BlackBox Consortium | Introducing Artist & Designer Namzke

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

IMG_7807.jpg
Hey Steemit Community,

My name is Namzke, I am an Artist / Designer and Educator from Los Angeles. Currently working in fine arts, specializing in sculpture, large installation Art, & Architecture. Anyways, I thought the best way to introduce myself is to share some of my past work with everyone. I hope you find it entertaining and informative.

Screen Shot layout.jpg

My professional and academic background is in Architecture. Here is an image from my thesis work circa 2011, that speculated the possibility of an autonomous architecture that is evolving and growing in technological time scale. What might a world of autonomous architecture look like? Who or what would inhabit such stuff? Is architecture a human technology that cannot exist without our domain.

TOWER1FINAL.jpg

Here's is a brief summary from my thesis paper:

Drift Island Consortium is based on the concept of tectonic drift as a framework for understanding relationships between geological and technological time.

Geological time is slow, and is described by spatial movements that are expanding and compressing at a constant rate. These spatial movements are naturally organized into strata that constantly converge, diverge, and transform at a scale and force that cannot be mitigated through technology. e.g. earthquakes, floods, etc.

On the other hand technological time is exponential and growing at rapid rates of change. It is a procedure of aggregation that are compounding multiple complex structures of man-made ecologies. These systems represent the desire for man to control the environment and seek modes of survival e.g. infrastructure, shelter, and resource distribution, which are organized through our current political system which in and of themselves a form of technology.

However, these technological systems have inherent deficiencies as a means to mitigate extreme geological phenomenon that often times exceed human expectations and our ability to adequately design for through the use of technology in such events.

Earthquake_in_chile_by_Denis_Chan.jpg

During the cold war era, the American city's adoption of the interstate freeway system represents a unique vernacular seeking to design cities on the basis of crisis mitigation i.e. evacuation.

hurricane-katrina-6.jpg

As in the case of Hurricane Katrina, it is not only a failure to mitigate natural disasters i.e. account for geological processes, but reveals inherent flaws in our social and political systems.

For this reason technology as means to mitigate the environment is not possible, therefore the design for such technologies must be detached from our current social and political systems.

This thesis seeks an autonomy from this dialectic and offers an alternative option to crisis management and mitigation. As a strategy to be autonomous, Drift Island is sited off-shore as a means to detach itself from any predetermined form of government or jurisdiction.

Located 14 nautical miles southwest of Long Beach California, where Drift Island Consortium occupies the decommissioned Oil Platforms of BP Beta Fields,

Drift Island Consortium operates autonomously to secure the resources of fresh water, food, shelter and storage for the population of Southern California in an event of extreme geological phenomenon.

main rendering.jpg

In closing, I'm really excited to be a new member of the Steem community especially because I have so much content that I would like to share with you all. A passion project has always been to create an outlet to share my knowledge with others, so that they may be inspired to create in the world, so thank you all for this opportunity. Also keep in mind, this is my "first ever " blog post and I look forward to getting everyone's advise on how to post content online. I hope that you can all welcome me into your community with open arms and I promise to deliver my content in a playful, fun manner. I hope that the content will be informative, fun and entertaining... most importantly, I promise to be authentic and honest with you all.

Always feel free to comment and interact with me along the way. I'm totally down with some Upvotes too! Thank you for your listening and support. Most importantly thanks for the invitation to participate in a community of open, borderless, exchange of content and information.

Namzke signing off.

nmz 21 small.jpg

Sort:  

The drive to share passion and knowledge with others definitely can bring you far on here ;) Cool project btw, looks very futuristic!

Thanks for your support. I am so excited about this community. I hope my contribution and participation will benefit everyone here.


Welcome to Steemit @namzke!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Wow. Love this post. Can't wait to see some more of your art. This is my first day on Steemit. So far, it's been great. I will make sure to follow you. Thanks for sharing. xo


Welcome to Steem @namzke.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Hey buddy, welcome to Steemit!
It's awesome to have such a talented human being on this platform. I'm sure you'll provide some epic content for our eyes to feast on!
btw the header and footnote images look so cool. Never seen anything like that reverse mountain thingy as post-opener. Really aesthetic.

Also, excuse me for my poor memory but, we have spoken before, haven't we? I feel like I should know you from somewhere but can't quite pinpoint it..

Welcome to Steemit!
This is a great community of content creators. Steemit has a bit of a learning curve. So try to have patience to understand the platform, how to format your posts, and optimize your payouts.


Here are a few good resources for new users:


Let me know if you have any questions as a new user on Steemit, I am happy to help! You can follow me at @ngans. I post a lot about neuroscience, psychology, health, and philosophy.

Welcome to steemit @namzke!
I gave you an upvote value of $0.02!
Please have fun and enjoy your stay with us!

thanks!!!

welcome to steemit @namke!

Super excited!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you’ll enjoy being here as much as I do.

You might find these YouTube videos useful. They are created specifically to help new Steemers grow and be successful on Steemit.

All The Best!
Spencer Coffman
My Latest Article: 2 Additional Intelligence Types

Wellcome to steemit.. follback and upvote my first post, thanks