My Personal Introduction and More!

My name is Julio A. Gonzalez and for all intents and purposes, I’m a bit “outside the box.” I’m a Chiropractor (Profession) and Police Officer (Occupation). Go figure! Life is like that sometimes.

Bandaid.jpg blue line.png

I received my Doctorate in 2005 but it took me years later to finally finish my Boards and receive my license. Why? My first born was on her way shortly after graduation and working as a Chiropractor was out of the question for the foreseeable future without a license. With still three more Board exams pending, I had to secure other employment. That means even accepting jobs beneath me. I did a short stint selling newspaper subscriptions over the phone for The Miami Herald. That was bad. I also worked a year for Enterprise Rent-A-Car. That was not bad, it was awful. I don’t think I ever washed more cars than my time there. I felt more like a car washer than anything else. Anyhow, I saw that Miami Dade County was hiring for police officers and I submitted an application. Fast forward a year later and there I was. Accepted and attending the police academy. I’ve been a police officer for ten years now. During this time, I have been able to complete my Boards and obtain my license. And, oh yeah, my second daughter was born. Although I’m not actively practicing, I do keep my license active. I’d like to say this though, God works in mysterious ways. It was probably all for the best. Running your own business as a Chiropractor is no funny business and more times than not, there are more “failures” than successes. That is the simple truth of the matter. “Hey, why don’t you open your own office?” I get this question a lot and if it was just that simple. Opening an office is the easy part! Then what? Let me paint a better picture without digressing into too many details. When a newly hired eighteen year old with a GED can make more money as a police officer than a Chiropractor, something is eerily wrong. I won’t go any further with that.

Also, I’ve dabbled and still dabbling in crypto currencies and this alone has been life changing. I’ve been heavily rewarded for taking financial risk. Although I’d like to consider myself a prudent trader/investor, there is always some risk involved. With that said, I would urge anyone to take a closer look at crypto currencies because it’s still in its infancy. I believe a lot of future technologies will be dependent on blockchain, but that’s for another story.
The bulk of my posts will be about Chiropractic and health, however, I will also be posting about “anything related” to law enforcement and, of course, cryptocurrencies.

I hope I was not too lengthy for y’all!

Cheers!

BTW. I posted two articles related to Chiropractic before my intro. I'm still getting familiarized with steemit and was not aware that there was a tag just for introductions! I'm sharing the links to those links here for you all. Thanks.

https://steemit.com/chiropractic/@julioagon/what-s-that-noise-when-you-crack-your-fingers

https://steemit.com/vincentb/@julioagon/the-vertebral-subluxation-complex

Sort:  

A very interesting backstory, very nice article. I really enjoyed reading, keep up the good work!

Thank you.