Hello From Arkansas

Rednecks, Bitcoins, and Firearms

Hello Steemit! Thanks for letting me be a part of the community. I've been lingering in and around the cryptocurrency and altcoin communities for quite some time. I believe I started my journey with Bitcoin in 2012 and I have been a part of several communities including Zapchain and a few others, but I have to say that Steemit is the nicest by far. It's like Medium for coinheads like me. Anyway, without further adieu, I am Lee Quessenberry, and I love cryptocurrencies, blockchain tech, duck hunting, barbecuing, sport shooting, photography, web design, video gaming, and hang gliding. Please take a moment to dive into some of my interests and ask me any questions you might have. I am going to give a brief summary of each of my hobbies listed here to break the ice.

Cryptocurrencies

My first love like many was Bitcoin back when they were at the $10 mark and easily mined on GPU hardware. I mined, got my feet wet trading (losing a small fortune), tried LocalBitcoins out to buy/sell, got some coins lost to scammers, joined a Facebook group designed to protect scammers in the P2P lending space only to be scammed in the long run by so-called friends, tried to unsuccessfully assist in launching a new coin, worked doing design and web work in exchange for BTC, and finally got back to mining and holding coins.

During the last 5 years, I have learned to trust no one in the cryptocurrency world that you wouldn't mind having your coins. Some folks got in over their heads borrowing and repaying due to fluctuation in value, but others were shady from jump looking to hustle a quick buck. This might lead some to ask why I am still so very enthusiastic. It's simple. The future is here. Bitcoin and other altcoins are borderless, honest, and transparent. The idea that I can pay someone for their goods or services across continents and oceans with minimal transaction fees compared to current offerings for money transfer is mind boggling to most but is freeing and forward thinking.

I'll continue to provide commentary on Bitcoins and other cryptocurrencies as I experience them on Steemit.

Blockchain Tech

In addition to the free flow nature of cryptocurrencies across borders and governments, the blockchain and its derivatives continue to fascinate me. There are countless opportunities for the transparency and openness of blockchains and ledgers in today's society. There are also amazing opportunities for secured blockchains such as Monero which I find interesting. I am an advocate for blockchain technologies in government for the public use of records and record keeping among many other applications that I can only dream of. This is the overhand right that follows the jab when it comes to cryptocoins. Think of Bitcoin and the Blockchain as a one-two punch in the face of normalcy.

My Other Hobbies

Of my other hobbies, barbecuing is my oldest hobby and profession. I have been cooking in professional competitions since I was a child. Along with my younger brother, I have also been making and selling our world famous sauces and spices online and at local retailers in the Northeast Arkansas area. You can purchase our products online at http://jimquessenberry.com. We do sell our products for bitcoin and will ship worldwide.

I spend a lot of time outdoors duck hunting, sport shooting, and I used to hang glide a lot when I loved in the OBX of North Carolina.

Sort:  

Welcome!
That was an amazing post. Looking forward to reading what you have to share, Followed and Upvoted!
(If you want to some cool posts to read or contests to participate in, you could follow me back!)

Welcome 🤗I'm sure you going to enjoy this exciting platform!

Heya, welcome to steemit! I am also new and find your first post very interesting :) i shall be following you to keep updated you may also like my first post and be interested in how it will evolve :) looking forward to more posts :) I've also upvoted you :)

Thank you for the kind words! I hope I can make a difference and help out!

Welcome to this platform.it is a nice place to be .you are welcome once more

Thanks for taking time to reply. This looks like an interesting place.

Welcome lquessenberry ! Thanks for sharing! Think you'll like this community. See you around!

welcome.gif

I am following you

Welcome to Steemit! My hubby is a badass on the smoker lol. Love me some BBQ!

If you want to make the most of the community here as a newbie, may I recommend strongly that you get signed up with the #MinnowSupportProject? It's a great way to find folks with similar interests here on Steemit. Information about the PALnet MSP is HERE. We even have some writing workshops there!

My best wishes to you!

Congratulations @lquessenberry! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

welcome to steemit @iquessenberry
following you now :D
follow me back pls :)

Let me welcome you to steemit family. Hope to see you around

Heyhey! You are a new member so I am offering you my welcome. One upvote for you and don't forget to upvote others!
I know how hard it is as a fresh account so I suggest you to try out @MinnowPowerUp as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up with steem directly! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.

Congratulations @lquessenberry! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @lquessenberry! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lquessenberry! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!