Hello Steemit! My name's Eddie (a.k.a. the Magic Monk), I am a Youtuber and a high school teacher! Let the writing begin!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone on Steem!!
My picture

I am super excited to finally be part of Steem! I have so much to share with you all and I look forward to learning with and from everyone here.

My name is Eddie and I'm 33 years old. I immigrated to New Zealand from Taiwan when I was 11 without speaking any English (except how are you). A lot of my childhood consisted of looking up words in the dictionary in order to do homework, but I am glad to have had that experience. After a bit of struggle, I finally graduated from high school and university and now I'm a permanent high school maths teacher, and my English is now the least of my worries. I currently live in my own house on an acreage in Brisbane Australia, and I wouldn't live anywhere else. I still speak fluent Chinese and a while ago, I went on the world's most viewed dating show "If You Are The One" in China as an Australian contestant, you can watch my appearance here:

My interests and hobbies

My picture

Other than studying hard at mathematics and computers, I'm passionate about exercise. I have won two Brisbane Night Tennis Association competitions. I have competed in swing dance championships around Australia, and I regularly practice Tai Chi, Shaolin and Praying Mantis Kung Fu. I believe exercising improves health and having good health is important to living a good life.

My picture

My history with Youtube

A few years ago I saw Khan Academy on Youtube. He was a great teacher, however, we have a different maths curriculum here in Australia, so I decided to start my own math teaching on Youtube for Australian students. I have 3.5 million views now, and funnily enough most of my viewers are actually from overseas. I still work as a high school teacher full time so I don't have much time for Youtube, but I make videos when I can :)

My students were so impressed with my Youtube channel that one of my best students made this video about me.

My goal is to demystify maths and other difficult subjects such as computer programming and make them accessible to everyone. I use basic terms and I explain slowly so anyone can understand. I'm not very smart myself so if I can learn these things then anyone can. My lessons are structured so if you watch my videos from beginning to end on the playlist, you can learn everything from basic algebra to Calculus.

I believe Steem will benefit from my participation as I will link my articles to my website http://magicmonk.org and my Youtube channel so they will bring more users to Steem.

Please feel free to share your ideas, advice, feedback with me. I look forward to hearing from you all!!

Sort:  

My High School maths teacher on Steemit. Yewwww! Welcome to Steemit sir!

Lol thanks again for introducing me to this! Don't worry about calling me sir, haha, I think it's been at least 8 years since I taught you? :)

haha! Yeah, it's been a long time. Enjoy the payouts!


thumbs up for showing your teacher some new moves
source

he definitely did :)

"I'm not very smart myself so if I can learn these things then anyone can."

Don't underestimate yourself - you are doing a pretty good job. Even taking a concept and simplifying it in order to explain it, has a certain intelligence requirement... Welcome aboard...

you're right :) thank you :)

hi Ed welcome to steem :)

thank you so much hakise

Hi Edward, fellow Brisbanite here, :) there are not that many of us about so its nice to bump into you on steemit. I'm also involved in education. I lecture in Humanities and Languages at an international college in Bangkok. My question for you is, do you have any ideas/plans to integrate steemit into your lessons/classroom. I'd love to find a way to make this platform a useful educational tool. cheers and have a great day.

hi bkkshadow. Yes that would be a great idea and I'll definitely think about it. As always there are lots of policies involved when we try to get students registered on websites so it's definitely not just up to me but once I have a play with this and understand it better it's definitely something worth looking into. How long have you been in Bangkok? Your picture of Bangkok looks amazing!

I've been here a little over a decade now. Marrried and have my own place, so for me its really home now. However, I'm heading back to Brisbane/Sunny Coast to see family and friends next month, and am really looking forward to it. Regarding education, I've been experimenting with using Facebook groups as a shared learning environment with some of my classes and have had some positive results. As such I am currently writing a framework for acceptable usage of it within our university environment. It may be a little more problematic to do at high school level, but it has possibilities. Anyway, nice to make contact, What part of Brissy do you live?

hey bkkshadow :) I'd like to converse with you privately if possible? how do you do that through this? :)

I honestly have no idea

Edward, welcome. Good to see someone interested and fluent in math. That should bring some interesting discussion and content to the platform.

thank you so much sndphoenix. look forward to participating in a few of those discussions :)

Welcome on board, sir! Your YouTube teaching is interesting. Will show it to my children. Thanks. Keep STEEMING!

You are an example to follow ! I wish you success in our site ! , @magicmonk

hey maximkichev. I love in your article how you mentioned "never think a person will say no before they say it themselves". I think that way too often and it's something that I need to change. Thank you for sharing that tip and I look forward to talking to you in the future.

Welcome Eddie, i'm also an high school math teacher and it's a pleasure to have you here. I haven't done my "introduceyourself" post yet but i will in a few days. I'm looking forward to read you, and maybe we can talk about maths some days.

yes definitely! where abouts are you based? I like your article on Pokemon Go as well :) I've done a few videos of myself playing that game in my Youtube channel :)

I teach in French Polynesia (Tahiti), i'm not a really good english speaker but i have some basics. I've always wanted to build an LMS (Learning Managment System) for my students but my programming skills are not good enough to do it by myself.

cool! They must have some nice beaches there! Yeah LMS must be hard to build.. maybe just use google classroom? :)

loved the dating show bit XD welcome :)

haha, thank you :) yes it was a big thing to go on that show, so many people have seen it!

Welcome Magic Monk! Nice to see more Asians create great impression on steemit. Keep the steem spirit going!

definitely Vikram. Nice to meet you :)

Great post and great introduction!

But why the nickname magicmonk? Just asking haha...

haha thank you! Basically because a lot of my values are similar to buddhist monks, as in I believe in helping others in need and I'm also a vegetarian :)

Welcome, we definitely could benefit here from your videos. Make sure to tag them and possibly keep them in a playlist for people if they want to search them again.

sure thing!! thank you for the suggestion :) here is the playlist and I've linked it in my article too

I enjoyed your post! Why Magic Monk?
Have a look at my latest post about food in Laos.
https://steemit.com/lemongrass/@dka/living-in-laos-steemy-food-dna-adventures

Haha basically I was brought up as a buddhist and a vegetarian. I read and upvoted your article, some delicious food there!!

We expect to share your wealth of experience in the steemit community

thank you so much :)

Great post!
Wellcome!

I love IYATO!

hello!

Hi Eddie! Welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you and I also posted my own introduction post with a short video and pictures of some of my trips! https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@brianphobos/hi-steemit-i-m-brian-from-arizona-i-m-into-sports-traveling-having-fun-and-computers-here-are-some-pictures-and-a-short-video-2

thank you Brian, I have upvoted you too :) look forward to reading more of your articles :)

thaank you nastrom!! You have lots of great posts too!! I love the GTA V one :) I upvoted your article too :)