Music Video - Misery - Jess Abran and Geoff Bukk

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

A dark and weird music video I conceptualized, directed and edited a few years back. I wanted to explore beauty and darkness in the same tableau; connecting visceral imagery with sensuality.

We were dealing with a "tiny little" budget, but we did not let that stop our creativity.

I hope you Steemians have as much fun watching it as we had fun making it!

Jess Abran:
https://jessabran.com/

Geoff Bukk:
https://www.beatport.com/artist/geoff-bukk/172497

13147627_10154316057291178_8045544500301822924_o.jpg

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @jaclavet!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hello welcome to steemit ☺️ it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

Thank you! I wish you the same. :)

hello Man lets support and follow each other

Totally! Are you into music videos too? I love this art form.

Hey @jaclavet. Nicely done! I like the palette, the shots, some of the cutting is especially sweet! Where did you shoot it? Don't tell me it's your house; you need to move somewhere happier hehehe.

Hey @oneminja ! Thanks for the comment! I shot it in an old 19th century jail in Sherbrooke, Canada. It was a rush, but a lot of fun. And no worries, I live in a way brighter place ehehe.
Btw, I love the art of the chinese horoscope you posted a few days ago. It's pretty neat!

Ah very cool! And thanks :)

Dark and weird, that's my hat! Very cool, I really like the vibe and lighting in particular. And you definitely managed to keep the production value high for having a "tiny little" budget, lol!

welcome to the platform, I'm sure you'll find it a really great place! I hope you get involved in the many discord communities too. So far there isn't one specific to film, but that's not say that one can't be started...

Thanks! Yeah, I love to be able to keep budgets low. Beauty does not necessarily cost an arm.

If you are thinking about starting a community specific to film, let's unite!

haha I'm the same way - the most I've spent out of pocket for any of my videos was about CAN$1000. Thankfully I have been able to barter for a lot of stuff!

...and yeah, let's totally think about how we could do that!

You definitely have to put a few skill points in barter to succeed in this artistic world :p

But we have good tax returns for film production here, and our money is worth less, so many American production shoot in Montreal. Often it is mainly the big blockbusters like X-Men, or Blade Runner. And if you are into VFX, Montreal is a city to visit, we have so many post-production houses here, like the paradise of post-production it seems.

And yes, let's find other Steemians like us, and start a cool film community. Good things can come out of it. Maybe the first Steem film race? :)

yes Canada is known for its tax credits! I lived in Toronto for 4 years (for uni) and Vancouver for 6 years - the credits are great for hollywood, but unfortunately not so great for independent creators trying to get started. I'm amazed I was able to make as much as I did up there, lol!

A contest might be a good place to start... if you want to team up and come up with some fun topics to get something started, then I'm definitely down!

I'll think about it that's for sure. Where is usually the best place to talk about it? The comment section seems pretty limited to elaborate this kind of thing.

Definitely discord! :D