Intro Post and 3 Things About Me

in #introduceyourself3 years ago (edited)


This is my new Hive account, where I’ll be posting about writing, books, Star Wars, and other random awesomeness!


Welcome to the dark side. Just kidding. Mostly. ;)

You might know me as @katrina-ariel. I’ve been around the blockchain for a spell. Went to Kraków in 2018 and shared a stage with illustrious souls like @edprivat, @yidneth, @dan-atstarlite, @jaybird, and @enginewitty. I got to hang out with @soyrosa, and @gtg, and @crimsonclad, and @anomadsoul.

I even won Open Mic once, back in the day.

Though I didn’t do much blogging this year, I had a good reason. And here I am, with a new name, back to tell you about it!

Please follow me as @leiatalon and help my baby account grow!


Three Things about Me


1. Why Leia Talon?


LeiaTalon-fb-banner-sm-700.jpg


Why the new account? Because I’m publishing fantasy and sci-fi books under the pen name Leia Talon. Most of my upcoming books are in SFF genres, so I’ll be Leia for the foreseeable future.

I chose Leia because it’s part of my middle name, Hokule’a, and as a tribute to the rebel princess who’s been my idol since I was two. Talon invokes my love of nature and all things dragon.

Long live the imagination!


2. I write with my cloak on.


cloak-nebula.jpg


I have reasons.

As if the luxurious feel of a cloak wasn’t enough, it's super cozy. And since my writing room is farthest in the house from the wood stove, during a Canadian winter a cloak is a wonderful thing!


3. I’m obsessed with the Mandalorian.



Want to geek out about Star Wars? I’m your gal.

Especially if you want to talk Mandalorian. Or the Andor series that’s coming out in 2022. Or Rogue One. I don’t usually go for tragedies, but Rogue One hooked me hard.

Ah, the Mandalorian. I mean, a hunter-assassin adopts a jedi-in-training and drops everything to protect this kid from the Empire—what's not to love? Dangerous, kind-hearted rogues are my jam.

This is the way.


Happy Hive Fest!


I did try to get all the things working so I could show up to HiveFest and mingle, but I completely failed to pull it off. That said, I’m stoked that there’s a gathering despite everything 2020 has thrown down, and hope to catch some of the live stream.

I'm glad to be back on the blockchain! Thanks for saying hello and following this new account!


Whatever happens, keep singing your song!
Peace @LeiaTalon


quotes banner.jpg


Author bio: Leia Talon is an old-soul rebel, musician, mama bear to twins, and author of Shelta's Songbook: a collection of poetry with love notes from an immortal. Falling Through the Weaving the first novel in her fantasy series, is coming 3/3/21. She’s also written two books as Katrina Ariel: Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance).


Falling preorder twitter image.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Hive with the new account.
As for The Mandalorian, I waited 36 years for that finale...

Thank you! And YES!!!!! So agreed. That was the perfection of Star Wars right there.

Hey lovely new person! Oh no! Not new! Just that same awesome person I was able to meet in Kraków! :D Big hugs from me, I'm excited for you future as a writer and hope this name will be part of your road to great adventures <3

Thank you, my friend! Big hugs back! I tried to make altspaceVR work to come say hello, and eventually gave up. I have writing I need to do. I seem to be missing HiveFest, but at least I'm on the blockchain. :)

I feel I'm in an alt universe seeing you two gorgeousnesses being back here.

Hi all! Yes, this is really me. The blockchain got a new name, so I get one, too. 😉

Will you please follow me as @leiatalon? I'll be doing most of my posting from this account as I'm publishing my novels, poetry, and short stories.

Thank you to everyone I've met over the years in this worldwide community. Your support and friendship means the world. 💖

Well hello there! Yet again :D That hat is still my favorite... just sayin! LOLZ

Hi! Thanks for stopping by! And, agreed. The purple hat is the bomb. ;)

:D I wish you well on your novelist journey, may it be blessed. And I am getting ready to watch Mandalorian 2/8 right about now.. great season all around I think.

SUCH a great season. I watched the finale last night and it gave me all the feels. So good!

And thank you for the well wishes! Very much appreciated.

Well welcome back hahahah and just as always have fun

Absolutely. What's the point if you don't make it fun, right? Thanks for the welcome. :)

This is fun when you make it a fun journey

That's so cool! I couldn't get into the Mandorlorian - i think it was because I couldn't see his face and I couldn't connect to him. Always was a Star Wars fan though.

Writing with a cloak on is pretty cosy and warm I reckon!

Glad to see you back on HIVE, whatever guise you are taking.

Thank you! Yes, the cloak is warm and wonderful.

It's funny, I think I relate to the Mandalorian partially because of the mask. The mystery of it, and the way his body language communicates so much. I love how different stories grab people (or not) for different reasons.

Thanks for taking time to say hello!

Oh wow, that' sinteresting!!! It's totally true - and in some ways, that's the appeal of HIVE, too - no face, but everything else is telling! And yet, without faces, we are still LOVED here - and I adore that about HIVE.

Agreed. That's a wonderful thing about Hive, for sure.

Welcome leiatalon!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Download Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com, desktop: https://desktop.ecency.com apps that helps you to connect.
Earn Points to promote and boost your content.
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency


Congratulations @leiatalon!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

It's today! Do not miss the opening of HiveFest⁵

Welcome to the Hive blockchain.

Thank you!

Welcome!! We love you whatever name you use!!

I look forward to seeing more!!! xoxox

Thanks for the sweet message! Seeing you always makes me smile. :)

I love Poem.
Glad to read about new account and reasons.

Thank you. :)

Welcome! :)

Thank you!

OMG the MANDALORIAN!!!

That last episode was EPIC!

RIGHT?!!!! I've already watched it twice. How many times is too many?

then I welcome this new vortex profile of yours

Thanks so much! :)

OMG! Have you see the finale? I cried a little :D

Twice. I've watched it twice, cried twice. Will probably watch it again. It was SO GOOD OMG!!!

I'm so glad to see you active and back around as you immortalize your work. Welcome back~

Thank you!!! It's great to come back to the blockchain and see some familiar faces. Yours is one of my favourites. ;)

Welcome back! Hope things are going well for you. Krakow seems a long time ago now, but at least we had Hivefest in VR this year.

Mandalorian has been great. Star Wars came out when I was 11 and has been part of my life since. I think they did a great job on this show with lots to please the old fans. Cool music too.

I'll have to check out your books. I like that music is involved.

Have fun and a fantastic 2021.

Welcome abroad! I hope you enjoy your stay :)