FIRST POST! | "SON OF THE LEGEND" Being the son of Jam Master Jay.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

SON OF THE LEGEND

c95804e305838b59762bc3ca97164107.jpg

What's up Steemit? My name is Jason Mizell Jr. aka Jam Master J'son. I am the first born son of Run DMC DJ Jam Master Jay. I got my name because when people would introduce me they would say "Thats Jay's son." It's a play on my first name as well. I am a very out going person and I love to joke.


GROWING UP THE SON OF A LEGEND...

Growing my father was not the Legendary DJ from Run DMC, he was just dad to me. I did not completely understand how important he was to the rest of the world until later in life. If you know anything about hip hop then you know how I suddenly lost my father. I rather not talk about his death, I choose to celebrate his life.
f9906e6325fe3faebf93a59f82d390f2.jpg
My father was an amazing man and kept me away from all of the lime light and never pressured me into becoming a DJ. I decided to become a DJ after his passing in 2002. I was going to a club near my college and saw a mural with all the Hip Hop greats on the wall of the building. I waited in line, paid my cover and once in there the owner found out who I was and offered me my first gig. It's in my DNA! Since then I have been touring with Run DMC and my younger brother TJ Mizell as well as hosting events of my own.

I am aware that I have big shoes to fill but that won't stop me from making my my own path in the DJ world.

Screen Shot 2016-12-01 at 10.20.01 PM.png


EVERYTHING HAPPENS FOR A REASON

I have traveled all over the world DJing, but my travels led me to my second home of Morgantown WV.
I went to the Morgantown for a show at the college and I was introduced to @voyceatlas at his music venue called Tunez and Cue. After a week of some insane partying, hearing what he had to say and finding out what he has done in the past, I decided to make that my second home and join the @musicevolving team. The things we spoke about for the future were mind blowing and I can't wait to share it with you all.


WHAT I PLAY

I am sponsored by Numark and I use the NS7.
Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 1.44.15 PM.png
I play a wide range of music and of course Hip Hop is one, but I love EDM, Rock and R&B. I even have played a country set before. I am also a producer and have over 200 unreleased instrumentals that I'm waiting to drop on a deserving artists. I love to use live instruments in my music.


THE FUTURE

I have many things going on in my life at the moment but I'm taking it all one step at a time.

I am currently in talks to have a reality show with several other children of hip hop legends. My brother has a similar show right now called "Growing Up Hip Hop".

I have several artists that I am working with right now that I'm excited for because of the raw talent they have.

I don't squander opportunities so I decided to use my name and connections to start throwing events. We have done several smaller events already but the first big event is an event in honor of my father.

Every year people throw events for my Dad on the weekend he passed away. Most events are a money grab and don't keep the family in mind. So we are currently working on a birthday party in Miami Called "WE CELEBRATE LIFE". Friends, family and fans will be invited. We have a venue in Miami at the moment and I will announce the location as soon as the ink dries.

If you would like to be a sponsor, performer or come celebrate make sure you follow me. I will be announcing and giving access to tickets on this platform first.

MY CONTEST

djchallenge.png
I have been on steemit for about a month but just got a chance to make this post. I have seen many contest on here from people like @chiefmappster and @rondonson and I love the interactivity of this community. I am going host a #djchallenge over on @musicevolving. For the first week I will be posting 5-10 songs. Each submission you will have to make a 5-7 minute mix any way you want to spin it. Further details will be announced later today or tomorrow.


HOW TO CONTACT ME

jmsonbookme.jpg
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Snapchat

For booking contact:

@voyceatlas at 518-288-6923 (518-AT-VOYCE)
or email [email protected]
jmjson.gif




That's all for now... I look forward to sharing my experiences with you all on steemit. If you are a DJ don't forget to follow @musicevolving for updates on my DJ contest! If you leave a mix in the comments I will be sure to check them out.

JMJ FOR LIFE!
16229082_410949212573991_5028355763773374464_n.jpg


Sort:  

Welcome to join steemit platform @jmjson, you take a solid decision by joining here. hope you can surf free on this platform.
Working, working and continuing to share various content and information with all your steemians friends will then generate rewards. Hope it's fun and you can enjoy it. Let's share, because all the works you share on steemit are appreciated.
For that start from yourself and useful for others.

