First time I heard of Bitcoin

I remember the first time I heard of Bitcoin, it was April 7, 2013, I was in a friend's birthday party and one of my friends started conversing about this coin that wasn't controlled by a central entity, all of the sudden a big part of the multitude at the party glanced their sight on this guy, he started explaining how the coin worked , how this coin could change the way we saw economy, how it couldn't be disrupted and how there were only a certain amount of coins that existed and will exist for the eternity of eternities ( AMEN ! no inflation !!)

These people who were around this friend of mine ( let's call him THE ZOHAN) started to watch him with what the f*** are you saying and confused facial expressions ( i had those expressions too ). When he ended explaining how the coin worked a waterfall of questions started to emerge and those questions started to become insults ( how can you put your money in something that nobody controls ? are you nuts ? , its a scam, bubble !! )

After the party ended I got to my house straight to my computer to search what the f*** was Bitcoin trying to further understand what THE ZOHAN was trying to teach us.

When I started to read all these new terms I didn't understand anything so I threw the white towel and never asked or further searched for more information, 4 years had to pass for me to hear someone speaking of this new coin that could end with banks and middlemans, this time it wasn't Bitcoin, it was this new platform with smart contracts where you could bring to life Dapps ( Decentralised applications ) called Ethereum.

By the time I started to read of Ethereum I checked the price of bitcoin and it was f***** insane how the price had gone up from $ 100 - $200 dollars THE ZOHAN had told me back then in 2013 to $ 3000 - $4000 dollars.

It was that time I knew I had to learn what Ethereum was and what was behind it, when I started reading I realised it was the same technology behind Bitcoin called Blockchain technology, I was amazed how this technology could change the way we live d and how it could help end a lot of problems we have now days. Since that time there's no day I haven't read about blockchain and new projects that are emerging using this technology, sometimes I have to read the same paragraph again and again to understand what they are trying to solve and how they are going to solve it .

When I started transmitting this new knowledge I had acquired to my friends, how this technology work and how we could benefit from it, they said to me the same things they told THE ZOHAN at 2013 ( it's a scam, it's a bubble ) but I wasn't trying to explain to them of Bitcoin or Ethereum, I was focusing on the technology behind them ( Blockchain ), at the end of each conversation I had with them I realized they were not even listening to me, some of them even got angry ( i still don't know why)

(graphic explanation of their reactions )

It seems to me they think that Bitcoin is the same thing as blockchain, and that's not true, Bitcoin exists because of blockain, the analogy I always tell people when I am trying to explain to them whats Bitcoin, blockchain, Ethereum is the following :

Email is to the internet as Bitcoin is to the Blockchain

You might be asking, why we named my friend THE ZOHAN? , well in the movie this guy is indestructible and he pursued his idea of being a stylist, this friend of mine had an idea and nobody changed his opinion nor his vision even doe a lot of persons told him he was wrong, He slapped them in the face, maybe with his feet like THE ZOHAN did. THE ZOHAN made a lot of money just by studying and investing some of his time learning what this new thing was and not ignoring it just because a lot of persons didn't like it or trust it. Great thing to learn from him.

We still have a long road to know what is going to happen with Bitcoin, Ethereum and this new emerging projects using blockchain technology but in what I am certain is that Blockchain technology will be part of our lives in a few years, the only question is when is this going to happen, when it will become mainstream.

Sort:  

Hello @mlomeli92 welcome!!

I'm @andyluy and I've been here for almost 2 months, and I can tell you that steemit is the most amazing thing I've ever seen at the internet so far. I'm happy seeing it grows every day!

I had some hard time on the firsts week, so I spent some time searching information to improve my experience with it, latter I've decided to make posts about those and others helpful information in order to help the new ones to have a shortcut to get deeper knowledge of steemit and its potencial.

here is some of my posts, I hope It mitght be helpful to you:

SteemBnB(this post is not mine, it is fruit of an amazing Idea from @chicosonico, but I've made a traslate to portuguese, you can find it at the comments section)
steemit awesome tools #2
Steemit-Police First official Investigator
The Randowhale
Minnowssupport!

Here is a post from @hannahlicious That i think Is useful to have a look too (she is also a great source of information and high quality posts):
Randowhale is CHEAPER Now!!

I intend to keep posting useful info that I manage to gather, and in a near future some give away. Feel invited to follow me and if you have any question about steemit you can ask me in any of my last posts, I'll try my best to help.

This post received a 2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @andyluy! For more information, click here!

Welcome to Steem @mlomeli92 I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Sup! I see you have been on steemit for some time now so I am sending you some love. This deserves an upvote and bring on the next one!
As you are new to steemit and it can be hard for newcomers to recieve votes so my advice would be to give Steemfollower a go as you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I have also made this post where I explain the site in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good day and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :) and upvote all my post and i do the same.
upvote and comment on my new post.
https://steemit.com/life/@xamir15/400-followers-on-steemit

Congratulations @mlomeli92! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mlomeli92! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post! I will follow you from now on.

Congratulations @mlomeli92! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mlomeli92! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!