Lo! I'm Jack, and I'll be sharing original technology art, and thoughts on our digital world.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

When I'm unsure of what to write on the internet, I always start with "Lo!". It's both a friendly, old-worldy greeting, and the very first word ever transmitted over a network.

I often think back to 1969 - almost twenty years before I was born - and consider if those researchers had any idea that their attempt to transmit words over telephone lines would, years later, transform not only the way people communicate, but the way they experience life.

(In my future fantasies, I sometimes consider if an all-knowing, artificial intelligence will sentimentally consider "lo" its first word, much like how most of us started with "ma". Obviously that's when it's not busy either saving or destroying the world.)

You may have already noticed that I spend a lot of time thinking about technology and its impact. It's what I make my art about (and with), and it's what I'm studying as a PhD student at the Media and Arts Technology lab, Queen Mary, University of London.

In fact, here's a picture of me with a tea-making robot I made:

teasmate-jack-ratcliffe.jpg

I'm hoping to find other people interested in art, technology, and art & technology to talk with, so please get in touch!

Part of my research is also on new ways of communicating online, so my posts here will also serve an in-depth look at the Steem platform itself and how it can bring about change in user behaviour.

IMG_20170723_175332.jpg

That's not all I'll be writing about, though! I'm a total sucker for travel, food and cute animals, so I'll be flooding my page with those too.

After all, who doesn't love far too many pictures of turtles?!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @jacktionman I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good days and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :)

WELCOME TO STEEMIT :) Glad to see more people like you - here join the steemit! Being a steamboat is a great adventure! Here you can win money while blogging! At first it will not be easy, but it is not impossible. So just write it from your heart and everything will be fine. ! Applause! Wish you much luck! Greetings, @romialfian

A new Steemian :-) hello @jacktionman I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

welcome my friend jack if you have any question ask me ?
and come to my blog @farhannaqvi7 where i give you happiness in just few second

Lo! How did you get your robot to make tea ?

It was remoted-controlled by an retro joystick. So people would come along and try to control the robot's arms to make tea. It was realllly difficult! Also while I was testing, I accidentally got it to pour boiling water on itself. That was nerve-wracking!

Yikes! but Im sure that was a lot of fun !

Congratulations to join, I hope we can continue to communicate and share information through the community, I hope I can follow you and you will also do the same.

I have the latest information from my post, which maybe you can take a moment to see it

Https://steemit.com/indonesia/@ponpase/satu-terobosan-terbaru-steemit-untuk-kemanusiaan-steemit-for-humanity

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good day and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :) and upvote all my post and i do the same.
upvote and comment on my new post.
https://steemit.com/life/@xamir5/funny-meme-4-must-watch

Keep it up! I can see you're new here so I wanted to personally welcome you. One upvote from me and we're all waiting to hear more from you!
I know how hard it is to get big upvotes on a new account so maybe you want to try @MinnowPowerUp where you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just directly powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.

Welcome @Jacktionman to Steemit !! . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me .

Hi khunpoom, I couldn't help but notice you post the same kind of message almost instantly on all kinds of new posts. I was wondering if I could talk to you about what technology you use, what your motivations are for doing this and how you think people feel about you posting automated comments on people's feeds.

Please let me know how I can contact you!