@acehtag got you a $0.82 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@acehtag got you a $0.82 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Wow, I cant' believe it I came across your post @jmjson. It is a honor for me to follow you and read your words. The vid of your dad spinning vinyl is incredible and I got goose bumps when the rest of the crew joined him on stage.

I cant buy you a beer so Ill do the next best thing. I will be following, resteeming upvoting and tipping.

tip! 1.0

Hi @jmjson! You have just received a 1.0 SBD tip from @sneakgeekz!

@tipU - send tips by writing tip! in the comment and get share in service profit :)
By upvoting this comment you support the service - thanks!

Happy your here on steemit sharing your life stories, @voyceatlas put me on to you joining steemit and I had been anticipating seeing some posts from you.

Resteeming this post

The homie @jmjson running a #djchallenge ? Love it! I have to put up my story about meeting you and @voyceatlas very soon!

The only thing I have ever won in a contest: RUN DMC tickets! I do not enter many contests though. That must be a mixed blessing having had such a legend as a dad. Really a real legend too, not like anyone else in the industry before or after.

Whaaaaat????? This is crazy! For real. We are blessed to have you here. This has got to be one of my favorite posts on Steemit so far. I can say for sure that just like Hip Hop, Steemit only gets better with time. These are the beginnings of something beautiful. Wow! I'm buzzing. Welcome

thanks! yeah i have been lurking in the shadows for a while just checking things out. I decided to make a post while I had the chance. My manager / friend @voyceatlas put me on to this. I have to say I am liking what I am seeing so far.

Welcome to Steem @jmjson I have upvoted and sent you a tip

This is a great post, I grew up listening to RUN DMC they are definately in the soundtrack of my life. Wish I could go to that celebration but Im on the west coast, you should think about bringing the show live on youtube or MTV so I can celebrate with yalll, just a suggestion 😊. You should cone to the 206 Seattle, we have hidden hiphop rappers and emcees, when so e one worthy comes we cone out!!! Thanks for the post, following upvoted and following. Good luck with the future nothing but success!!

Welcome!!! To This Amazing Platform @jmjson God Bless You & Wish You Much Success Here on Steemit
Share Gif:

Heyy, it's so cool to see you on Steemit :)
I enjoyed watching "Growing Up Hip-Hop" and thought TJ seems so down-to-earth....It seems you are the same way! Welcome to our #cryptofam !

Yeah we don't get caught up in the lights. I'm never too cool to be a clown 😂

Keep us posted about the event in Miami 🎉🎊 Lets celebrate life

So super duper cool to hve you here! Looking forward to what you have to share! Much love, @sweetpea

Definitely down with the King! It's dope to see more and more Hip Hop heads and artists getting on this platform to build and share. Looking fwd to checking the DJ Battle, been wanting to get more of my fellow Hip Hop famz on the platform for a while but you know how it is.. Bless up brother J!

your pops was one of the best to ever do it. glad to see you here!

Thanks man, I see that you are a DJ I'm going to drop the djchallenge rules soon... join and spread the word to other djs.

i am, in fact, a DJ, just not one that battles or scratches. i'm more of a 'long blend/kitchen sink style' kind of guy. but i will definitely spread the word :)

welcome to Steemit @jmjson I do hope that you will have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
Please Follow me @Fshllc so that I can be able to see and read your posts, I will comment and upvote the ones I like :)
Let's stay connected and support each other by following, commenting and upvoting each other's posts because together we are strong!

Hoooly smokes, having you here on Steemit is an honor, can't wait to see what you will add to the SteemHop movement. It's so inspiring and motivating aswell. Welcome and enjoy your time here!

hello Jmjson:) Nice to see more people like you - here joining steemit!! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure ! Here you can win money while bloging ! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. ! Cheers! Greetings, @khunpoom !

Its really cool! :)

Hi @jmjson, "Welcome to Steemit" Greetings know, hopefully with your presence give a new color in steemit, hopefully with expertise you have can add insight for readers who use steemit account wherever they are. And do not forget, If you are a person who likes to read short stories and a poet lover, you can browse and read on my account at @alanmirza. There I write it. Thank you, compact greeting always. Best regards steemers :)

Welcome to Steemit @jmjson, hope to see your work more on steemit! Will follow you and upvote and don't forget to follow me back!

Thanks for all the love everyone

You have an interesting background and story! Thanks for sharing.