MEET JARVIE: Full-Time Photographer, Traveler, Author, Offroader ... And nice guy? (30 pic intro)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

INTRODUCTION

Celebrating 10+ years as a FULL TIME photographer
Finally getting around to an Introduction post on Steemit

THE WAVE
One of my most well known pictures

ME
Sometimes the hair is short

ME TOO
Sometimes the hair is long

This is me, always busy, always working on something new and now STEEMIT is one of them. It's been years since I've kept up a blog, I kind of miss it.

For verification I've linked My Instagram account to Steemit
You can also check out my website: http://www.jarviedigital.com for more of my work

RANDOM FACTS AND THINGS I'M PROUD OF

  • I speak 5 languages
  • I've published/authored 3 books (all of which have ended up in Costco)
  • I've lived in a Vintage Airstream 4 years
  • I've traveled to 40 countries and all 50 states (twice)
  • I run the Photography Decathlon
  • I had a photography technique named after me.
  • I don't own Photoshop (lightroom only)
  • I love blockchain stuff and I do crypto trading as my newest hobby/project.
  • I teach photography. (Not as much as I used to, like the year i had 10 interns)
  • I have taken well over 1.5 million pictures and presented clients with over 400k images.

Just so you know I picked out 185 pics for this intro but cut it back to 30...You're welcome... haha.

STEEMIT PLANS
Expect to see a lot of:

  • Thematic Posts
  • Recent Photoshoots
  • PhotoTips and training
  • Reviews of locations
  • Maybe some crypto/blockchain stuff
  • Random musings
  • Collaborations with friends
  • Maybe even some mini-contests

TRAVEL PHOTOGRAPHER


This is what got me started in Photography. I studied languages and ended up combining my love of travel with my creative side. Weddings still pay the bills but I get to travel a lot.

Sawtooth Mountains
I LOVE THE MOUNTAINS

Hawaii
My passion for photography started because of travel

Optional Text
I do a lot of destination weddings and explore before and after. Wales, UK

Bolivia
I lived in Bolivia for 2 years and also went back again to do pictures a few years ago

Utah Fall
I am most at home in the Mountains and I LOVE fall

UTAH
Love the challenge of putting my own unique look on well known places

WEDDING PHOTOGRAPHER


This is how I have paid the majority of my bills for 10+ years. I still love it though I don't do as many as I used to. I end up doing lots of weddings for photographers and other friends these days. (I do love them still)

Heidi
Love doing weddings for other photographers

Youtuber Wedding
I'm known for vibrant colors and personality

PARIS WEDDING
Destination Weddings have been wonderful

MOUNTAINS
I combine my love of nature with my career as a Wedding Photographer

ARCHITECTURE PHOTOGRAPHER


I went non-stop for over a year photographing 4000 religious buildings... more about that later.

Faith In America
I photographed over 4000 religious buildings in all 50 states for a book I'm working on

Optional Text
Sometimes you get lucky

Temple Book
My newest book

PORTRAIT/YOUTUBE PHOTOGRAPHER


I do a lot of portraits for friends and happens that a lot of friends are well known Youtubers as well.

Lindsey Stirling
Some friends have gone on to have amazing careers

Shay Carl
Video shoot with Devin Graham and Shay Carl

Devin Graham
long time friend Devin Graham aka "Devin Supertramp"

Optional Text
I have some beautiful friends. Tiffany Alvord

Piano Guys
Lots of talent. Piano Guys

OFFROADING PHOTOGRAPHER


My car died 2 years ago and I got a truck and then I turned that opportunity into my first new hobby in 10 years... off-roading. But then I have integrated photography into that doing stuff for some off-road companies.

Optional Text
After towing an airstream to 48 states with a Venza I got a truck.

4x4
Taken it some pretty rough places... makes me happy

Optional Text
I go on lots of overlanding trips to get cool pictures and I work with several offroading companies to supply them with pictures

Family and Faith

Family

FAITH IS VERY MUCH A PART OF WHO I AM
CHRIST

FRIENDS


Go check out some of my close photographer fiends who are now on Steemit as well.

@derekkind
@brandongarrett
@jakegarn
@caseygrimley

CHRIST

Several more signing up soon

Sort:  

Welcome @jarvie Steemit is the right place for you to hang out and keep posting your best photos. Have fun and happy steeming!

Thanks i used to have a popular blog and i really miss this style of posting. I'll be sending my regular audience to view it but i hope the steemit audience enjoys it as well simce those are the curators of the site. Right?

yes. We'll wait for it. So now I'll follow you :)

Heeey, now THAT'S an introduction post! You have a lot to share and I look forward to seeing your plans unfold on this network. Steemit is perfect for you. And thank you for suggesting I come along for the ride - I'm having a great time so far! :D

Awesome glad to have a talented friend along for the ride.

Dude! Jarvie, I'm excited to follow you and your photography. Some of my most favorite photographs are from you. Thanks for inviting me to Steemit, I am excited to see where it leads!

