Blog entry 1: Perspectives of the travelling, full time online uni student - Getting to know me.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

us2.jpg

12410510_10205302488023015_8545970718929234823_n.jpg

I've always wanted to write a blog of sorts, about my life and the normal daily challenges we are all too familiar with! So here I am finally getting started and boy-o-boy do I have some stories to share! The journey is a long one, so have some patience but I can assure you it is an interesting one filled with love, drama, thrill and hard times.

I could start from where I am today – sitting in the lounge room of my boyfriend’s apartment in Nürnberg, Germany - Or I could tell you how on earth an ordinary Melbourne girl who started out on a typical work-life journey, wound up here!

Well the short answer is love, but the long answer is in the journey ;)


Hello, I am Lauren, a 25yro 'mature age' University student whose studying a Bachelor of Social Sciences (Psychology) online, whilst travelling the world.
I am classified as 'mature age' because I returned to uni after spending 25% of my human existence being mistreated working in banking, before realising it was time for a change!

I had a private school education, which included two years of boarding school in South Africa (family tradition) and otherwise had no other life experiences worth sharing prior to the age of 21. There were no exotic family holidays, camping or sports. My mum stayed at home .. and when I wasn't at school, I did too. So really before actively changing my life, I just wanted to make it to the weekend after my Monday to Friday at work - Surely many of you can relate!

Today I hop from country to country, with my laptop in hand, achieving some of the highest grades of my class!

I am also lucky enough to say, I have an amazing German boyfriend/partner-in-crime, Andy, who supports me throughout all my crazy times! Who waits lovingly and patiently as I leave him behind every 90 days, for 3-4 months due to Visa restrictions!

But I suppose what I am now isn't what's important... important is, how on earth did a depressed, expereinceless girl transform to all of that in under 3 years? Well I hope that sharing my stories will inspire some, help some and excite some. But it all starts with my car.

troopy.jpg

Here we have Tigger (don't forget that name!), my beloved 1HZ Landcruiser Troopcarrier - also known as my home, my escape and my saviour from depression and sadness. That's right guys, I was down in the dumps before actively changing my life! --- Although I can't share all the steps toward happiness in one post, I hope some of you will stay with me throughout this blogging journey and gain something that inspires you.

And so, in my next post I will cover, Step 1: Hitting rock bottom.
Inclusive of how I came to spontaneously quit my job, what inspired me to choose to road-trip Australia, the hurdles I faced attempting to begin that journey, and saying goodbye to my family home for my adventure on wheels.

I look forward to sharing these personal and truthful stories with you all, as much as I hope you will enjoy reading them! Ultimately the entirety of my tales will include where I met Andy, how I came to return to uni whilst upholding a crazy long distance relationship - and somehow managing to attain high achiever awards at University in between all the drama.

Speak soon ;)

Kindest regards, Lauren.

please note that all content is my own and not to be stolen
excluding the 'we travel not to escape life' image which is from google years ago and since been my fb banner :P

Sort:  
Loading...

Welcome to steem !!!
I would love to follow you and give you upvote, and you will follow me and give me upvoot back ..

Sure thing. Can't wait to get to know some people :)

Don't stop sharing these enjoyable stuff, following you.

Thank you! I will make another post about my journey over the weekend :) they take a bit of time to write ;) I have so much to say! But I am really glad someone has appreciated my first post. I really hope to do it properly and inspire some people 😘

we would love to see more

Thank you! I intend on keeping my posts useful. I really hope that some poeple find enjoyment in my stories and experiences. Maybe they can even be inspired themselves! :)
I hope to see you following my story later and share your insights x x - Lauren.

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies. Write less but write great original content, which is the key to success in Steemit. If you are using any image or video, cite proper source. Even if its your own image or video, it's worth mention the same. Also be careful to avoid duplicate posting.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat most of the time.

Oh thank you!! I intend on writing my next piece this afternoon - which the content for is mentioned in this first post - I hope to create a valuable collection of pieces which I should also print and hold onto for when my own memory begins to fail !

All the images (except the banner) are my own - should I cite them in APA 6 format? Or have you any other recommendation? I have not had to cite my own work before - so all advices are welcome!

I do believe I have already been following your own work, ironically ! So nice that you have noticed my own in return 😘

Wishing you a lovely New Year’s Eve!

Thank you and wish you a lovely 2018. If its your own work, its worth saying that in your post at the end. That would suffice.