Greetings Steemit! Room for a crazy cat photographer?

Okay then. Been here about half an hour and I think I've already done things out of order. I got all excited and started posting some pictures, then realized that was rude and I'd be better off introducing myself first.

IMG_20170717_1732290.jpg

Anyway, I'm Jude (that's me proudly testing some eclipse viewing googles last year). Born and bred British, but having been living in the US for almost a quarter century now. I'm an HR professional for a supportive housing non-profit by day, and a photographer and cat herder by night. I do a variety of photography work, including portraits, products, and a few weddings. I live in a university town, so there are a lot of grip and grin events as well!

859851_10152004923502053_1366962311_o.jpg
Niagara Falls at sunrise

My personal passion for photography always seems to come back to the natural world - trying to capture how I feel, whether it's feeling tiny in the face of Niagara Falls, or zooming in to count the grids on a dragonfly's eyeball. Apparently I like extremes.

insects+01.jpg

In addition to photography, I tend to spend a few months at a time with another hobby going on. At the moment, I'm back on knitting and can probably say that I just - finally - conquered socks this year. So, clearly not a terribly exciting life, but at least I have one skill that might be useful after the apocalypse.

12.jpg

Finally, that's Leeloo. I may as well bring him up now, as he'll probably be posted quite a bit. He's the ultimate rescue (among my gang of 4 rescue cats). He was found in the wall of an abandoned house in Detroit, that was about to be filled with 100,000 flowers (true, but long, story). I took him in at about 3 weeks old, and I really don't know what I'm doing raising kittens, cuz he turned out to be the most insane cat I've ever met. Think the Joker (Heath Ledger, not Jared Leto) trapped in 12lbs of fur and claws. Anyway, he's cost me a lot in home repairs, from windows (three and counting) to toilet flush handles (true, but even longer story).

I think that's probably far too much for an introduction, but in for a penny in for a pound. Lovely to meet you!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit :) Check out @czechglobalhosts, he does awesome picture challenges where you can win big! Greets

Welcome to steemit. You are an excellent photographer. Your pictures are amazing.. you will love this community

Hello welcome to steem 👍🏻

Welcome to this awesome community @judewalton how are you?

Yes Jude ... Welcome to steemit. Love your intro post . x

Welcome to Steemit, Jude! Four cats, wow! I had two (one of them was rescued) and I nearly hanged myself with them. :D

And the waterfall pic is just astonishing!

hello dear, you are most welcome to this gorgeous community of great minds

Hey Jude, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I love the cat photo. I do some photography.

Welcome to Steemit! Enjoy the ride as much as you can!

Think the Joker (Heath Ledger, not Jared Leto) trapped in 12lbs of fur and claws. Anyway, he's cost me a lot in home repairs, from windows (three and counting) to toilet flush handles (true, but even longer story).

Hahahahaha! Welcome to steemit :)

Welcome to Steemit and good luck! Follow me and I'll follow you back ) @phil917

Beautiful Photos. I'm def following this crazy 🐈. Welcome and good luck. Look forward to seeing more photos.

Welcome to Steemit! I found a couple of your cat pics, and worked backwards! Lol! I’m also a relocated Brit, professional photographer, and cat lover! Been here since last June, and Im hooked. 😂😂😺😺There’s no point in Upvoting because you have already been paid for the post. But hopefully this tip! will show up in your wallet!