Nice to meet you, Steemians!

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

Steemians,
My name is Josie Trueblood. I am a young, female songwriter who loves marketing, rhetoric, music theory, '60s fashion, art history and Persian cats.

I joined Steemit after @therhetorician described its purpose to me - a positive, information-oriented platform that emphasizes interaction amongst its users. Interaction is what I am lacking with my music. When I realized this, I became interested in show promotion and marketing; my town had very little performance opportunities for young musicians, especially not for young FEMALE musicians. Think "female artist night" shows once a year that are grossly unattended.... My experiences on both sides of the music industry - management & artist - have been positive in the outcomes but not in the process. My ethos goes out the window when my age and my gender are revealed.

On Steemit, I hope to be transparent about the knowledge I have gained from working in the industry as a woman. I believe this is a subject that isn't spoken about enough, partially because there aren't enough women in power roles to start the conversation.

Some background information...
I am 17 years old and am a proud ginger. I currently go to art school but I just applied to the University of Washington.
Most of the time, people find me at vintage or thrift stores searching for '60s mock neck sweaters.
Never Comfort Cover.jpg
Side note - I found this one at an estate sale for $4.

I am an intern at a wonderful tea shop where I plan art/music events to bring in more customers. Working there has also made me a tea snob, I can recommend a tea for any occasion!
I play the guitar, violin, viola, bass and sing. My three Persian cats keep me company while I practice - Beso and Satsuma are red Persian siblings and Bon Bon is a black Persian kitten.
44296650_189396648613715_6932140241220310619_n.jpg
41735814_594785324257955_123740143201428904_n.jpg50680183_225727338372713_1367177450924134467_n.jpg

Anyways, I am almost done recording an alternative rock album which should be out by March. I love using music theory to connect the lyrics to the progressions and incorporate dissonance when needed.
A few days ago, I released a demo on Soundcloud of my song "Three Brains" and a remixed version of an older song "Never Comfort".
You can listen to them here if you would like:
https://soundcloud.com/josie-trueblood

I love getting honest critique of my work, leave a comment if anything interests/disgusts you. I am also a self-titled "Critique Queen" and can give you feedback on anything you're stuck on.

Thank you,
Josie Trueblood

Sort:  

Hi Josie, welcome to steemit! It's uncommon to find such an intense introduceyourself..you surely have a lot to offer to this community. Your passion shines through your words and inspires me to brush off the dust from my guitar. Use Steemit and don't let yourself be used by it. In time if you frequent this platform you'll undertand what I mean 🙂 All the best and give a caress from me to your beautiful kittens.

Thank you! I am still quite new and do not know the norms of Steem. I am so glad you're playing! That is fantastic!

I played for 15 years classic guitar and wrote some music too..looks like far in the past heheh. Steemit has the tendency to steal a lot of your time. Stay focused on your real goals and priorities. If you want you can find me and some cool fellas in the @bananafish community. We're writers but we love music and everything creative.

Hi Josie.

Awwww... Beso and Satsuma look like sweeties. I love cats and am definitely a sit by the fire with a book and a quiet kitty type of guy.

I love sixties music, but am not personally into the fashion side of things. On steem I have been posting mainly creative writing up until recently when I started teaching myself video editing and reinvented myself as a vlogger, although I do still post some fiction and poetry occasionally, but save most it for submission to traditional publishing.

Anyway, nuff about me... Welcome to steem! I see you're a musician, and student of music. I read through all the great comments you got from other steemians and it occurred to me that no one had told you about the open mic contest hosted by @luzcypher. Check out the link below:

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-121-record-your-performance-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

It is the longest standing open mic style music comp on steem. There are very good prizes for winners from 1st-6th place and open mic is a good way to start to get well known on steem, especially for musicians. I hope this info is useful and I am following you now.

My final pieces of advice - I've been here 15 months and have had to learn the hard way, making many mistakes - is that networking is king on steem. Discord communities are the places that the majority of networking happens but also it is important to read/listen, and comment on other people's posts that interest you and follow them to keep up with what they're doing. Also, don't worry about chasing the whales (the users with high voting power) as they rarely answer comments or follow back, or vote on posts lol. The trick is to see this as fun, share your passions and it will all come together 🙂

Happy steeming.

I found your post because @brittandjosie featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation contest.

P.s. I have resteemed you and am going to do the rounds on discord to see if I can drum up some more attention for your excellent intro post :-)

P.p.s A good first discord community that you might want to join is the Steem Music Alliance founded by @seveaux, @chiefmappster, @macchiata. I have tagged them in to this comment as the invite on their announcement post is expired and maybe they can jump in on this comment thread to send you an invite. Check out their announcement post below to read what their community is all about:

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@smacommunity/introducing-steem-music-alliance-updates-and-announcements

Thank you so much for all the fantastic resources! I will definitely join in. I am definitely searching for a good music community here. I really appreciate the advice - I am still very new to Steemit but loving it so far!

