The obligatory introduction...

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

26850858_10214162754415508_1106187719401445820_o.jpg

Hello (and Hola) Steemit Community!

---Side Note: I don't know much Spanish, but wish like hell I did. I am a construction superintendent currently working in Texas (from Florida) and it would be hugely beneficial if I spoke the language of many of my coworkers. Not only that, but I've developed a great love for those of Hispanic heritage through my work. The majority of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, and Cubans I have worked with have an outstanding work ethic.

...but I digress...

My name is Matt and I'm brand spanking new to Steemit. I signed up for an account in January 2018 and am just now getting around to meandering through it's corridors and trying to figure out what it's all about.

I was introduced to Steemit through my interest in crypto. Like many others, I signed up with the intent of accruing some income through it. However, after reading posts like the most recent by @dineroconopcion, I'm skeptical of whether that dream can even become a reality.

Nevertheless, here I am.

I thoroughly enjoy writing and have dabbled in blogging many times over the years, but the responsibilities of being the sole provider of a family of 8 have kept me from remaining faithful... at least that's my excuse.

Perhaps I will copy some of my former blogs over here for the Steemit community to enjoy. One of my favorites (and most viewed) was "Ocho-Ohleys". In it I journaled about our family's move from the Midwest to Florida in a 32' camper... that's right, all eight of us in a camper! Haha.

Either way, here is my feeble attempt at the recommended #introduceyourself post. I look forward to becoming a more active part of the Steemit community...

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @mindofmatt! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch


Welcome to Steemit @mindofmatt!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome mindofmatt, hope you will have a great time here on steemit!

Thanks @lopezdacruz. I hope the same!

Hello, Matt, and Welcome to Steemit.

If you enjoy writing, you've come to the right place. Steemit is not so much a social network as it is a blogging / publishing site. And with a bit of diligence and effort, you will even earn a bit of Steem.

As for migrating your previous blog posts to Steemit, that's a great idea. Several well-known bloggers have joined Steemit, brought along most of their previous followers, and found tremendous success here.

But even for those who have no pre-existing audience, Steemit can prove to be a very viable and (eventually) lucrative platform.


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!
Also, I hope you can continue to work with your great crew. And maybe you will be able to pick up a bit of Espanol.

Thanks for the advice! Much appreciated!

You're welcome.

One more point. Submitting photos in the various photo contests is a great way to earn a bit of Steem and to attract followers. Here are links to 3 contests.

@photocontests, organized by @juliank
Daily color challenges, organized by @colorchallenge
#tepchallenge, organized by @theexplorer

For entries into those photo contests, short posts are OK. But it's a good idea to add a bit of text explaining the photo, to give the post some meat and to make it more interesting.

Hey @mindofmatt, I can see why you are skeptical, I went back and read the post you referenced. I want to give you some of the same advice that had been given to me and even add a little of my own from my own experiences here. Don't pay attention to the drama you see, those are huge players with huge influence and aren't worried about little people like us. Everyone has potential to make money here, but it requires effort... right now, you will make more by engaging on people's posts, making meaningful comments, and building your relationships. Find yourself a community that you fit into, I'm part of a great one with great people who help you along the way...well, we all help each other really, and we have great conversations in discord. If you wanna know, just ask. I try to post something everyday, I may not get a ton of views right now, but I've seen steady growth, it's definitely more of a marathon not a sprint. Be yourself, be engaging, put out awesome posts, and comment, comment, comment. Good luck to you!! And Happy Easter!! 🐰🐰🐰

Thanks a bunch for the advice! I appreciate it immensely and will definitely take it to heart.

Hello @mindofmatt. I'm in the same boat as you, new here and trying to figure it out. Good luck, hope to see your future posts.

Good luck to you as well. I'm excited about the possibilities. I'll be looking for your posts as well.

Hello and welcome to Steemit! :)

Thank you!

Hi Thank you for #introducingyourself. Im myself quite new in steemit community but I realized that there are few things you could do to have a better start:
Mostly I invested a little bit in STEEM in order to purchase STEEM POWER and STEEM DOLLARS. Why? Its simply important. Without initial investment it will be very hard for you to build reach here and be noticed.

Im not sure if you ever heard about this site:
http://steemd.com/@your_username
Example: https://goo.gl/3mquu1
Perhaps you know it already :)
If you will reply to this message (that would allow me to believe that we may develop mutual engagement and help each other) then I will follow you and upvote some of your future posts.
Cheers and good luck.

Hi Thank you for #introducingyourself. Im myself quite new in steemit community but I realized that there are few things you could do to have a better start:
Mostly I invested a little bit in STEEM in order to purchase STEEM POWER and STEEM DOLLARS. Why? Its simply important. Without initial investment it will be very hard for you to build reach here and be noticed.

Im not sure if you ever heard about this site:
http://steemd.com/@your_username
Example: https://goo.gl/3mquu1
Perhaps you know it already :)
If you will reply to this message (that would allow me to believe that we may develop mutual engagement and help each other) then I will follow you and upvote some of your future posts.
Cheers and good luck.

Hi Thank you for #introducingyourself. Im myself quite new in steemit community but I realized that there are few things you could do to have a better start:
Mostly I invested a little bit in STEEM in order to purchase STEEM POWER and STEEM DOLLARS. Why? Its simply important. Without initial investment it will be very hard for you to build reach here and be noticed.

Im not sure if you ever heard about this site:
http://steemd.com/@your_username
Example: https://goo.gl/3mquu1
Perhaps you know it already :)
If you will reply to this message (that would allow me to believe that we may develop mutual engagement and help each other) then I will follow you and upvote some of your future posts.
Cheers and good luck.

Hi and welcome to steemit - Enjoy your time and find a community that you are interested in. The best advice I can give you is Just DO You!! You don't have to write 30 paragraphs to get an upvote - for me - unless its a chapter in a novel - that would just make me switch off. Write what you want to write and you will find people that want to read it. The best way to find those people is to make meaningful comments on posts you like and don't forget to upvote them. I've given you a follow to see what you do :)

Thanks a bunch. I just noticed this comment. Still figuring out how to navigate all this. lol