Who is LWK?

DSCF0830.jpg

Let me introduce myself
Why LWK?
My real name is Luuk but a childhood friend called me L double U K. So I decided to replace the double U for a W. That is how my artist name LWK came about. Next let me explain where my interest for music started.

How it all started
I was introduced to music when I was about six or seven years old. My father and my brother both played guitar. Because of this I was always surrounded by music in the form of sheetmusic, guitars, and of course music playing in our house. As a little kid I started banging on tables, pots and pans. When I became older I wanted to play the drums because of drummers like Lars Ulrich and David Randall Silveria. After a few years I got my own drumkit and I started started taking drum lessons. I stopped following drum lessons after five years, and started losing interest in playing drums after I was introduced to HipHop by a childhood friend. I started listening to Big L and the Wu-Tang Clan and more HipHop artists from the golden era. I loved the drums and the way the producers made it sound. From that moment on I knew I had to make that kind of music, but where could I begin?

A kick, a snare, a sample
I started making beats with Fruityloops and got some samples from records. This worked out fine at the time and I sent some beats to friends who rapped at that time. When I received positive feedback from them I started to get the feeling that this is what I should be doing. Besides making beats I did rap a bit but it never grabbed me as much as making beats. After a while a friend told me I should start saving up for some hardware because most of the great producers at that time (J Dilla, DJ Premier, Nottz and DJ Quik) where all using hardware. When I heard that I started saving up money and eventually got my AKAI MPC2000XL. This machine was a big eyeopener for me because the sound that came out of that machine was so punchy and the possibilities where endless. It became my weapon of choice and I did not want to go back to software apart from using it to record my tracks.

When I started to get used to the MPC I started to look for other hardware drumcomputers/samplers and the Roland SP404SX caught my interest. I learnt about the Roland SP404SX through the beat makers website named https://producersiknow.com/ that posted bandcamp links of producers that produced dope warm filtered sounding beats. After some research I found out that a lot of these beatmakers/producers where using the Roland SP samplers. Well known producers that used these devices where Dibiase, Samiyam and Teebs. So I bought the Roland SP404SX to find out what I could do with it and to take it with me while being on the road, because the MPC was way too heavy to carry around. I took the SP4040SX with me when I participated in a beat battle or at beat making sessions at venues. Nowadays I’m slowly going back to using software. Ableton is the program that I’ve been using for a few weeks now and it works pretty well. The reason I chose this DAW is because of the Synth VST’s I have access to, so I’m able to make more synth based beats. At this moment I am making future bass beats.

From here on out
I have always looked for a good platform to share my music and thoughts about music, and also earn a honest buck for it. I think Steemit and Dsound are the perfect platforms to do so. I am looking forward to getting in touch with other producers and beatcreators and learn about the world of Steemit and Dsound. I will start posting music in the near future for you guys to check out.

Sort:  

welcome here lwkbeats
i hope you enjoy in steemit:)

I think i will :)

Congratulations @lwkbeats! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @lwkbeats! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lwkbeats! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!