My introduction - Right out of military service and fresh to the concept of blockchain

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hey,

I am a 20 year old man from Finland, fresh out of my military service (served for one year as a platoon leader), who just heard about the concept of blockchain. I know, it sounds like I have been living under a rock for the past year atleast (which I guess I did, since I was in the military). But here goes my story.

A few years ago I heard about bitcoin. Some mysterious currency that wasn't controlled by a country and the IMF, something that didn't have gold or natural resources to back it up. I found it interesting and tried mining some, but quickly realized that my dads old dell workstation didn't have the gpu-power needed to make some real cash, after all a bitcoin was just worth about 100 dollars. I figured it wasn't going to rise much further and it wasn't worth the trouble (great choice). I didn't know anything about the technology behind it, that being blockchain, and thought that it was nothing more than currency with a very high risk to go with it.

Fast forward a few years, to december 2017, when a bitcoin is worth over 20k and I curse the day I let that opportunity slide. Being interested in economics I begin to read up on bitcoin and after a friend explained more about blockchain, I realize like most of you guys do, that this is the future of the internet. I am completely sold and start researching a lot about different ways to get in on the action. Since I have considered blogging and similar opportunities for a while, finding this site was pure gold. Having been accepted to join the site this very day I am thrilled to see what this community has to offer, and what I can contribute.

Thank you for reading this and here is to the future of blockchain and steemit, cheers.

Kent

Sort:  

Hello @kennufromfinland and welcome to Steemit! I'm new here as well. :)

Welcome @kennufromfinland! A good introduction of yours. Hope, there will be better luck this time with cryptocurrency!

P.s. I'm also from Finland

Welcome to the blockchain @kennufromfinland, we hope to see creative contents from you.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Protip:
Resteems by Resteeming services are usually 0 value. Trying to lure you to another website, asking to send money or trying to get password.. they are always a bit dodgy.

@kennufromfinland also a good tip, you should almost always log in with the private posting key :) Losing your "master password" can mean all your Steem and SBD can be transferred away and the account hijacked.

Thank you, I will keep that in mind. l'm learning as I go so i appreciate every tip I can get.

A question: How long do I keep the delegated steem power I received at signup, and how long does it typically take to reach a decent amount?

And to add, I'm not pointing out a specific service is a scam or trying to trick you. There are many good honest services, but it's always recommended to think twice if you are asked for money and prefer your private posting key everywhere :)

The delegated SP may remain for months, but due to increase in new users it might be shorter than what I have been used to. But with consistent quality, making connections and all.. getting a decent amount might be after a few weeks or few months ;) Depends on what you see as a decent amount.

Luckily you won't lose the SP you have collected and I've managed to collect the over 1000 SP I have now during a longer period of time without taking any pressure in it. You can also always buy SP especially if you have other cryptocurrencies to spare.

@apsu, you've been on Steemit long enough to know that Steemconnect is made by Steemit inc. Why are you spreading rumors against an open-source community ran project?

Sure we don't give a high vote now, but the users are welcome to join the trail, strengthening the project.

@kennufromfinland Thank you for using our free service. Once you land on the steemconnect page, you're welcome to return to steemit.com or close the window.

I did not mention steemconnect but it is one of the few services I would give my posting key to.

You should know there are sites and services used to try to steal password from the users, so I think it is a service for newbies to point out the dangers.

Sorry if this seemed like ana attack directly at this service, but I still believe in what I say: most of resteeming services are not useful and many links to other sites can try to steal your password.