Hello all, my first post on Steemit!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Selfie taken while on night shift...

Hello! I am KT and I am a doctor working in Scotland. I grew up in Hong Kong and moved to Singapore with my family when my father found better prospects in a new job back those many years ago. I qualified as a doctor in Scotland and I am interested in embarking on a career in Anaesthesia in the future.

Before studying Medicine here in Scotland, I went to University in Singapore and Beijing, where I studied Biomedical Science and Traditional Chinese Medicine. I was therefore part of the minority of graduate medical students in the UK where medical training is usually an undergraduate course offered to school leavers. Having had this experience, I am now particularly interested in primary medical education targeted at the graduate audience, much like the North American style of medical training. I am also highly supportive of diversifying access to medical training for people with non-conventional education and backgrounds, especially at a time when the medical workforce is worn thin and there is a dire need of doctors globally. I believe every person brings a unique set of talents and values to Medicine, whether they are a straight-As student or a high school drop-out with a brilliant mind and soul.

Outside of my professional life, I am passionate about food (a very typical Asian stereotype, which is unarguably accurate as far as I am concerned), travel and coffee.

My home coffee set-up

I am also fairly into cryptocurrencies, having a small subset of my savings put into a rather diverse portfolio of BTC and altcoins. I consider myself a rational, realistic investor and I invest for long term gains so I only buy into projects which I understand and can see the future potential of. So far, I am pretty happy with the performance of my portfolio and I am in no hurry to cash out any of my profits.

Here on Steemit, I intend to share my thoughts on medical and health-related news published on mainstream media, but I will not be in a position to provide any medical advice on this platform. Anything that I post will only be statements of fact or a reflection of my own personal opinion on the issues and topics covered and do not represent the general sentiment of the medical profession.

In all likelihood though, I'll probably be posting lots of pictures of food and coffee...

Sort:  

Hello KT ;)
As a medical student only meters away from the finish line of my studies, I sure hope you will post some medical stuff in the #health and #science section!
Resteemed (=Shared) you via @welcoming, an account made for resteeming promising new users like you!
Greets!

Hello @theaustrianguy, thanks for the comment and for sharing my post! It's great to see fellow medics on here. All the best to your studies!

Welcome

Welcome on board, wish you a great time here on Steemit! :-)

Hi KT! Welcome to Steem! We're glad to have you here!

I am a Steem curator and have started a new series "The Daily 5" where I pick five new Steemians to share with my followers that they should know about. I have selected you as one of my five for today. Your post has been featured in my post you can find here: The Daily 5.

Unlike some of the bots and follow 4 follow spammers you will find in the Introduction tag, my work is 100% human and without any required response from you. While I invite you to come check out the post and interact in the comments, nothing further is required but that you enjoy your time here on Steem!

Have a great day! Looking forward to seeing more of you on the platform!!

Hi @mikepm74, thanks for featuring me in your post. That really made my day!

Congratulations @ktchan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Big hug from Switzerland!
Steemitri The Mannequin

Hey doc.

Just went through you post and found it quite passionate and generous. World needs good practitioners for proper diagnostics and medication to avoid such undesired circumstances.. Will be looking for more posts from you doc.

Hello, thanks! That's very kind of you.

Welcome to Steemit and congratulations on all of your hard work. You are clearly a very determined and intelligent person. I admire that.

It's great to have you on Steemit and I look forward to your future posts.

Best of Luck!
Spencer Coffman,
SpencerCoffman.com

Thanks for your very kind words!

You're welcome

Welcome to Steemit! Nice to see a healthcare professional on here, look forward to your future posts! They sound interesting. What's for favorite coffee bean and drink?

Thanks for dropping by! My favourite bean changes from time to time, but Ethiopian heirloom beans never go wrong. I make espresso-based drinks most of the time and I like to drink them as flat whites.

I'm going to have to check that out because I usually buy from Costa Rica, Thanks!

Nice to have you here as a new steemian. Dr.s are people also nice to meet you. Love for you

Thanks! Nice to meet you too!

Awesome! So what is your favorite coffee? Glad you are on Steemit.

Hello! I have a few favourites depending on which brew method I use, but my go-to will be Ethiopian heirlooms which are great whether I use them in an espresso or V60.

Welcome! It’s nice to see good professionals like you be part of this community! I am hoping to read your posts! You have my follow!

Thanks! You have my follow too! Actually followed you yesterday after reading your introduction post. Hope to read more from you soon!

Looking forward to the food and coffee pics! (I'm Asian too...stereotype is so true, yes! :D ). Welcome!

Oh you can count on me for that. Food and coffee will surely be on their way!

Welcome Doc! I look forward to reading your thoughts and seeing more shots of that beautiful espresso machine!

Hello @mwoodall! That machine is my pride and joy. Hoping to upgrade the grinder though. Are you into coffee too?

I do! But I don't have nearly as much time to enjoy it as I would like to. My next adventure will be with cold brewing as I hear it leaves the flavour but removes all (or most) of the bitterness!

Yes! Cold brew is a simple and good way to make coffee. It just takes time though, so if you start the brew in the evening, it should be ready the next morning. I recommend beans with clean crisp and slightly fruity flavour profiles for cold brew because I find them interesting when cold and refreshing, a little like fruit juice.

Mmmm, sounds great! I'm planning on doing my first brew this weekend, Friday night to Saturday morning. I'll make sure I find some high quality beans in the next couple days! Thanks for the tip!

Fantastic intro post @ktchan! I am @gogogadgetupvote and I found your intro post thanks to a link that @steemoffice sent me in my Daily "Introduceyourself Post" Bounty! I have upvoted and resteemed your intro, as well as given you a follow! Be sure to check out my contest post I linked, there are several useful articles linked at the bottom for new users!
PLEASE don't take this the wrong way, but your intro post reminded me of this scene from Family Guy. I mean no offense, I just think it's a funny scene.

That's a funny clip! Thanks for the upvote and resteem!

No problem man! Thanks for replying! I do a lot of these with my daily contest and don't get any replies. It feels good to know my efforts are appreciated! Keep on Steemin'!

Hi and Welcome.... I also posted my introduction post less than 2 days ago.. please have a look.. I have an aunt and 2 siblings in Hong Kong.. absolutely love it there... I followed you and hope you'll post some great articles about field of medicine:)

Hello there! I'm glad that you like HK. Do you visit your aunt and siblings often? I'm now living in Scotland and seldom go back to HK. Last time I went back was 2 years ago. I do make the occasional trip to Singapore though to visit friends and family.

Not often anymore.. used to go there so often.. Hong Kong was always my 3rd home after Canada and Malaysia. It is expensive and housings there are too small, and pollution (from China) is an issue, other than that, I think HK is almost a perfect place to be in..

HK itself is quite polluted even without the industrial smog from China. I like the life there, but overall living conditions aren't as great as most other major cities. You are right, homes are too small. And the cost of living is also rising too quickly. Not to mention the political instability nowadays too... I still enjoy going back now and then for a visit, but don't think I'll settle back there.

Do you prefer living in Malaysia or Canada?

For a city of its size in Asia, HK isn't polluted.. Just look at the sea, hiking area and beaches... all decently clean...
Yes, I have only 3 issues with HK, the rising cost of living, tiny living space & impending death of 1 country 2 policy system.

I prefer living in Asia... love the food, weather during the evenings, night life, entertainment, boutique shops, etc... I'll soon be posting about what I prefer in Canada/Malaysia.. hehehe

Waving at you

STEEM is a fantastic community!

I'm just starting out exploring, but looking good so far!

welcome to steemit and cant wait to see more post!

Thank you!

Welcome to Steemit :)

source (2).gif

its nice to meet you

Nice to meet you too!

Welcome to Steemit. Looking forward to your posts.

Thank you!

Welcome to steemit , Doctor

Hello, pleased to meet you!

Welcome @ktchan! Looking forward to learning of your experiences =)

Thank you! See you around!

Hi KT!
Welcome to Steemit, an awesome community. We can learn, share and grow from steemit. Nice to meet you, @ktchan! :)

Hello! Nice to meet you too!

Congratulations @ktchan!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 1 with 42 comments

Thank you!

Congratulations @ktchan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

interesting story! i've always been fascinated by the singaporean economy and their financial system. AND traditional chinese medicine is quite interesting because they have a completely different view on the human body from the west.