You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Turning my life around.

Mead is actually much easier than cider. Mainly due to cider having a much higher chance to spoil and turn into apple vinegar. Due to honeys inability to spoil and natural defense against bacteria mead is exponentially easier. Currently have 12 gallons of mead going right now, plan to have an in depth post once its done (month or 2 from now), as it seems there isn't much of a "how to" on here about meads and ciders.

Side note: Apple Cider vinegar that has alcohol in it tastes HORRIBLE, had a batch that turned and took a sip of it... instant regret.

Sort:  

@mbrown121500 I will def be looking out for the mead post! Following!

Haha yes, cider does take some skill especially when it comes to not ending up with a tart one another thing that is less risky with mead. But I have never had any turn to vinegar.

Then you sir have not failed hard enough. Lol

I did no my first beer. I was to be a Guinness like stout that turned out over hopped and 2% alcohol. I was like a grassy coffee sodapop. haha. Was great with a shot of scotch added.

Personally I feel we don't truly learn until we have failed...