoping that that this continues to be a space that fosters creativity, recovery, and growth.

Looking forward to what's to come,

Jack

Sort:  

Hi @jackothy welcome to steemit, glad you were able to find this awesome community. =)
How did you overcome the alcohol and drug addiction? I know it might not be easy but good thing you renew yourself. =)

Hey @purepinay, thanks for your thoughts. I'm incredibly excited to be here.

I wouldn't say that I've overcome them at all, it's a bit cliche but I'm really just taking it one day at a time. Try not to feel to bad when it's low and and try not to get too comfortable when it's going well. The most helpful part is to know that giving up now would make all the terrible feelings over the last month absolutely useless and for nothing - so that keeps things in line a bit.

I'm going to share a bit more about the recovery process in some following posts, so if you're interested I hope you come back around. Again, I appreciate your kind thoughts.

Hi @jackothy ! Great post, i like it, i just upvoted it ! PS: you may like to follow me ... @legsnheels

Welcome..... to the new world. Cheers.

It's great to be here.