You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introduction: rediscovering Zen one picture at a time on Steepshot

Hello, @onethousandpics, and Welcome to Steemit.

Steemit will definitely bring back your mojo, particularly through your -double-barrelled approach of words and pics.

It's surprising that you made your first Steemit blog word-centric, not photo-centric. For me (a language teacher, writer, editor), I found that photos get a better response and are often more appreciated (read, "lucrative") than words.

I aint much of a pro photographer, but with some proper framing, composition, and focus on a few interesting details, I can snap some decent photo that are "appreciated" on my blog.

Since you're clearly more qualified than I am, any photo posts that you upload here will most likely be seen and "appreciated."

(I'm following you ... but only on Steemit ☺)

Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Sort:  

I guess I already had a platform for my images but wanted to work on my writing. Hence the first blog being about words. I have been looking for an alternative to Instagram and I think I've found it in Steepshot. I am now questioning my setting up of two accounts though - I've already lost which one I'm on three times today lol

Thanks for the tips. I do the longer form posts @onethousandwords - I think I'll keep this to mostly focus on the images. I may include the odd longer post from time to time.

Good luck keeping your 2 blogs separate ... in your own mind.

Such a dual-entity would probably confuse the hell out of me, unless I devised a strict system to keep me focused on the proper one at any given time.

Also, here are links to 2 photo contests. Submitting regularly to these and other photo contests is a very effective way to get exposure and attract followers.

... @photocontests ... organized by @juliank
... #tepchallenge ... organized by @theexplorer

"May a hundred flowers blossom, and may a thousand pics ... be viewed by the Steemit community."

p.s. I also wanted to rave about the above photo. Wow!

Thanks for the info on the comps and your kind feedback. You've made my day.

You're welcome, and thanks for the appreciation.

I was gonna say that I'd "make your year," but I'll leave that up to Steemit ... and you!

Onwards!