[Story] Understanding Steemit - My Steemit Journey So Far.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello guys! How are you doing today? Hope that you guys are staying healthy and awesome
When I looked at my Blog page today, I noticed that I haven't posted anything here in a while that would be of interest and use to the community, so I thought of sharing something here with you guys. I couldn't come up with anything at first and a bit later, I asked myself that, what kind of content would benefit the new Steemians around here like me.
Well, I know that I was confused when I joined here at Steemit since I didn't know what to do. So I thought that I would make a post about my first week here on Steemit along with some of my thoughts on the platform and community.

xc

I came across Steemit while going through the cryptocurrency STEEM on coinmarketcap.com. I loved the concept of a social network on a blockchain, and also getting incentives for my work which would otherwise go to some corporation seemed very interesting, so I decided to sign up for Steemit. Only after setting up my account, I came to know that I had to wait for a period of time to get approved to post on Steemit. This really put me off! In fact, I believe that most of the new people get put off by this - Steemit has to improve their account approval process. I had to wait for about 4 days to get my account approved! I have heard that Steemit took more than 2 weeks to approve someone's account. Steemit has to improve this as I mentioned earlier.

Imgur

Now that I had been approved by Steemit, I couldn't wait to post something but couldn't figure out what to post.I did some research about Steemit on sites like Reddit and Quora and came to an understanding that I have to post an introduction about myself first and it is the proper way to start off here at Steemit. So guys, If you are on Steemit for the fun of it rather than rewards, you should definitely create an introduction post at #introduceyourself and if you already did, great work! You could check out my introduction by clicking this link: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@jaedea/introducing-myself-ajay-from-the-gods-own-country-5-days-of-patience-and-waiting.


steem

There are two kinds of people here at Steemit. Majority of them are here because of the reward system, and a very few are here to actually enjoy it. Most of the new users come here and post a lot of garbage, and they receive no upvotes hence no rewards! These guys see the posts in the trending section with posts worth thousands of dollars and complain that they received nothing even after posting a lot of stuff. Such people blame Steemit and question the genuity of the platform and comment that it is a scam. Steemit loses a bunch of such users every day, which in my opinion is a good thing because we really don't need people like that here. What do you think?.

Steemit is actually great despite what others say. It has got a nice future ahead. I read a lot about Steemit on different sites during my first week here, I could gather a lot of knowledge about the platform because of it. I came to know that Steemit has more than 500 thousand members ( data from Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steemit ) and the number of users is growing exponentially day by day. I do believe that I am lucky to be among the earliest members of the Steemit community, who knows!, maybe someday Steemit might become a real threat to Facebook. We have to remember that WhatsApp became a real threat to Facebook once and they overcame it by buying it off. If Steemit has the potential to overthrow Facebook because it cannot be silenced by anyone by buying it off, since doesn't have a central controlling person, putting it simply - Decentralization.

d

What Steemit really is a digital community with no one to control you and screen your work. All of us people are equal here, the only difference is the level of involvement someone puts into it. The people we call Whales around here are individuals who had invested in the currency or those who have been interacting with the community since day 1. What I have to advise you is that to never check out the rewards that veteran Steemians has obtained through their post, which usually fills up the trending section and judge yourself. I am pretty sure that if you interact with the community more, you could build up a status here and eventually get some returns. We have to do just as the Steemit motto says to come here for the rewards and stay for the community since getting into a commitment with Steemit is the only real way that someone could evolve here.

While during my first week, I saw someone's introduction post which was worth about a 100$, while mine was only worth $ 0.01. I didn't get put off by this because I was here to stay and grow along with the community, meet new people, improve my vocabulary, and to improve my writing skills. During my first week, I came across many amazing people. Some of the people that were open to having a conversation were @lartist-zen, @realhousewife, @gakgak and many more ( I'm really sorry that I couldn't list all of the guys I have in my circle here at Steemit because the article is already long enough to put you off ). What I am trying to say is that don't come here to earn money, rather try to spend some time with the amazing people here.

df

Steemit is currently most popular among the cryptocurrency enthusiasts, so it would be a plus point for you if you have knowledge about that to share with the community.Post quality content, not junk stuff to increase your post quantity. Enjoy Steemit, interact with the community with members from all over the world who are open to sharing their thoughts with you. Build a circle and be a part of something unique.

