Life in Medical School:The journey so far....

Snapchat-1142847603.jpg
Towards the end of August 2012,cant remember the exact date I gained admission to the University for Development Studies Tamale Ghana to study MEDICINE. First it was a dream come true then it dawned on me I was leaving my parents to a country I had never visited.
Preparations started immediately, starting from payment of school fees, buying clothes and shoes that would be appropriate for a "medical student"to the booking of our tickets to the foreign land. Did I just write 'our'? Yes I did, my parents wasn't going to leave their first son in the hands of a foreigner . Lol. Well all these logistics took about 10 days and we were set. Trust me I wasn't, the fear of medical school embalmed me
On the 10th September 2012, We left Nigeria for Ghana and every single detail of what went on during the journey still flashes through my head as though it happened yesterday. I won't bore you with the details. We got to Ghana late at night and lodged in a hotel. Whilst on transit from the airport to the hotel, one word I noticed everywhere was the word "akwaaba" even to the room where we lodged. Out of curiosity I questioned the receptionist and she said it meant 'Welcome'. I was impressed by the culture, one good traits the Ghanaians have is upholding their culture.
The Next morning, we rushed to the airport for our 6:00am flight to tamale where my school was located. The flight lasted for one hour. Upon our arrival at the Tamale airport, suddenly my mood changed and I wasn't feeling alright anymore, reality sets in and the weather and everything in tamale didn't not seem to appease me.....
To be continued tomorrow, I'm not good at writing many words.
DQmYfKYGX2M8Qc8nNUi6TqUzHKoeLmafZ6PVBMjt7wjXe5R.gif

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @kolossus! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks . Will look into the link shortly

Welcome to Steemmit!

No pictures of your trip from nigeria to ghana? And you left us hanging! Well hopefully tomorrows post will have more pictures! I wanted to share some uncommon tips i wish i knew before joining steemit...
steemit.com.jpg

Hello welcome to Steemit! I have had a great experience so far and I hope you do too! There are a couple of things I wish I was made aware of when I first joined. Ill bring up some uncommon things I've at least noticed people don't mention too often.

  1. Steemworld.org/@ (your username)
    -a (nearly) complete interactive page that gives you a better overall experience and overview of what is really happening on your steem page.
    -steemstats is not that good
    -steemviz is a good pending payout site(does not include curation but has total pending payout including comment payouts)

  2. steemengine.net

    • steemengine.net the followers gained is unreal. I gained 100 just in the past two days. If you want you can use my referal link not required though...
      https://steemengine.net/join?r=633
  3. steemit school with @dobartim and @flysky https://discord.gg/q9VEn5n
    A very informative and supportive group of people for minnows. Its fairly new but it provides great basic support and tips there not to mention lots of contests and giveaways and love!

  4. if your going to buy upvotes for post promotion try and follow grumpy cat and his rules...
    -https://steemit.com/grumpycat/@mikel2la1/grumpy-cat-making-a-difference

These are some uncommon things I wish I was made aware of early on when I first joined! I wish you the best and much success here helping us all grow this amazing platform!

Thanks for your tips. Will look them out. Concerning the pictures!!!. I hope I still have some of them

welcome to steemit kolossus and enjoy stay here .

Welcome to Steemit, @kolossus! You tell a great story, I believe youll do great here!

Welcome to Steemit!
This is a great community of content creators. Steemit has a bit of a learning curve. So try to have patience to understand the platform, how to format your posts, and optimize your payouts.


Here are a few good resources for new users:


Let me know if you have any questions as a new user on Steemit, I am happy to help! You can follow me at @ngans. I post a lot about neuroscience, psychology, health, and philosophy.
Neuroscience Student Pursues Steemit over PhD?!

Thanks for your information.

Welcome to steemit dearie, your my newly found medic. Nice reading through this, nice to meet you.

Thanks ..hoping to connect to more medic folks like you.

You definitely would.

Marvelousooooooo....
You're welcome bro. It's a wonderful journey