No worries Josie 🙂

100% discord communities are the way to go... and grow on steem. In fact, I don't think it's possible to really get going properly without them as it's literally where all the networking happens.

I wish you all the best and success on here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Could you help explain what a discord community is? I keep hearing about them but am unsure what they do...Thanks!

Hey @josietrueblood
If you create a Discord account, you can join the communities you want to join.
A community on Discord is basically a chat channel for people with the same interest.
Since SteemIt doesn't have a back end, all the chatting is done in Discord.

I know you're into music, but I'm not really known with any music communities here on SteemIt. I do know there is a (Discord) community for classical music. You can join a Discord community by clicking an invitation link you often find at the bottom of the community members' posts.

Here's is - as an example - the Discord invitation link for the classical music community: https://discord.gg/ppVmmgt

Once you get one Discord, it will all become more clear.

Hi Josie.

So sorry it took me so long to get back to you. What @simplymike says is spot on. All you have to do is Google discord and create an account. You can access it in browser if you don't want to download it for desktop.

Then it's just a case of getting links to some good communities. They are a place to chat, network and share your posts for more chance of support. Both in upvotes and comments.

I hope this helps. Best community to start with is probably somewhere like:

Peace, Abudance, Liberty ( PAL ) https://discord.gg/2PvD6Zv

When you get in there go to the general chat room explain that you're new to discord, that this is the first community you've joined and someone should help you out. Also, if you tell them what you blog about etc they should be able to direct you to music specific communities.

I hope this helps 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android


Welcome to Steemit @josietrueblood!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome to steemit :) I hope you will have great fun :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I see that I'm late to the party...
Welcome to Steemit!

Hi hi Josie welcome to steem, nice to meet you in steem blockchain 💞

Welcome to steem, you are so talented and only 17!!? I will be keeping an eye on you !

I shall listen to your music now .

Posted using Partiko iOS

Welcome hope you enjoy! Loving you sounds great work looking forward to hearing more, I much prefer a raw sounding music to this commercial crap out there. You have a long future I think and keep it decentralised and you'll do fine 💯🐒

Thank you! I dislike a majority of music coming out right now - well, coming out of focus groups instead of an artist.
I really appreciate the support!

Good to hear! Keep to the decentralised platform and build on there. You'll do grand i'm sure! Also check out Musicoin app 😁 💯🐒

You should get on Dsound to Josie 💯🐒

welcome Josie to the steem community!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Josie, love your cats, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I love fashion. Yeah, the 60's were lovely for sure. Like that TV show called I Love Lucy for example. Here is an upvote.

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. Love the name Oatmeal Joey by the way!

Welcome @josietrueblood :) I will have a look out your music :) Music rules !!!!

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it!

Welcome to Steemit! You have taken the first step in achieving many goals here at the crossroads of cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and social media. Consistent engagement is needed to progress and grow your following and influence. I am currently working on a weekly post to curate new users and providing them an introduction to the ecosystem. I have selected your post as one I will feature in an upcoming post! I explain this initiative on one of my previous post.

There are a number of great content creators on the platform to help you on your journey. I have recently ran into a great post by @roleerob that is great to get off to a great start here on the ecosystem. As I continue to expand this initiative, I continue to find great content and guides for new users such as this post from @finnian who not only includes a great step-by-step process of registering for #Steemit but also provides great security and engagement tips as well to help you on your journey. Another great user creating content for new Steemians is @paulag who is creating community backed video series on learning to navigate STEEM.

As you decide how to engage on the platform, there are a number of decentralized applications or Dapps that can be used to interface with the blockchain directly other that Steemit.com. For example, additional web-based interfaces to consider are @busy.org and @steempeak which offer attractive features to interact with the various communities around the ecosystem. For your mobile needs, I have enjoyed the use the @partiko mobile app available for both Android and iOS. The are also offering delegation of Steem Power for downloading and using the app. The communities surrounding these interfaces are growing fast as they are providing great ways to engage on the blockchain.

The #STEEM ecosystem continues to grow with the addition and development of many Dapps that are providing great ways to engage in the ecosystem. A great place to view some of these Dapps is the web site from @stateofthedapps which have a ranking of the top Dapps on the blockchain. Some of these projects provide you the ability to interact and engage within the community and have the potential to provide rewards for your engagement. For example, @actifit is a fitness app that tracks your daily activity which you can post to the blockchain and earn rewards for your participation. Another interesting project is @steemmonsters which is a digital trading card game that enables you to collect and battle with the community all within the #STEEM ecosystem.

I wish you the best in your future endeavors!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Welcome hope you enjoy steem. Found this int he Pay It forward contest.

Hey @josuetrueblood

Welcome aboard the steem train, better late than never and it’s a great time to join!

