Who are you? | Introduce Yourself

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

  “Who are you?” It’s maybe one of the hardest questions you can ask someone. What could I say? I’m a man, I’m venezuelan, I’m a psychologist student, I’m a teacher, I’m a migrant, I’m a dreamer, I’m a traveler, I’m a thinker… I am. But, those are only a few aspects of myself, it’s not an answer to that question. “who are you?” what are people really expecting when they ask that? A biography? A name? The easiest way I’ve found to answer it, is telling you my history. What I’ve done, where I come from, where I belong to; so you can answer yourself that question. 

 I was born in San Cristobal - Venezuela on February of 1995. My family was, statistically normal: dad, mom, two sisters and one brother. Both of my parents are psychologist. My childhood was very good, even though my parents got divorced when I was 6 years old, it was not a traumatic event, my relationship with both of them continues as good as possible. Once I was 17 years old, on the very last months of my highschool I got the possibility of being part of a Youth Exchange Program by Rotary International. Only a few weeks after I got graduated from highschool I went to live in Mexico for a whole year. I’m not going to talk very much of that year on this post because it deserves a whole post of its own, but I can surely tell you that it has been, the best year I’ve have so far. A year where I grew up in all aspects of life, where I understood that the world is so big, that staying forever in your city, in your country, it’s almost a sin, a year that changed my life –for good- forever. Sadly, everything has an end, and my exchange year was not the exception, however, all I learned, all I lived, all I grew will be forever within me.

My partner in crime (Majo) and I starting this adventure

My mother and I, reunited after one year <3

 I return to Venezuela after that year, with only 18 years old, but I have to say, a very good lived 18 years. Once I came again to my hometown, I knew it, I no longer belong there. There was this feeling that I was not home, even though it was the house where I grew up, surrounded by the people who raised me, I understood then, that my life was far away; anyway, the life project must go on, next step: University.   

My two biggest dreams as a teenager were: 1) Being an Exchange Student and 2) Study Medicine or Psychology in the Universidad Central de Venezuela (UCV). This University, is not only the biggest of my country, it has the most beautiful campus, and its history, it’s even older than the republic of Venezuela; but it also has a personal meaning, my dad studied Psychology there, him and my mom got their youth romance mostly in there, my godparents study, work and almost lived there. The UCV is not only an university, it’s a personal symbol –that’s why it was so hard leave-

Central Library, U.C.V.

 As you can imagine getting accepted by that university it’s no easy thing, plus its campus is located in Caracas, 800 km from my city, so I had to made my biggest effort to get accepted, and to convince my parents that they should support (pay) my career in that city. My effort was rewarded and I got accepted, as well my parents accept to support my studies there. I must admit that getting accepted was one of the happiest moments I’ve had in my life, it was another dream came true, and so it begun, the next chapter of my life. 

So, I went to live to Caracas by the age of 20 years old (the whole process of re-adaptation, studying, making the test, getting accepted and finally start the classes took 2 years), and a third city was added to my list, now I was “gocho” (San Cristobal’s gentilice), Mexican and Caraqueño. The next two years were the most intense, stressful and greats of my life. Very very different from my exchange, but great on its own way, studying psychology made me see the world with another eyes, thought me to be more reflexive, to listen, to talk, to read, to write, to understand, to don’t judge. I think, it complete my transformation, that little teenager who decided to start that adventure, doesn’t exist anymore, I can proudly say I became a much better version of myself

 However, as I said before, it all has an end. I had to drop the UCV, Caracas and Venezuela. It has been surely the most heartbreaking, hardest and best decision I’ve made in my whole life. As you know, Venezuela is the opposite of a paradise by the moment, the government, the society and the economy are on the greatest crisis of the contemporary history. I had to decide what I wanted the most: my life quality, my future, my health or my career, my family and my country. It took me about a year to make a decision, until April of 2017, when I understood, that I could only help my country, my people and myself by being alive and not risking myself as living in Caracas is. So I decided to came back to the country who received me as one of them, to the country which people made me feel in home, to the country where I learned how beautiful being alive is, Mexico. 

And this, my dear friend, is my third chapter, and it’s live on. By the time (May, 2018) I have almost a year living here, this year has been totally different to my last time in Mexico, even though I’m in the same city, with the same people. This time I’m not in a party – travel mood (well, not ONLY in that mood. Who doesn’t like to party and travel when the possibility is there?), I’m in a working – establishing - trying to study mood. 

Now, I can say I’m an adult. However, this is something I would like to talk in another post, this is already long enough. 

  So, Who I am? I’m a world citizen, I’m a fighter, I’m a dreamer, I’m a worker, I am… happy.  

Thank you very much for reading this, it’s my very first time making a post in this style, please leave your feedback in the comment box! Hope you can keep reading all the things I have planned to be posting here. ¡Chao!        

Sort:  

welcome to steemit

Hello jmrock! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here :)

Welcome to Steem, @jmrock!

Welcome to steemit

I am so happy that you are here, jmrock! I wish you a very rewarding expereince here in this loving and caring community :) Life is beautiful

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome to Steem, @jmrock!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2711 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.15 : Signatures.

:) Welcome! How about writing about sth that has nothing to do with you? Do you think you are capable of it? If yes, link me when ready so that I can read it as well. No me importa el idioma, sino el contenido. ¡Gracias! ∜mp

Buen Post, me alegra poder compartir contigo

hi @jmrock Welcome to Steemit Community. Looking forward for your next post. See you around. You can also join in STEEMSCHOOLS discord here https://discord.gg/8CRS4j4 They can help you grow in this steemit community. If you still don't have a discord account. Just register first through the link I gave you. I'm glad to help you. See you there!

@jmrock, A warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.

I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit.
images (22).jpeg

Welcome to Steemit. It's really a good platform for the nurturing authors and for the people who want to share their good work with the world. You'll surely have a nice time here. Lots of good wishes and good luck to you!! :):)

Wishing you the best of luck in this blogging world on behalf of @steemph.antipolo community. May you grow as a person as you learn to socialize online thru Steemit. We welcome you on your journey. Steem on! newborn warrior!!

You can get a support by joining our discord channel and gain votes from our curators. Join our discord now
https://discord.gg/7w3hJqw

We just upvoted you

Greeting @jmrock. Welcome to Steemit!!

Welcome to steemit! You will enjoy it! Continue doing good post.