Newbie Steemian here!

Hello everyone! I've been following Steemit for a couple of months now but I was hesitating to join the community. Earlier today, I attended a crypto meetup where a fellow Steemian gave me a crash course about the wonders of this platform. It really blew my mind how well developed Steem is after such a short period of time, with a cool set of features and a whole range of social media apps. Adoption has also been on the rise and I've read some great articles about all different kinds of topics. So I finally decided to take the step and enter this vibrant community!

I have been in the crypto space for almost 4 years now and I am also involved in Blockchain related projects as an innovation manager for Telindus. As Steemit has been on my radar lately, I very much look forward to actively participate and contribute to the community in a concrete way. I will be posting a series of articles about my views on the latest trends in the Blockchain and Crypto space and promoting the added values of using such a technology.

15284018_10154298909648655_6771150559933492050_n.jpg
Recent pic of me in Paris.

Look forward to having a good time with you all!

Sort:  

Welcome to steem, Matthias! If you want to take a peek under the steem hood, I recommend you start with https://steemworld.org from @steemchiller

Thanks Sorin! I'm currently reading lots articles to familiarise myself wit the Steemit platform, still trying to figure out how to best delegate SP. One step at a time :)

You are right to read up, it's both complex and fascinating.

The steem power, you first need to have it, before delegating it :-)

Have you discovered steemd.com yet ?
mforsingdal.PNG

Here's your profile - you have 0.1 SP that are your own, you received this from me when I created your account. The rest up to 10 SP I delegated to you.

There are several ways to earn SP:

  • one is to blog while popular - if people upvote your posts, you earn SP;
  • the other is to buy steem, move it to your steem account and then power up;
  • the third one is from curation (upvoting) which is the one requiring the least effort (you can set upvote rules and then let a "smart contract" upvote for you while you sleep) but also by far the slowest (especially when starting from almost zero)

In your specific case I'd do a bit of all - write a bit and find a following, people who enjoy the same things; buy a bit of steem and power up (it helps a lot to show engagement and attract people to follow you); once you have powered up, start upvoting people, it tends to bring you followers and upvotes for your own posts.

Thank you, that clears things up a bit! I'll try to do as you suggest.

Welcome mforsingdal
To the Steemit platform, you are a steemian now. I am warm welcoming you as a new user. And you receive this message because you used the #introduceyourself tag! You have been in crypto for 4 years so your expertise is welcome here.
I was welcomed with good advice to when I started so here i am. I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming right now but don't worry. After a few blog you will be the best blogger and contributor.
If you have any questions just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have!
I may know the answer. But very important I recommend you to never give up any off your passwords they are yours Please for safety tips read and visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11.
The Steemify App I use is great too, it is available in the Appstore and its Free.
Good Luck, Have fun and I wish you loads of success on here! :)
GREETZ from Holland
Britt

Thanks for the advice Britt! I'll have a look at the Steemify app and will of course make sure to keep my password safe :)

Welcome pal, @mforsingdal this can be one hell of a rollercoaster ride and its not for the weak. This platform allows its users to earn rewards for their efforts in the community. Good luck pal.

#circleoffriends

Thanks for the wishes, I'll do my best.

Keep it going !

Iulian, I'm pretty sure Matthias doesn't know that @smartiot is your Steemit alias :-)

Indeed I didn't know, until now ;)

Welcome to steemit @mforsingdal.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
  • Help us save the forest with @treeplanter
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Welcome to Steem, @mforsingdal!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3174 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Hello and welcome to Steemit! :)

Make sure to always use 5 tags to get maximum exposure to your posts.

Also If you are into cryptocurrencies then you are more than welcome to visit my channel, as I have made the commitment to share everything with others.

Let me know if need any help.

Best of luck to you!

Wasn't aware of the 5 tags limit, but I'll make sure to use them all from now on :)

Hey welcome to Steemit, Have a great time, I will follow your work. Please check out and follow my channel

Following you now!

Welcome and congratulations to join @mforsingdal..

Congratulations @mforsingdal! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To learn more about us and stay connected with us, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Congratulations @mforsingdal! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

welcome to steemit mforsingdal. good luck and have a great prosperity

Posted using Partiko Android

Great intro post @mforsingdal! Thanks for joining Steemit! I am @gogogadgetupvote and I found your intro post thanks to a link that @logoo sent me in my "Introduceyourself Post Bounty”! I have upvoted and resteemed your intro, as well as given you a follow! Be sure to check out my contest post I linked, there are several useful articles linked at the bottom for new users!

Welcome to Steem Community @mforsingdal! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch