Me, my country and the world around us. Introduction post from Janne.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

First of all, hello to each and everyone! I'm Janne from Finland. You've might of heard of Finland before, many times even, which considering the size and population of my county could be considered quite a feat! Let me show you what I mean before telling more of myself.

Not so small size wise, I might have to correct, but Finland has only population of 5,4 million people (2013)! For comparison New York alone has population of 8,4 million people. So we have a lot of room to go around, which comes in handy as we fins prefer to have huge personal spaces. For example see how finnish people prefer to wait for a bus:

I won't go into too much detail about that, but as a tip just offer some alcohol (read as plenty) and they'll eventually open up. Guaranteed.

More about me

Here I am, enjoying the warmth of sun we so rarely get to experience when living on Finland. The winter is long, cold and dark and summers short, rainy and rarely something you could call a summer now that I think about it. Adding insult to the injury we have millions of mosquitos trying to suck blood out of you every chance they get if you happen to live outside of any urban area once summer actually comes. They will drive you nuts as they are relentless and have this annoying sound that reminds me of drone swarm. So good luck to sleeping if one or two of these devils happen to be in your bedroom.

But actually about me now! I promise!

I'm somewhat disappointed in the world around us. When taking account the wealth gap I'd say we still live in times of slavery . How come the wealth have ended up in the hands of so few? The human civilization is said to have started 12 000 years ago and now all the wealth that has been created over that time is increasingly ending in the top. While there are people like Steve Jobs who made billions, there are people who are making his products, earning so little and working so much that they prefer to end their lives in such numbers that factories had no choice but to install nets to prevent workers from jumping from roofs to end their misery. Look up Foxconn for more.

I'm not saying this is the fault of Steve Jobs, not at all. Where is the fault though? As a race, do we look up to those who have money and power so much that we don't really care at what cost it has been made? Is this a circle that happens to feed the people at the top? The masses competing for food crumbs, kicking and hitting everyone who might end up taking away from them. Or as a species is this the most beneficial system for us? Greed is good, greed is what drives us. If we all would have enough to not worry about our daily needs like water, food and roof, what would the world look like?

Maybe this is what the world will come to as AI develops and we will have robots replacing most of the workforce. One of my fears however will be that the elite will see this as an opportunity to finally get rid of too much people as there will be no need for them. Robots will do their work and they will profit even more from it. You might wonder how this would come to be? Elite could deny the aid for those replaced by robots. No money and you're done. Simple as that. Police and armies would be replaced by robots and we can already see who they serve.

So future could look quite dark or it could be bright as a star. With these improvements in AI and other areas, humans as a race could enter a golden era like never before. 3D-printing, nanobots, space exploration and mining asteroids, cryptocurrencies enabling decentralized power structures in important areas of life, Virtual reality.. The list goes on and on.

As I see increased effort in the development of various cryptocurrency projects the light at the end of tunnel gets a bit more brighter by day. Hopefully we get to see the world we all have in our heart one day. Hopefully Steemit will act as an important step towards that future! Dan, good luck to you.

If I happen to be making posts, which I rarely do on social media, as I tend to lurk more, they'll probably be ramblings like this one of topics like technology, inequality and cryptocurrency. But I could surprise myself, we'll see.

If any of you made it till end, congratulations! Let me know and I'll reward you with one more follower. You've deserved it for sure!

Sort:  

Hello Janne, welcome to Steemit! :-)

Hello Janne and welcome :-)
Nice introduction. I've been in your beautiful country once, visited Helsinki and even made it to polar circle (Rovaniemi). Cold yet lovely :-)

Thanks! You're right about the beauty, the scenery can be quite something at times. Great place to visit if you really dig nature. But winter, oh boy, if you don't like cold then stay away!

Very well done intro post. Welcome to steemit @janne!

Thank you. I do hope this isn't my peak, haha. At times I was lost for words, my english really needs practice it seems.

Welcome to Steemit, Janne.

Great intro, welcome to Steemit! :))

Congratulations @janne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @janne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I think it is going to go the way of The Next Generation Start Trek series.

Like in the series lore humanity has a really rough go of things for a time _ thus why the crews first interactions with the Q where set in a time were we as a species where still quite brutal/angry/self obsorbed and stupid.... but eventually we move past this stage slowly and over time we come together to create a working society that no longer needs money/job security/food security as technology soon becomes our partner instead of a weapon or a means to power.

Dope strong and good steemian

Congratulations @janne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Terveisiä Lahdesta!

Et näköjään paljon kirjoittele, mutta taidanpa seurata varmuuden vuoksi kun kerran löysin suomalaisia. :)

Jos haluat, käväse vierailemassa blogissani. Postaan lähinnä valokuvia, mutta kirjoittelen niihin jotain stooreja myös.

I really appreciate your insights and how you really wish for a bright future ahead of us to come true. Thanks for being open, @janne, & for visiting my blog today. Keep up the good work!

Hei Janne! Näyt olevan suomalainen, mutta jos olet yhä aktiivinen, huikkaa ihmeessä kommenttia joko vastauksena tähän tai vaikka johonkin julkaisuuni :)

Lisään sinut varmuuden vuoksi seurattavien listalle, kun yritän kerätä kasaan kaikki suomalaiset käyttäjät Steemitissä. Jos tunnet muita, huikkaa ihmeessä heistä.

You are a good steemian

Thanks for great post. I like Finland, perhaps I will move there one day. There is something liberating about having plenty of personal space.

Hi Janne!
I entered this old post because I just started following you since you replied on my first post :) and I find you really interesting... Well, maybe the fact that your country is my dream land makes you more interesting for me (lol).
I love your country, not kidding, I think it is the best country to live in. Besides, my favorite bands come from there :)
Greetings!

They say it's equal to winning a lottery to be born here and I have to agree. It's a great place to live, winters just are a bit too long and dark but otherwise pretty much perfect.

What bands do you like from here? Nightwish?

Hello! I came because you supported my first publication. and I find this publication really interesting and is fascinating!!
I do not know much about this platform, but I hope to be in contact and support ourselves.
Greetings from Venezuela!