Hello Steemit, I'm a visual artist and writer from Canada...

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

angel-over-the-city.jpg
I would like to introduce myself. I'm a visual artist, writer and educator living in Toronto, Canada. My daughter, @natashahall, has been telling me all about Steemit, and I am very excited to join the community of Steemians!
gladstone by iqbal 2.jpg
First, I'd like to tell you a little about myself. My life as an artist began when I was four or five years old, sitting at the kitchen table where I drew people living their day-to-day lives which seemed to me, then, infinitely more interesting than my own. At bedtime, I couldn't fall asleep (probably because it was only 8 p.m. and I have always been a night owl), so I made up long, detailed stories to lull me to sleep. I don't recall a time when I wasn't imagining or dreaming.
reclilning-yellow-for-web.jpg
I work mainly with oils, watercolors, collage and ink. You can see more of my artwork on my website: http://www.jenniferhosein.ca/. I plan to share my process and artwork with you here on Steemit.
mother-wedding-day-watercolour-2015-for-web.jpg
blue-and-black-back.jpg
nude-curled-raw.jpg
I also write short stories and poetry and have just completed and submitted my first poetry manuscript. I am currently working on a collection of short stories. I would like to share some of my poems and videos with you, too.
jennifer hosein at Hirut nov 2015.jpg
My great love is nature: trees, bodies of water, mountains, and more, so I'll be posting photographs of my experiences in the great outdoors. A few years ago I bought myself a Nikon 3200 DSLR to take photos of my art for my website, so you'll see photos taken with my Nikon and with my Iphone6. This summer I'm going to Manitoulin Island, the world's largest freshwater island, here in Ontario, Canada; I'll be taking a lot of photos, I'm sure. Here is a photograph I took this afternoon at Tommy Thomson Park in Toronto overlooking Lake Ontario, on my Iphone.
IMG_7916 (1).JPG
I'm also very serious about healthy living. I have chosen to be gluten-dairy-sugar-free and eat organic as often as I can. I do eat a little dairy if it's organic, especially butter! I drink lots of alkaline water and am a firm believer in sleep! When Natasha was in the city in June, we had lunch on the patio at Hibiscus Cafe in Kensington Market. Below is a photo taken by @natashahall of the 42-ingredient salad we shared (not shown is the delicious goat cheese, spinach and mushroom vegan buckwheat crepe that we devoured).
FullSizeRender.jpg
I am also an English as a Second Language teacher, which I love. It is as if I have travelled around the world and made friends from everywhere! The photo below is of me celebrating Halloween with my class a couple of years ago.
RCFC3592.jpg
I'm looking forward to making many new friends and learning about all sorts of things here on Steemit. See you again!

If you liked this, don't forget to vote, follow and comment!

All photos, unless otherwise indicated, are owned by me. All photos of artwork are taken by me on a Nikon 3200.

**For more art and writing, check out my website: http://www.jenniferhosein.ca/

Sort:  

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprise you on August 1 ;)

Thanks! Followed!

Welcome to Steemit, @jenniferhosein!!! I'm excited to read and hear about your process and artwork here. If you have any questions about Steemit, please don't hesitate to ask. I would be glad to answer them. :)

Most aesthetic work I have seen for ages <3

Hi @jenniferhosein,
Welcome!
Hope you will enjoy Steemit as much as most of us do, and will be an active participator of the community.
Any questions let me know, like to help new Steemians with tips..
greetings @gindor

Thank you @gindor! I'm very excited!

Welcome here @Jenniferhosein! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Thank you @mekong! I will follow you.

Hello Jenniferhosein!! Glad to see more people like you - here joining steemit! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure! Here you can win money while bloging! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Greetings, @khunpoom!

Thank you @khunpoom! I'm excited to be here!

Welcome to Steem @jenniferhosein I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit, @jenniferhosein!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

You can also go to https://steemit.chat and chat with the Steemit Community over there!

Sweet ! Welcome to Steemit! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Thanks! Followed.

Welcome mum! :) So excited you're on steemit!

Thanks for your help getting me going here!

Congratulations @jenniferhosein! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for sharing .

we can mutually benefit each other following up & upvoting each others blog.
my blogs are related to Yoga ,personal development & crypto currency .which you will definitely like .
have upvoted above post .waiting for you coming to my Small home of wellness .

I look forward to coming to your small home of wellness @mybrp!

Welcome to Steemit, what a lovely introduction! I'm curious about your future posts, so I'll be following you. Hope you have a great time here with us :-)

P.S.: That salad looks delicious!

Hi @playfulfoodie! It was delicious and I had an equally delicious one yesterday! I look forward to reading your posts!

Welcome to the community Jennifer! Your art looks good and I like that your interests are multifaceted! I'm a foodie too and I'll soon start making posts about it, tho I don't say no to dairy! (unless it's milk, can't handle the lactose!) If you're interested in philosophy, silly stick-figure comics by someone who can't draw, and possibly many other things in the future, you can check out my page @alexander.alexis .

Upvoted and Followed!

Thank you! I look forward to seeing your posts and I'll check out your page. I had to give up cheese😭 Due to migraines and am very sad. Followed!

Strange! Could it be the high salt content of most cheeses?

Do you drink coffee? Coffee is often to blame for headaches.

I quit coffee a long time ago. Migraines came with a car accident a couple of years ago. I heard that salt is good for headaches

Sorry to hear that Jennifer...

Salt increases blood-pressure, so that sounds false.

Thanks! Anyways, I consume very little salt😊

Wow nice introduction, welcome to the steemit. There are certain things you should know before you use this platform successfully. See the things that you should not do on steemit here https://steemit.com/steemit/@stefen/things-you-should-no-t-do-on-steemit-for-all-users

Thanks! I will not post irrelevant tags!

Congratulations @jenniferhosein! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great paintings. Love them. Thanks for sharing.

Great pictures, I’m following you now.

Welcome, and great work, I will be following you ;)

Selamat bergabung di steemit ...
Semoga jadi inspirasi kita semua disini ...
Ikuti saya @baristakhlis

Hi there ✌🏻 I'm Vikky and I'm a new steemer! I'm not flooding/spaming, I'm just sharing funny stories with pictures about my life, about my golden retriever puppy Mr. Oliver 🐶🐶🐶, and sometimes about cryptocurrencies)

Follow me back and vote for my posts if you're interested in them! Thanks a lot ❤️

Hi @vicky! Followed! My daughter, @natashahall, has many lovely Labs, so I get my puppy fix often.

Welcome! Hope you share some good content with us! This is a great way to meet people from all over the world. I am a Brazilian writer and videomaker, living in London. Here I post about photography, travel and stories. Have a look at my profile and if you like it, follow me. Cheers!

Your photos look amazing! I will likely visit Brazil soon as my best friend's mom lives there in an amazing home. I almost moved to London many years ago. It's a very intriguing city.

London is a great city! Hope you can make it... Nice to hear that you are interested to go to Brazil. Where about your mum's friend live? Thanks for your comment!

Congratulations @jenniferhosein! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Super! Thanks!

wow , very talented, welcome to steemit

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Welcome to the platform. I found you because of your daughter. I told her that I didn't believe her, I said "sister maybe" Have a great day!

Thank you and nice to meet you!

Welcome to the steemit family! Love your artwork and that 42-ingredient salad looks amazing!

Thank you! You have posted some very delicious and healthy recipes that I must try!

Thank you so much! The salad was amazing!

Hi @jenniferhosein. I too love to draw just like yourself. I hope to publish them on Steemit in the near future. I am new here so I was wondering if you could follow me.

Followed! Love your post!

Thank you @gaman! I will follow you, too.