Hi Steemit! I'm Morty and this is my introduction.

bb32d1b690242ddc7e698f6087eff6ff8dc13445_hq.jpg

Hi! I'm Morty (although that's not my real name, and R&M fans probably picked that up pretty quickly). For professional and other reasons, I'd rather remain anonymous at this point, but am excited to be a part of the Steemit community.

I am a technology/payments attorney in the United States that was first introduced to crypto (more specifically, bitcoin) through work (you could see how working at the intersection of technology and payments could lead to such a thing).

yzktmesnyzbcxrqzh1el.jpg

Admittedly, I wasn't immediately sold on bitcoin and cryptocurrency. The culture largely conflicts with the nature of being an attorney - risk averse and attentive to regulations. However, now I truly do believe blockchain is the biggest thing in technology since the internet (and in some ways could be bigger) and will change the world. I represent several blockchain companies and am an avid consumer of information and knowledge relating to blockchain and cryptocurrency. I am currently advising a few clients on ICOs and other blockchain initiatives, and it is by far the most exciting aspect of my job right now.

I hope to be able to contribute to the community in a number of ways, including by leveraging my experience and knowledge relating to blockchain from a legal perspective. From a legal perspective, it's a fascinating and exciting wild west where there is very little certainty in a number of areas with respect to how existing laws apply to this innovative new technology and what future regulations may come (both enabling and restrictive). I am hopeful that regulators will allow blockchain technology to have an opportunity to flourish without significant regulation (like they largely did with the Internet), but also understand why crypto may need to be regulated when used as a currency, security, etc. (sorry if this rubs anyone the wrong way - I know this isn't always popular in the crypto community). As the application of the existing regulatory framework becomes clearer and new regulations are introduced, hopefully you and I can learn from each other on their implications for the community.

Giant_Court.png

As a transactional attorney, I am also interested in how smart contracts (and other blockchain-enabled innovations) may be used to alter the way attorneys operate. I'm currently leading an initiative at our firm to look into ways we can leverage blockchain technology to improve and expand upon the services we provide to all kinds of clients. I also have finally convinced our very traditional accounting department that they shouldn't be scared to accept bitcoin as payment and that, in fact, it could greatly lower their transaction fees. That being said, it'll probably be another 5 years before they agree to accept ether or other crypto, but I take the wins I can get.

I have also waded into the waters on crypto investment and trading, and look forward to using Steemit as a place to learn for that purpose as well. Prior to the emergence of blockchain, my investment philosophy had largely revolved around a thesis that technology would take over the world (specifically if/when AGI is created). The emergence of blockchain has me now questioning whether major tech companies will even be able to survive now that there is a technology that can largely displace their role in the digital ecosystem and return control and economic benefit to the masses.

crypto-trading-fee-discount.jpg

I guess that's it for now. I'm excited to be a part of Steemit and look forward to interacting with you all! Feel free to reach out with any questions and I can try to answer them.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @mortysmith I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome! Hope you share some good content with us! This is a great way to meet people from all over the world. I am a Brazilian writer and videomaker, living in London. Here I post about photography, travelling and stories. Have a look at my profile and if you like it, follow me. Cheers!

welcome @Mortysmith to Steemit ! . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me !

Hello Their my friend


Rick and Morty, one of the best shows out right now for sure.

hello Mortysmith !! Glad to see more people like you - here joining steemit! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure !! Here you can win money while bloging! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Wish you much luck! Greetings, @khunpoom!

Nice to meet you @mortysmith , welcome to steemit, hope you are comfortable here, here is a new home for lovers of bloggers and the best platform today, very good intro, I like that, do not forget to visit my profile for info tips and tricks about steemit @wahyusaputra

welcome to steemit dear friend @mortysmith, I've met with good friends by searching 'introduceyourself' tag, i love newbies and delight in giving them a hand of friendship. Love from @maxdevalue, am sending some steem to your wallet right away, welcome on-board! Your contribution is needed here in steemit.

Thank you, @maxdevalue. I have followed you and look forward to being a part of steemit.

Congratulations @mortysmith! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'm glad to welcome you to the new social network of a new generation. In it you can earn money while having fun, you do not have to be a good writer or post articles, you can comment on things that interest you and make money.
Like every beginning, and it's hard, but do not give up the more time it goes, the easier it will be for you.
If you feel lost, try to find friends, as in life, here is more fun when you have friends.
And last, do not forget to have fun, without that nothing can be achieved.

Welcome! Will be looking forward to your posts :-)

RightWithin

Welcome to Steemit @mortysmith!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Welcome to Steemit ! happy to have you here. Followed. Follow me back 😘