Living my own Alaskan adventure...

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hey there!

Crabbing on the Chesapeake a few summers back.

My name is Jessi and you would probably consider me crazy. The good kind of crazy. A positive kind of crazy, if there is such a thing. New definition.

Over the past year I have been living in Sacramento, as a recent Californian transplant originally from Baltimore, Maryland.

I was born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland and have been living in the area for approximately 22 years. I am a true genuine Maryland girl. Outgoing. Independent. Not afraid to speak my mind. Doing what I have to, no matter what, to be happy. I beat to my own drum. I strive to make it through life as successful as I can be. I love the Ravens, Orioles, blue crabs, crabbing and I put Old Bay on everything. I take my Maryland pride very seriously.

Fresh from the boat, Chesapeake Bay Bridge at sunrise.
Fresh blue crabs from the Chesapeake Bay! Can't wait to steam them and eat them!

I have had a career in the dental field over the past five years in Germany, Baltimore and now Sacramento. I was employed as a financial/ scheduling coordinator for a one doctor dental practice for the past year. About two weeks ago I quit my job. I had the same eager feeling of adventure and travel in my soul that started when I was feeling restless living back in Baltimore.

My mom is a special education teacher in the village of Saint Michael, Alaska (see blue dot on map above). Population 400.

I have not seen my mother in over three years. I decided that there was no better time than with recently quitting my job to visit her. I bought a one way ticket. I decided I would figure it out and live my own Alaskan adventure!

I walked out on to the frozen sound that surrounds the Island of Saint Michael. I found a home made Native sled. I had a seat on top of the sled and took in the beauty of the frozen last frontier. #introduceyourself #introduceyourseld
image

When I began to write my #introduceyourself post my mind opened Pandora's box of stories and travels that I would like to share with #steemit. It took me a while to hone in on exactly what I wanted to initially share. I wanted to give you an over all feel about who I am and what I have been doing recently. My life is at a current crossroads. I am honest, open and true. I am glad I have this as an outlet to share many of my stories and tales. This is the first of many asventures to come

Sort:  

Welcome and awesome photos!

Thanks so much! Many more to come!!

wao, @sephiroth, you power vote es $7,11. Beautiful, you are rich.

Great intro post, glad to meet you. I look forward to your upcoming posts, and am following you. My mom lives in Alaska right where you were. Great photos also!

Wow! That's awesome! Thanks for the follow. I have been here about two weeks and am leaving today. I will post a little later about the village and the people I met. It's a whole different world here. I will be in anchorage this evening!

Welcome to Steemit and to California! Great intro!

Wow! Thanks so much! I am really going out on a limb with trying this all. So far I have some really good feed back and will post more definitely!

Welcome to steemit :) If you have any question just click to Follow on my profile and ask :)

Thank you! Followed you back!

Wow..sexy n hot lady..
Welcome to steemit
I will upvote you
Follow me @alfiadi

Creep.

JP! Love you homie! Thanks for getting me into the world of steemit!!!

Thank you! I love to fish as well!

Welcome to steemit Jessie ! 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful time here as this is a community of awesome people 😊

I'm here to promote stuff related to technology, cloud computing, telecommunications, cryptocurrency reviews, analysis & photography.

Yesterday, I have posted a photo of a yummy cake with all the details 😊, please do check below 👇🏻 , followme, leave a feedback , upvote & resteem 🙂

Hitme Chocolate Cake trending in #foodphotography

Thank you 🙏🏻😊 Cheers 🍾🕺🏻 !

Definitely! I love cake and photography as well! I have a lot more beautiful photos of Alaska to come!!!

looking forward to see those pics 😊 cheers 🍾🕺🏻🙂

mucho frio

Si! -12 here!!!!

Hello and welcome to steemit!
You'll find a very diversified community around here. Don't hesitate to look around and follow blogs talking about things that interest you!

For my part (@m0glie) I love to talk about politics, economy, sociology and things like that. I hope you'll be interested in what I write and you'll pass around to discuss a bit :)

Have fun around!!

Definitely going to check out your posts! I am interested in learning more about sociology! Politics makes my head hurt but I love learning about law!

Looking forward to more posts of your Alaskan adventure!

Definitely will post more soon!

Welcome to Steemit!
I followed you if you would like to then follow me back😀

Of course definitely! Just getting a hang of this all!

Welcome to community! I hope you're going to enjoy it! Good luck and steem on!

I ann enjoying it s ton so far. Still trying to get the hang of things. Should be a pro in no time! Thank you so much for the kind words!!

Ohhh woow it is amazing to see that someone on steemit will do an Alaskan adventure, I ALLWAYS wanted to visit Alaska or live there!

I followed you! Follow me back and I will write more stories of my adventures in Alaska! And Of course many pictures! It's beautiful here!

Congratulations @jemjewl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome To Steemit

Thank you!

I really Enjoyed reading your post! Started following you:) wishing to share experiences with eachother... :)

Warm welcome to Steemit! This was a fun post to read. Travel stories are always interesting to me, and I've wanted to visit Alaska for years! (I'm in BC Canada... close, yet still so far away.) Steem on!

Alaska sounds like fun and knew a very cool girl from Alaska

wow your journey looks amazing can't wait to do something like this one day :) but im stuck in the DMV for now eating Maryland Crabs and stuff

Congratulations @jemjewl! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jemjewl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jemjewl! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jemjewl! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @jemjewl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!