Out and about... 22 year old sharing my view of the world

I'm a pretty average 22 year old. At least, I was. I grew up in a small town in Western NY, and woke up frequently to the loud moos of my next-door neighbors, a few hundred cows. Life in a small suburban town is mellow, and everyone is happy and comfortable. I recently graduated from college after studying engineering, and will soon to be employed and dive into the real world. I was on a pretty average path, until I caught the travel bug... hard.

My parents exposed me to the some really cool places around the world at a young age. I am dual citizen of Switzerland, and I traveled to Europe a couple times during my childhood to visit family. There is no way to explain how traveling broadens your perspective on life and the reality of the world. It was shocking to see how much is out there, so many different communities, customs, landscapes, cuisines, and activities I never thought I'd be trying.

Growing up in the northeast, a lot of people have never left the country, and haven't really had the opportunities to see the world. After some initial exposure to the incredible travel lifestyle, I decided to make traveling a priority. At age 20, after building up savings, I went on my first solo trip. I spent a month backpacking through Vietnam and Thailand. Anyone other backpackers reading this will know that once you're exposed to the backpacking community, there is no going back. It is the culmination of the most down to earth, adventurous, and welcoming people I have ever met.

Soon after, I studied abroad (and actually saved a lot of money doing so) in New Zealand at the University of Auckland for 6 months, and then island hopped through Fiji. I have adopted some awesome new hobbies, including hiking, backcountry skiing, scuba diving, and next I hope to see what the world of paragliding is all about. Most of all, however, I'm always thinking ahead to my next trip. Currently, I am on a 5-week road trip exploring the Canadian Rockies in Banff National Park. I am blown away at how many incredible parks there are in North America, and how affordable a trip like this really is.

My goal on Steemit is to connect with other travelers, and inspire other people to get out and explore NOW! I am a regular kid, like all of you, who decided to make traveling a priority. I firmly believe that, as a society, we push off the notion of having fun too far. We decide that we must work super super hard now, and enjoy life later. We shouldn't waste our young, prime years grinding away with the hope that we will have our fun later. I would waaaay rather travel the world while I'm young and able, when I can sleep in cheap hostels and have the energy for the backpacking lifestyle. Why wait for retirement and the onset of old age to travel? Thanks to Tim Ferriss, my goal is to space out my working career with "mini-retirements", and enjoy life every step of the way.

Traveling can seem intimidating and overwhelming, but it really really isn't. All you need to do is make it a priority, and give it a shot. I can answer any questions you all have, and hope to share some of my favorite views of the world with you all. Please connect and feel free to reach out at any time!!

Sort:  

Those photos are amazing homie! Keep it up! Youll be able to see a lot more places with steem to fund the experiences! So dope!!! :D

Thank you man!! Excited to dive in

Welcome to Steemit! I am a fellow traveler and will be checking out your posts, as these photos are pretty cool :) Feel free to check out some of my photography aswell :)

Thank you! Love your pictures as well, keep em coming!

Welcome to Steemit @mtnsandwater ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Awesome, thanks just followed you!

Hello and welcome to steemit ! ''Wish you a very happy steemiting'' hope you have a wonderful journey
and you would be rich soon with steem it
you can check my blog i post daily on beauty and health tips @dailybeauty-tips follow for daily health and beauty tips

Hey! Welcome to the Steemit Community! I wish you a great time on the platform, hope you'll make many friends and I can't wait to see your content. I have followed your blog, you can check mine as well and if you like my content don't forget to drop a follow. Have a nice day & Steem on!

Appreciate it man! Followed you back

Welcome! Ive always wanted to travel to New Zealand, lucky!

Thank you! NZ is an unbelievable country, I'll post more about NZ soon but I really loved it.

Welcome to Steemit! I will start posting about travelling and natural or cultural sights. Check out my introduction:D
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@mkey/hey-there-fellow-steemers

Thank you! Excited to see all your content

I love the idea of "mini-retirements." You are a very wise 22 year old! Welcome to Steemit @mtnsandwater and all the best in all your adventures! I upvoted and will be following to see where you go!

Thank you! Excited to see all your posts as well

Welcome to Steemit! This post gave me some courage. I am about to leave on monday for some serious traveling. I am excited and completely ready, but there is always that pre-trip hesitation. I loved hearing about your travels and loved the photos. Looking forward to seeing more!

Awesome I'm excited to follow your trip, have a great time!

Cool photos! Glad to hear that you have visited my country!

Thank you! Absolutely loved NZ, hope I can go back again at some point.

I really appreciate this post and look forward to seeing more of your content in the future! I just followed you, and I hope you'll do the same so we can connect and continue to evolve and learn from each other! Full #Steem ahead :)

Follow me @tayken

Much ❤!!!