The new guy's journey from guitar to steemit :)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello everyone, I just got verified, what a day :)
This is my first ever Steemit post, so let me introduce myself. My name is Miha, I'm 24 and I live in Ljubljana, the capital of a small European country called Slovenia.

Here's me in my natural habitat :)
Screenshot_2017-07-04-15-24-59.png

(Wikipedia pic)

So how the hell did I manage to end up on Steemit?

1. The guitar phase


Well, it probably has something to do with the fact that I started playing guitar in high school (it was actually the second time I picked it up, I played for a couple of years before I was 10). Of course when you play guitar you need to have some guitar related gear such as, well, a guitar and an amp. And guitar effects. Lots of guitar effects. But these things are expensive, so I decided not to buy them, but instead to make my own and that is how I discovered online DIY communities specialized in guitar pedals. Which brings us to my next phase.

2. The pedal phase


Just before I hit my pedal phase I had to decide what to do after high school. At the time I was really into languages but I was starting to get into electronics. So I decided to continue with languages and get a degree in English and Russian studies. I had a part-time job helping kids with learning disabilities, formed a band (we're still giggin'!), but I kept on making pedals and they went from
this
IMG_20170704_140517.jpg

through this
WP_20150825_006.jpg
and ended up here.
WP_20151231_002.jpg

My love for electronics grew with every project so after I got my bachelor's degree I decided not to pursue a master's degree in languages but...

3. The full-on electronics phase


...instead went to the Faculty of electronics and at the same started a jazz guitar program at the local conservatory. Through EE I learned about programming and it really grabbed me, so I learnt a couple of programming languages and made my first DIY project connecting programming and music - a MIDI controller
IMG_20170220_211646 - Copy.jpg
It's called the BLACKBOX... cuz it's yellow.

So through programming I found cryptocurrencies and among them, Steem. I checked what was hiding behind that, thought it's cool and BAM, here I am :)

4.???


So what's next, who knows, I think I'll be lurking around in phase 3 for a while, I like it there :)

Sort:  

i was wondering why it was called the black box? LOL . HolySmoke! Welcome to Steemit !!

Welcome to Steem @miha9 I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @miha9 !Glad to see more people like you - here joining Steemit! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Welcome to Steemit! Im sure that you will enjoy this awesome community!

Cool first post. I love the MIDI controller you made. I'm still learning guitar and I feel like it will be a while before I'm any good, but it's still fun to learn. I followed you and look forward to your future posts. Good luck. Feel free to follow me as I think we have some similar interests.

Thanks, man!
Yeah, you just have to stick to it and have fun while doing it and you won't even notice you got a whole lot better :)

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Sweet ! Welcome to Steemit! Followed. Follow me back 😘

The love for guitar/pedals has bitten me hard recently. I started playing in my early teens, fell away from it and recently have been re-energized. That 'Space Station' pedal looks killer.

Hey, I love your bot idea, will be checking out what you're up to for sure :)