How hard it is making a nice photo when you aren't photogenic

I realized that it is common here in the steemit community making an introduction, and I totally missed it.
So i tried to make a nice photo of myself for my introduction.
Turned out that is NOT SO EASY !
It was horribly exhausting haha! We didn't get any good shot.
I asked my friend to help me and make a good Picture. Well he wasn't happy at all about my non existing talent.. haha!

My Problems startet by asking myself where should i take the photo?
I decided to stay on the easy way making the photos at my home, on my balcony.
Well, at least my neighbours had their entertainment ;)

First of all, here's the photo i think is the best of all them. Sadly to tell that we had to invest a lot of time to reach something strange like that :D

Biggest Problem was the sun. Couldn't open my fucking eyes and look into the camera!! How is this even possible having such Problems for an easy photo! :D

So we tried to change sides - well it was not better there ^^

Then i felt uncomfortable because everyone was looking at us and i didn't want them to look on, it was unpleasant!

And yeah, all the times i was talking instead of looking into the camera, or laughing or having my eyes closed.

So for my friend, it was a real challenge haha. Thanks to him by the way for the patience :-)
Well, this is my story about how hard i had to try for a fairly normal photo of myself. I was wondering if other people have the same Problems or if they are just more photogenic ;-)?

I wish a nice weekend to everyone ;-)

Sort:  

I like the one where you're looking down and laughing. You can't see much of your face, but I like that you look relaxed and happy. Did you get any of you laughing with the mountains/flowers in the background?

oh thanks ;) well, i have this, with a Little bit laughing @corinnestokes

Nice smile :) I cropped it a little to get rid of the building and lightened up the shadow across your face:

Wow, thank you that's so nice! :)
Looks much better :)

Glad you like it :)

Calling your self unphotogenic is just another way of calling your self unattractive. Don't do that. Your a beautiful person and deserve attention for your introduce yourself post!

hmm yes and no. maybe it doesn't sound very self-confident, maybe that's true or maybe not, i am not sure. but i am sure that i always have Special facial expressions when i should get photographed.. ^^ maybe i should call it my "Special" talent haha :D ;) @justtryme90

Thanks for your write up.
You have a good weekend too.

You should have used photoshop! That's how most people get good pictures of themselves these days.

Hah true! That's it haha ;-)

First of all you are beautiful. You just need to know a few basic tips when taking photos.

These tips, will improve your photos:

Golden ratio is pretty simpel way to improve your photos, the easiest way is try to have the main subject of your photo fill out 1/3 of the picture.

Choose a interesting background. I like the photo with the mountain.

If you look at portrait photography most of the backgrounds are blur. With that, the viewer get forced too look at the model. With a dslr it's pretty simple trick to make you photos look great.

Try to compose your photos. Try different angel, all pictures of you were taken from eye level and you are always standing in the middle. Try that all the main focus is at the model.

If I were the photograph, I would let stand my model near the field, the mountains as a background. I would try, that only the Field, the mountain and the model is on the Picture.

also it is important to point two other things:

  1. lighting is very important. as @corinnestokes showed you with post processing of shadows.
  2. most models have a make up artists work on them for at least 30 minutes before a shoot.

thanks a lot for your tips :)
i see, here is a very very friendly and helpful community :) thanks again!

to the thing with the make up- well after 30 minutes with a make up Artist it's not me anymore in the end xD

Thank you, next time i'll try that :)!