B

Thanks it's been fun seeing you get into photography all the progress you've made in your photography over the years. What like 12years now or something??

What a gorgeous intro, well done my friend! Thanks for referring me to this platform, it looks like I could learn a lot from you!

Impressive stuff! Excited to see more of your stuff man! The stuff you've been posting recently has been killer!

Thanks you have for sure been one of the most welcoming people on Steemit during this early phase.

Happy to hear that! If you ever need any help or anything just let me know!

Wow. Amazing back catalogue of work. Great to see you on steemit. Look forward to seeing some more of your posts.

Yeehaw!! I been checking out all the awesome photographers on here like yourself.

hola! I like your post! Thanks for it! lets make stemit togheter to a better place with our content! I would like to read a bit more about you and maybe do you have some more pictures?
I also just wrote a introduceyourself. maybe you upvote me and follow me aswell as I do? https://busy.org/introduceyourself/@mykarma/first-post-or-should-i-talk-about-jail

One day, when I grow up, I want to be like Jarvie. 😊

Dude remember when we first met years ago... yeah your photography has grown exponentially

Ya, I stalked, er, I mean followed you on G+ for like a year. :D
Then I went to the "JarvieWalk" Festival of Colors, and saw the man in action. #swoon

Welcome. To say that you are gonna do well on here is an understatement. Quality photography is somewhat lacking on here so its absolutely brilliant to see you sign up.

Looking forward to seeing more of your work.

Well i sure hope you're right. We shall see... if nothing else it will be nice having a blog again.

I really liked your photographes @jarvie

Thank you

Welcome to steemit from @lopezdacruz. All the best in your steemit journey.

WOW! Your photos are amazing! Seems like I still have some way to go :D
And you actually had a photography technique named after you? I want to know that story! :D

We have an active group on Discord chat for all Steemit Travellers to chat about travelling and also we have some valuable tipps for you on how to get started on Steemit! We would be happy to have you on board! https://discord.gg/jWWu73H

K i have been meaning to install discord again.
And of course love to hear what strategies you guys have. Me and @derekkind will jump in if he has not already.

I have seen @derekkind's amazing photos around and have already followed him a couple of days ago, but I think he is not on our server yet. Great to have you two joining us!

And I'm on!!

This post has received gratitude of 0.88 % from @appreciator thanks to: @jarvie.

I believe I just found my doppelgänger!...except you take much better pictures and are more traveled, but I too am a Toyota guy so theres that!

We've probably wheeled the same areas and might even have some of the same weird off road friends in common. Looking forward to following along.

YEAH BUDDY!! What you driving right now? I'm loving the tacoma.
When is the next time you're in Utah?

I had a built 2012 Toyota FJ Cruiser that I drove to all lower 48 states and parts of Canada. Also attended off road events all over the country. Last January while on a winter road trip I my wife and I were passing through Oregon when we hit a a snow storm and rolled the FJ. Both of us walked away without injuries and I got a cool picture out of it!

IMG_3031.JPG

I still think this photo is awesome.

Now I have a 2005 Lexus GX470 (Toyota Prado 120) that I'll build into our next adventure vehicle. Not sure when I'll be out in Utah again because I was there a few months ago (ran Top of the World in Moab in another rig).

Well RIP FJ

I guess we're in the 48 club!

It's actually been a little while since I've been in Moab, probably not since spring.

Awesome photos, looking forward to more!

Your pics left me speechless! I'm glad to meet you on here and welcome on steemit! ❤️

well thank you kindly

Wow great news, I used to follow you on G+ before it all died . Great to see you here and Welcome to Steemit !

Oh my i remember those G+ days fondly... we built up quite the connected community. We've mostly all gone our own ways but I still have quite a few good friends from that experience.

Very true , it was a good community for photographers.

AMAZING pictures!! Welcome to Steemit. Can't wait to see and learn more!

Wow, you really got some awesome work. Looking forward to your upcomming posts

Likewise

I'm really glad such a good photographer is here :)

Now that's a stellar #introduceyourself post! Can't wait to receive my religious buildings book :)

Your post and your photos are amazing. İ read your post and thnking that you are happy man. Wish you success in here and i m sure that you will earn it.

So beautiful pics!

Sorry, I didn't check this out the other day after we had our brief chat. Amazing work!!! You represent the dream! (I also have to wonder whether my son would be interested in an internship. I've given him my "bug" and he has the time to pursue it that I don't have.)
Anyway, I love the cover for the book you're working on, I plan to keep an eye on you. Keep it up!
 

That book is out in stores now.

And thank you.

Dang man, quite the intro. Easiest follow decision ever, along with all your friends. Welcome to Steemit!

Oh hey that's awesome I've been following what you've been doing for a little bit now, lots of great Drone shots!

I miss my drone

Thanks man, what happened to your drone? Did it have a bad crash or fly away?