Looks like you have plenty to share and I’m sure you’ll get along famously with other steemians

Wishing you all the best with your blog and look forward to seeing what you share with us

See you around the blockchain

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you very much @chekohler I am very excited to be here!

Welcome to steemit.
We look forward to reading your blogs and interacting with you during you steem journey. We wish you all the best and success. Again welcome

Thank you so much! Same here!

Hi Josie,

It's great pleasure to have you here. I don't know how to sing like you but I definitely do love music. I'll do well to listen to your songs on soundclap, and remember to keep me posted when you finally released that album by March.

Congratulations in advance on your admission to University of Washington, I know you'll get there and you'll make it big time.

You seem to have some Persian cats around you. I don't like cats at all, I think I have a phobia for them. Over a year ago, my uncle offered me one as a gift in commemoration of my school convocation but I rejected the offer. His name is Brown. I hope one day I'll get to like cats.

Welcome to Steemit, wishing you the best here

I definitely will, thank you so much! Cats are absolutely wonderful - very quiet and caring. I hope you like them someday as well.
Thank you for the well wishes, very excited to interact here!

Congratulations @josietrueblood!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 9 with 13 comments

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on the Steem blockchain, consider to vote for my witness!

Welcome to steemit @josietrueblood.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

I just followed all these pages - thank you so much for the help! I greatly appreciate it @tuanis !

Josie Trueblood the singer welcome to the great community of Steemit, YESS You are a new Steemian now! I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you. Maybe yo can do a video on dtube love to hear you sing.
Blogging, building and uplifting eachother is what steemit needs and what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money too.💴💸💰
I never blogged before I started but I just do. But always be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !!
For safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11. The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. Or read this blog
https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote
I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated!
Good luck with your journey and may you find what you are looking for.
Just remember that all good things come in good time and never giving up is they key to big succes on Steemit.
Please vote for a witness to. Also you could join the SteemTerminal Discord.
Or visit @heyhaveyamet #HHYA and My friend @xcountytravelers for more newbies exposure.
Let me know if this was helpfull or you need more help.
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Hello @brittandjosie !
Thank you so much for all the wonderful information - this is quite helpful!
I am excited to be here!

Hi YES its exciting and hard, in the beginning but i/we can help. Alot of Nice veterans here. @heyhaveyamet @xcountytravelers we can feature you in a blog again Yo get more exposure. And try to reach out to @melbrookermusic , Steem friend and the music GOD here on steemit,
Please tell me if you need more info. I am in Discord too. Have a great evening !

I just followed everyone! I really appreciate this! Thanks again @brittandjosie

Well thank you and again if you need help we Will be glad to be of service. Oh and if you want to upload sing or music video’s on dtube you could contact @nathanmars for the 777 family

Welcome to Steemit 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome josietrueblood!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome to Steem josietrueblood! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Congratulations @josietrueblood! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 42. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Welcome to Steemit! This is a great place to be.
I love your kitties too.

I found your post because @brittandjosie featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the great work!

Thanks Lori as always for dropping by my featured accounts


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Honest opinion on your music:
It is good in the sense that it is positive and real instruments! The only thing is I can tell ( from my opinion )your emotions aren’t really being poured out on the tracks , but that is no problem, you will grow as you go ! I’m a musician too but more of a “recording Artiste” autotunes is my best friend lol

I like , Never comfort

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for honest critique!
You've hit the nail on the head actually - this is something I struggle with. Recording artists are great!

Welcome to the Steem blockchain! Hope you manage to find your place and share a bit of yourself with us.

Awesome name BTW!

Welcome Josie. I'm sure you'll find a home on Steem! We're both in the artistic fields. You write songs. I write screenplays. This platform is in its infancy. Stay at it. Don't get discouraged and your future awaits!

Welcome to steemit! I found you through @raj808’s resteem. Your Persians look lovely ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi there, Josie! What a great introduction and what a lovely voice you have. Nice tune, good luck for the release of your album! :-)

PS: I've find your post because @brittandjosie featured you in her entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

I'd like to ask you to participate in my Art Curation Initiative #8

Thank you for the compliment! Brittandjosie are fantastic!

Head Nurse of #STEEMNURSE sent by @raj808 to give you some love <333

Welcome to the platform and @raj808 informed me about you! You've been through a lot already at only 17 so I'm sure you'll find good company here. The cats look beautiful and hope the recording of the new rock album goes well!

There are a few music communities around the place and I've put links to their community discords/chat room areas below for you:

@dsound - https://discord.gg/JhTKPFm

@smacommunity - https://discord.gg/R4Fhyvg

@silentzen - https://discord.gg/V5XZ9tF

@subwav - https://discord.gg/kqUuU6Q

@mixedmedia - https://discord.gg/tqDU3ka

@artzone - https://discord.gg/ttyEs4k