I know that I went offtopic many times and didn't cover many aspects of the platform like the currencies STEEM and SBD, how Steemit generates money etc., I will try to focus such topics into a single article and post it for you guys if you are interested. I know that the article is already long enough and you just want it to end, so I'm concluding my post here and I am also interested to interact with you guys so that I could increase the radius of my Steemit Circle. Thank you for taking your quality time to read my post. Ending the post here wishing all the best to all my fellow Steemians.

d

LET'S DETHRONE FACEBOOK, ITS HIGH TIME FOR US THAT WE HAVE A NEW KING - STEEMIT!


qara-xett.png

Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

img

Hi There! Check Out My Introduction Here

img

My Views About Steemit -The Decentralized Social Media Network!

img

How To Improve Your Post Appearance And Appeal!

Sort:  

I really enjoyed this article. My account took 6 days to approve which was disappointing to me as well. I like the idea of community. I don't know if I'm sold on Steemit like you are. Someone on my YouTube suggested trying it to make money (I'm not holding my breath) but I really enjoy writing so this might be a great platform to share on. I think Steemit is mostly going to attract people who want to make money (and lose people) but who knows, maybe we will make some friends on here!

First of all, thank you for finding time to go through my article, it really means a lot.
I'm not sold on Steemit, rather I would like to be on the positive side of it. I did my own research on Steemit which gave me pretty much enough reason to hold on to Steemit. It is not at all a bad thing if you are planning to make some revenue through Steemit, but my opinion would be to not completely see Steemit as a source of revenue rather try to build a circle here just as you would do on YouTube. Since you mentioned YouTube, I would like to introduce you to DTube, which is a decentralized version of YouTube ( It's awesome if you are already on Dtube). You could post your new videos on both YouTube and Dtube( d.tube) so as to build a following on both the platforms..
I have been interacting with a lot of people courtesy of Steemit which have been an exciting experience for me. I wish to meet many more awesome minds here and make friends across the globe through Steemit.
I would like to express my gratitude to you for the time you have put into reading my article and leaving a reply.
Thank You!

Thank you for your kind reply. I'm sorry, I didn't mean for the phrase "sold on Steemit" as a negative thing; I meant that you hold Steemit in high regard (have hopes and positive feelings towards it). Wishing you the best of luck and success! Thank you for suggesting Dtube. I will have to check it out!

Would recommend Dtube, is cool :-)

I agree with this generally, DTube does seem very cool, Youtube is losing it altogether with there new policies, its about time it had some competition :-)

Mine took 7 days to approve, I think if they want to compete with things like Facebook they really need to sort that aspect out, or people will not be patient enough to join :-/

I have to completely agree with you. Steemit really plays with the patience of new users by taking a very long time for the approval process. It would be nice if they could come up with a system to avoid spam and decrease the approval time.

Yeah for certain, obviously its great that they are trying to reduce spam and fake users but with so much competition out there the system needs to be pretty fast or people will go elsewhere, it needs to be the best it can be if it is to compete with the likes of Facebook :-)

I have high hopes for Steemit and I really believe that it can be a more than worthy competitor to Facebook. Hell!, maybe someday it might even overthrow Facebook from its crown. But Steemit has to improve a lot in terms of its service to reach that point where it can be a true competitor to Facebook.

Thats true but from little seeds great oaks can grow my friend :-D

Wow, this post has been really helpfull for me, thanks for commenting on my first post so I get to see yours. I hope we can interact more, take care!

@shammyteran Sorry for the late reply !
Thank you for checking out my article, it really means a lot!
Hope to see more of you around here 🙂