Let me introduce myself!

My name is Oleksandr Masliukivskyi and i am from Zhytomyr, Ukraine.

Recently i discovered Steemit.com and i think it is interesting social platform to try. I am very much liking the idea of life without aggressive ads drilling my eyes everywhere. Is it real? I will try to find out with your help!

My main activity is 3D modeling/texturing/rendering i.e. freelancer 3D Artist, but i have this hobby i call "MacroLab3D" dedicated to "extreme macro photography" which i am using to share interesting findings from kind of hidden part of our world - macro world. To me it is same as outer space but "inner", which we seems like trying to ignore and going straight to colonise other planets first. My intention is to explore it before, or at least while we on the way to the Mars.

Modern technology such as "focus stacking" (and affordable computing power) allows us to get round limits such as Depth of field (DOF) in optics. This is a thing when you looking at something at high magnification you see most of the image in out of focus blur, and what "focus stacking" does is combining multiple images(photos) taken with shifted line of focus(z-axis) across the subject in to the one final image, fully in focus. Higher the magnification, thinner focus line is and hence more images you need to combine.

You probably saw electronic microscope images before(which is another amazing tech around there)? Did you notice how they all gray or manually colorised in post? It is mind blowingly good at rendering form of a subject, but color part is totally missed which to me is very important and big amount of information. This is why i think "focus stacking" still better, despite it's flaws (which i will not point to you intentionally, try to find by yourself if you can), because it shows you real color data, and material properties. Reality is what i like. Manual colorizing is "fake news" which fulls your mind and i don't like when it happens.

The system(only a part of it):

It looks more like a dangerous weapon of destruction, but it actually a window in to that inner space of ours. Consist of digital camera, so called tube lens, adapters, microscope objective and very important component - macro rail. The subject is so tiny (like 3 mm wide for example), and to maintain it all in focus you need to make roughly 100 photos with step around 10um(0.01mm) across Z-axis. No way you can do it manually without a rail. This macro rail is doing that job for me under control of a computer (i use Zerene Stacker, which also stitching them). There are other components participating in the process such as subject holder (precise table) lights and diffusers, and others.

After shooting and stitching part i then go to video editing (AfterEffects). I also create music somewhere in between (i am not a musician, but modern technology allows you to make music even if you have no clue (Amazing!). I am using iPad and Garage Band (Apple) +Noise (Roli) apps, both free.

And here is the result (don't know how to embed a video):
https://d.tube/v/macrolab3d/uzh85eek

After watching this you may think why it is wiggling from side to side? Well this effect is known as Wiggle 3D (wigglegram) or Rocking 3D. It allows you to see the depth of the specimen with your bare eyes. Let me know what you think in the comments. Stay tuned for such videos in the future!

Also i like VR/gaming but it's a different story.

Me:

Sort:  

Oleksandr,

Welcome to SteemIt!!

You are now part of a special community of people forging a cutting-edge social media platform on the STEEM blockchain.

I am @etcmike and have been part of this community since August 2016. If you have any questions about SteemIt, please feel free to ask me and I will do my best to answer your questions.

I enjoy helping to promote the SteemIt community engagement on SteemIt by upvoting those who comment on my posts. I published my guide for up voting that I follow several months ago (please do not up vote it since it is past its payout period), you may find it useful.
Upvoting For the Mutual Benefit of Patrons, Commentors, and Others While Promoting More Engagement

Here are a few tools that will likely help you on SteemIt:

https://steemd.com/@macrolab3d -- This tools monitors your blockchain activity and helps you keep an eye on your voting power

https://www.steemnow.com/ -- This tool gives you a different view of you blockchain activity as well as monitors rewards on you posts

SteemIt is what you make of it! I urge you to be persistent and build your following, then before long you find your success!

Have a great weekend!
Steem on,
Mike

Wow, thank you for those links! Also... weekend. You mean wednesday? :D

Yes, I should have said "have a great week"!

I'm retired now, everyday is like a weekend :-)

Steem on,
Mike

Right on, welcome to Steemit, super psyched to see more of what you come up with!

Just posted my most favorite video featuring a Flea. Hope you like it!

Welcome! I think Steemit is ideal for the artist - in all kinds of art. Best of luck to you.
 

Welcome to Steemit. Look forward to see your works. output_p9YFbj.gif

Thanks for visiting my place, hope you will stay =)

Welcome to steemit! You will do well on here my friend!

Glad you believe in me! Wish you the same!